We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid, great for the First City Music Festival”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Monterey Bay
Ranked #34 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Santa Maria, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Solid, great for the First City Music Festival”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I think our room was like 212 and it was perfect... no neighbors on all sides. The breakfast could have looked better that's why we ate at Grandma's Kitchen and the Monterey Cookhouse... but the staff and location were perfect, backed up to the fairgrounds for the festival. Room was clean and comfy... and the bed was surprisingly nice. We plan on coming again next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montereybythebay, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Geoffery:

Thank you for posting a review. I am glad that you had a comfortable stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and I have shared your comments regarding breakfast with our breakfast attendant. We look forward to your return trip next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    166
    102
    20
    9
See reviews for
136
170
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed here two nights as part of a road trip. It's a pretty enough place, nice flowers around the car park, that sort of thing. The room was clean and nicely decorated, with a large TV, and a good size. The location is also very good with easy access to the highway and Fisherman's Wharf, and to a good amount of shops/restaurants along Fremont St.
The gentleman on the desk was very helpful and friendly, and even called our room several minutes after we picked up the keys to make sure all was well - the only establishment on our trip that took the time to do this. A little thing perhaps, but it makes an impression.
There is some aeroplane noise, but this seemed to stop around 10pm and resumed sometime in the morning, not early enough to disturb us. The breakfast room is small and gets very busy, but the food is fine and it's easy to take a coffee and a plate back to your room.
All in all a very pleasant stay and one we would be happy to repeat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montereybythebay, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Jonathan:

Thank you so much for your comments. We strive to provide an excellent stay for all of our guests and am so glad that you had a pleasant stay. My team will appreciate your feedback. You are correct about some airplane noise stopping by 10 and then resuming in the morning.
We look forward to having you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Monterey is expensive, so we settled for this place at $125 – also not really cheap. It has all the basics, but there is absolutely nothing to write home about. A flat two-story U shaped building, with the general feeling of a parking-lot (although they were under renovation, so that might also have affected the look-and-feel). Walls are super-thin, and we kept on hearing noises from the rooms nearby. Location is easily accessible by car, but it might be better to invest some more and find a place closer to the pier or in the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidbarak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
David:

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed here for a 3-day weekend for the Laguna Seca race at Mazda Raceway. All the hotels in the area over-inflate their prices for this weekend, so it is tough to judge if you are getting what you pay for in any way...
We paid almost triple their usual rates for our room.

The room was very small and felt cramped with one Queen bed, one chair, and a table with a second rolling chair. I think the photos online were misleading.
Unfortunately, the room was very outdated in appearance, although I think that may be typical for this area. Most of the hotels appear to be quite old in age around Monterey.
The room did have a refrigerator and microwave which was important to us.
Also, their breakfast seems to offer an array of items. They just didn't happen to be my preference.

The woman who worked in the breakfast room Saturday and Sunday morning worked extra hard to keep the room clean and tidy; and to make sure all the food was refilled. She deserves a major "hats off". It was a very busy weekend.

The staff member who checked us in was very nice. The property seemed clean and our room was cleaned well every day.

Just wish the room had been more upscale and less dated for the outrageous price we paid :(

Room Tip: Don't accept a room near the road. It is noisy at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
KSG123

I will certainly share your kind words with my hardworking team who aim to please. Our rates are slightly higher during special events and your stay coincided with one of Monterey's popular events at Laguna Seca Raceway. Usually most major events in Monterey/Camel end by 3rd week of Sept.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our group of 10 friends booked into this hotel with minimum fuss, 3 rooms allocated in minutes , our thanks to the young man on check in. Gave good advice on where to go for meals, drinks and booked a taxi for some of us.
Everything at this hotel in clean and tidy including the Gardens, plants etc. we were impressed how the staff take real good care of the hotel and grounds.
As said before a bit hectic in the breakfast room, but was nice to sit outside in the sun with our coffee and munchies.
Rooms are just about the right size if 3 or 4 sharing a room.
We only stayed 1 night but would not hesitate about coming here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Bernard:

We would like to thank you and your friends for choosing us. We do cater to small group often and are glad you chose us for your stay in Monterey. I will certainly share your comments with my team all of whom want our guests to have a pleasant stay.

Look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Nice little hotel with sauna and spar pool. Room were good. Staff helpful. Great place to stay if your touring the area. There are some restaurant near to the hotel that you can walk to. The the smoke house or cook house? The wine was good there also.

Room Tip: Room near check in could be a problem,but only if your alight sleeper and go bed early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skf87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
SKF87

Thank you for posting a review. We are glad you enjoyed our clean rooms ans our Jacuzzi and Sauna facilities. Certainly welcoming after a day of sightseeing in beautiful Monterey.

The Monterey Cook House is within walking distance and does have a nice Bar/Lounge area too. Good for Happy Hour prices on appetizers and drinks.

We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We came through for a wedding and loved the accommodations. Very clean and spacious with our own little private courtyard. A very nice breakfast was offered each morning and the serving staff were wonderful. We especially appreciated the rates that were offered as we were on a big time budget.
The one downside was the Jacuzzi tub didn't work but then we were not expecting one anyway.
Loved the natural setting as the flowers all around added such colorful and homey appeal to the inn.
I would come back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teachesteem2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Teachesteem2:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate it. We were glad that you were comfortable and enjoyed our setting and flowers. We did have an issue with one of the 2 Jacuzzi tubs and has since been fixed.

We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.0 mi away
No photo provided
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Ramada Monterey
#27 of 56 in Monterey
170 reviews
1.6 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 56 in Monterey
1,027 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Super 8 Monterey
#35 of 56 in Monterey
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Monterey Bay

Property: Comfort Inn Monterey Bay
Address: 2050 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5237
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Monterey Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location in Monterey, Comfort Inn Monterey Bay offers clean and comfortable rooms that include a free hot breakfast serving eggs,sausage,hot freshly made waffles in 2 flavors, fresh fruit,cereals, pastries and much more.Free WIFI. Micro/Fridge in all rooms. Walk to restaurants. Minutes to Fisherman's wharf, Monterey Aquarium and Cannery Row. Within 2 miles to beaches and golf. Call hotel for additional information on our Package offers such as the Aquarium package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey
Monterey Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing