We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably affordable for Monterey, but not inspiring”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Monterey Bay
Ranked #35 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Monterey is expensive, so we settled for this place at $125 – also not really cheap. It has all the basics, but there is absolutely nothing to write home about. A flat two-story U shaped building, with the general feeling of a parking-lot (although they were under renovation, so that might also have affected the look-and-feel). Walls are super-thin, and we kept on hearing noises from the rooms nearby. Location is easily accessible by car, but it might be better to invest some more and find a place closer to the pier or in the city.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidbarak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

David:

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (424)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

264 - 270 of 424 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed here for a 3-day weekend for the Laguna Seca race at Mazda Raceway. All the hotels in the area over-inflate their prices for this weekend, so it is tough to judge if you are getting what you pay for in any way...
We paid almost triple their usual rates for our room.

The room was very small and felt cramped with one Queen bed, one chair, and a table with a second rolling chair. I think the photos online were misleading.
Unfortunately, the room was very outdated in appearance, although I think that may be typical for this area. Most of the hotels appear to be quite old in age around Monterey.
The room did have a refrigerator and microwave which was important to us.
Also, their breakfast seems to offer an array of items. They just didn't happen to be my preference.

The woman who worked in the breakfast room Saturday and Sunday morning worked extra hard to keep the room clean and tidy; and to make sure all the food was refilled. She deserves a major "hats off". It was a very busy weekend.

The staff member who checked us in was very nice. The property seemed clean and our room was cleaned well every day.

Just wish the room had been more upscale and less dated for the outrageous price we paid :(

Room Tip: Don't accept a room near the road. It is noisy at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KSG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

KSG123

I will certainly share your kind words with my hardworking team who aim to please. Our rates are slightly higher during special events and your stay coincided with one of Monterey's popular events at Laguna Seca Raceway. Usually most major events in Monterey/Camel end by 3rd week of Sept.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our group of 10 friends booked into this hotel with minimum fuss, 3 rooms allocated in minutes , our thanks to the young man on check in. Gave good advice on where to go for meals, drinks and booked a taxi for some of us.
Everything at this hotel in clean and tidy including the Gardens, plants etc. we were impressed how the staff take real good care of the hotel and grounds.
As said before a bit hectic in the breakfast room, but was nice to sit outside in the sun with our coffee and munchies.
Rooms are just about the right size if 3 or 4 sharing a room.
We only stayed 1 night but would not hesitate about coming here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Bernard:

We would like to thank you and your friends for choosing us. We do cater to small group often and are glad you chose us for your stay in Monterey. I will certainly share your comments with my team all of whom want our guests to have a pleasant stay.

Look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Nice little hotel with sauna and spar pool. Room were good. Staff helpful. Great place to stay if your touring the area. There are some restaurant near to the hotel that you can walk to. The the smoke house or cook house? The wine was good there also.

Room Tip: Room near check in could be a problem,but only if your alight sleeper and go bed early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skf87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

SKF87

Thank you for posting a review. We are glad you enjoyed our clean rooms ans our Jacuzzi and Sauna facilities. Certainly welcoming after a day of sightseeing in beautiful Monterey.

The Monterey Cook House is within walking distance and does have a nice Bar/Lounge area too. Good for Happy Hour prices on appetizers and drinks.

We appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We came through for a wedding and loved the accommodations. Very clean and spacious with our own little private courtyard. A very nice breakfast was offered each morning and the serving staff were wonderful. We especially appreciated the rates that were offered as we were on a big time budget.
The one downside was the Jacuzzi tub didn't work but then we were not expecting one anyway.
Loved the natural setting as the flowers all around added such colorful and homey appeal to the inn.
I would come back again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teachesteem2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Teachesteem2:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate it. We were glad that you were comfortable and enjoyed our setting and flowers. We did have an issue with one of the 2 Jacuzzi tubs and has since been fixed.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stopped in this inn during our road trip along the west coast. The inn is refurbished, clean, staff very nice, location good. Rooms and bathroom are spacious.The breakfast is included. The only minus is a small breakfast room.We would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sovaglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Sovaglobetrotter:

We are a perfect stop over on road trips that include travel from San Francisco to Los Angeles! I am glad you choose us during your road trip and we do appreciate your business. Unfortunately during summer months, our breakfast room does get crowded. We have added outdoor seating plus offer trays so our guests can choose to take their food to their room. We appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed here while driving from San Francisco to L.A . The room was just what we needed to get some quick rest. We had been on the road for two weeks and stayed in everything from a tent to a five star in Vegas . The night manager was very busy but got us checked in very fast. The rooms had been recently remodeled and were very much worth what we payed. We would stay here again...

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Chrisandjenn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Chrisandjenn :

I am glad we provided a comfortable and pleasant stay during your 2 week road trip. I am especially glad that we provided good value and that you would stay with us again. We look forward to serving you again. Thank you for your kind comments and for choosing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
0 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#24 of 56 in Monterey
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#40 of 56 in Monterey
155 reviews
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
1.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Lodge
Monterey Bay Lodge
#30 of 56 in Monterey
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Monterey Bay

Address: 2050 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5237
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $66 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Monterey Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location in Monterey, Comfort Inn Monterey Bay offers clean and comfortable rooms that include a free hot breakfast serving eggs,sausage,hot freshly made waffles in 2 flavors, fresh fruit,cereals, pastries and much more.Free WIFI. Micro/Fridge in all rooms. Walk to restaurants. Minutes to Fisherman's wharf, Monterey Aquarium and Cannery Row. Within 2 miles to beaches and golf. Call hotel for additional information on our Package offers such as the Aquarium package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey
Monterey Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing