We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good deal for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Monterey Bay
Ranked #35 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is a cute older motel. I loved the full breakfasts they offer. My one complaint is the high price of $25 a day for having a small dog with us. $10 or $15 a day would be sufficient. The room was clean and I liked the bathroom. Loved all the flowers outside the rooms. Very convenient and easy to find. Hot tub area is enclosed and looks a little creepy. Overall, a good place for stay for a couple nights.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kdreins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

We are glad that we were able to provide you with a good value at our comfort inn and that you enjoyed our many amenities and outdoor flower beds. Our pet friendly fee for our designated pet rooms go through a deep clean after departure thus the extra pet fee. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn Monterey Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

274 - 280 of 415 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

Clean, older establishment, with evident effort taken to update & upgrade. Lots of plugs - a pleasant surprise. The room had an overall fresh feel, and the carpet was incredibly clean. Amiable staff. The only down side - the sound of planes flying overhead, apparently in the flightpath of the nearby airport - not for the faint-of-heart!

However, the price seemed exceedingly reasonable for the overall quality - I'll be back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudyTheGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time and providing us with your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We apologies for the sound of planes. At least being small, Monterey Airport has fewer flights coming in and out of the airport.
We look forward to serving you in the near future. Happy Holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was a very cheap motel so we didn't expect it to be amazing as we were just passing through. The young lad behind the counter was very helpful and gave us an internet rate even though we were walk ins. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was a pretty poor selection. Good motel to stay at if you want somewhere cheap to stay, I wouldn't stay here for a long period of time though.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We value our guests opinions as it helps improve upon our services. I am glad you were able to get a good deal. We offer the best deals via our hotel website and by calling hotel direct. We appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were traveling up the PCH and decided on this place pretty much the day of after reading a few reviews. We were given a really good rate for a weekend, especially with my AAA discount. The room was fantastic: Clean, large, and good amenities--including a large fridge (great when you're traveling!). And we really enjoyed the very clean sauna and hot tub, especially since there was no one else there using it when we wanted to! The breakfast was beyond what you would expect (when you expect nothing more than the usual crummy stale pastries and thin orange juice): Hot, tasty, plentiful, and always staffed with someone very helpful. We were offered cereals, eggs, yogurts, fruit, sausage, english muffins, and do-it-yourself waffles. Even the coffee was good!
One caveat: They're not exactly walking distance to touristy things so staying here without a car might not work for you.
I'm so glad we found this motel and hope they keep up the great job they're all doing. What a great find this was. :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goddess0063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

THANK You for your 5 star Rating! We will continue to keep up the great work from room standards to breakfast to helpful staff and beyond! We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Didn't have a plan for my impromptu stay in monterey and this was my second stop...it looked so inviting flowers little tables out side to grab sun and read a paper just what i wanted..i checked in score came w breakfast n hot tub n sauna for cheap!!! Went into the room and again great newer flat screen tvs, new very clean bathrooms..can't say enough even eggs waffles and sausage..this is my new retreat in Monterey can't wait to bring my family next time....shhhhh its our secret

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzeq0131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, General Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

So glad you found your hidden retreat at our Comfort Inn. Especially all the amenities and services at NO ADDED COST! Yeah for the pocket book. We'll keep it your secret retreat! Thanks for your business and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

An older property with a very attractive outside area. Rooms were satisfactory. The morning breakfast was available on 'real' plates with 'real' silverware, something I have not seen at any of the 'value' locations. The woman monitoring the breakfast area was quite pleasant and did a good job.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimbauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, General Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you your kind words. We value all of our staff and our breakfast ladies do a phenomenal job. Using silverware and china at breakfast does help with our "Green" efforts without increasing room rates! Hope to see you on your return trip to Monterey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

affordable place, clean, not in the middle of too much traffic and right near the fairgrounds. They have a buffet breakfast with variety that includes real food to get your day started,not fancy but adequate..I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pippilottaSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMonterey, General Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

We are glad you were able to enjoy our comfortable rooms and our location in Monterey which is close to many attractions and venues in Monterey including spectacular beaches. We look forward to having you stay with us on your return trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
0.0 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#26 of 56 in Monterey
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
0.4 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,069 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey Peninsula Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Monterey Bay

Address: 2050 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5237
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $81 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Monterey Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location in Monterey, Comfort Inn Monterey Bay offers clean and comfortable rooms that include a free hot breakfast serving eggs,sausage,hot freshly made waffles in 2 flavors, fresh fruit,cereals, pastries and much more.Free WIFI. Micro/Fridge in all rooms. Walk to restaurants. Minutes to Fisherman's wharf, Monterey Aquarium and Cannery Row. Within 2 miles to beaches and golf. Call hotel for additional information on our Package offers such as the Aquarium package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey
Monterey Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing