We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for a relaxing weekend getaway”
Review of Spindrift Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Spindrift Inn
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great choice for a relaxing weekend getaway”
Reviewed July 30, 2010

My girlfriend and I flew in from Las Vegas to escape the 115 degree heat for a few days. We stayed from Sunday-Thursday. We chose this hotel based on reviews, and our desire for a central location, decent price, comfortable room with an ocean front view and good service. All of those expectations were met and exceeded.

The beds are nothing short of amazing. As someone who can sleep anywhere... even I was impressed with the feather beds with the down comforters. Absolutely awesome! The 3-5th floors don't have balconies overlooking the ocean, but they do have a seating area in a bay window, with cushions and windows that open. You can hear the waves, seagulls and seals/sea lions, and the activity of the beach below, but you're high enough so that it isn't intrusive. (If it is, just close the window!). If you want a fire... there are wood burning fireplaces, with gas-burning "starters" to make it as easy as pie. 15-20 minutes of natural gas "kindling," and you have a crackling fire warming up your room... right below the big wall mounted flat screen TV (!!!). Daily free breakfast was great. Fill out the time and check off the items you want on the door card, hang it on the door, and it just shows up in the morning. Selections are basic (bagels, muffins, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal with milk, OJ/Coffee/Water, etc) but a perfect start to the day. Complementary wine, cheese, and crackers (as well as coffee/tea) in the lobby every day afternoon at 4pm. Grab some wine/cheese on your way in from a day of shopping, walking, sightseeing, etc and take it up to the roof deck and chill out for a bit before going in to get ready for a nice dinner. What a treat. The staff couldn't have been nicer. Always helpful. Always greeting you with a "welcome home!" when you come in through the door. Also very helpful with planning local activities and for restaurant ideas. The hotel, decor, and location are definitely worthy of the "most romantic hotel" designation that it was recently awarded.

Downsides... very few, but probably guest and expectation-specific. If you are looking for a hotel with 24/7 room service or in-hotel dining, or if you are going for the "spa-vacation" type of relaxation, you're probably better off looking next door at the intercontinental, or the monerey bay hotel down the street. They seem to cater to the guests who want/need all the bells and whistles, but the ego-emissions got a little thick when we walked through those hotels. That being said, there are some spa packages available at the hotel... to be honest, we didn't really inquire seriously about them. If you want to chill out by a fire, enjoy a quite breakfast in bed, delivered to your room every day, and be served wine and cheese every night before you head out to dinner, or want to just sit by a fire, read a book, watch a good movie on TV, or just stare out the window at an amazing view, then THIS is your place. We're already counting the days until we go back.

A few other tips... a 25 minute walk "down" the coast (NW on a map) along ocean view blvd has amazing views of the ocean, shopping at the "American Tin Cannery Outlet center," and some spectacular old houses to drool over. This gets you to "Lovers Point" where you can find "Latitudes" restaurant which has some incredibly good food. A 15 minute walk "up" the coast (E-SE on a map) gets you to Fishermans Wharf (tons of restaurants, no-reservations-needed sailboat charters (Monterey Bay Sailing), kayak rental, glass bottom boat tours, and whale watching tours. Walk a little more and you get to Portola Plaza and Alvarado street, where there are a bunch of little shops, coffee shops and restaurants that you can poke in and out of. (There are plenty of street fairs and festivals during the summer months).

We also did the "Monterey Ghost Tour" which was awesome. Not at all what I expected. It was *incredibly* informative, filled with a lot of good history about the area, and was a lot of fun, too!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xnyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,474
    347
    91
    43
    26
See reviews for
194
1,396
48
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
2 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2010

I love staying here. The rooms are wonderful..the service is friendly and special. This place is the true meaning of "R & R". Have been there many times...and will return many more times in the future.
The Spindrift is a great find.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle_SanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keyes, California
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2010

My wife and I was sent to you by a friend for our anniversary. He said it would be the time of our life and he was correct. We enjoyed our stay the staff was outstanding and the room was very very nice and comfortable. It was a awsome experiance and yes we will do it again. O and by the way a friend sent us now he is a very very good friend. Thank you to all the staff at the Spindrift Inn Pastor Jerry M. Swain

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Preachermanswain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2010

My wife and I spent an evening here on our drive down the CA coast. The room was fantastic and the service matched. Be sure to enjoy the wine and cheese from 4-6pm and hit the roof for some great views. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WindycityMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2010

This hotel exceeded all of our expectations. From the sensational location on Cannery Row, to our Ocean View Room right on the beach, everything was just fantastic. The hotel had fantastic service, the room was large and comfortable, the bed was huge, continental breakfast had everything you needed and wine & cheese each night was a nice touch! We stayed during the US MotoGP Grand Prix, in the middle of summer and the hotel would have been very full, and every staff member still treated us like we were the only guests in the hotel. We will be back next year, and will stay for longer this time. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

We stayed here for one night on a three week trip to California that included the Aquarium in Monterey. We had no hotel booked and walked in off the street. We were shown to the nicest room of our whole trip. The wine and cheese reception was very welcome and served by a lovely woman. The room was huge and luxurious. It included a sitting area, gas fireplace and large flat screen T.V. There was a large bay window overlooking the sea. Breakfast was served to the room and was perfect. I have never felt so comfortable sharing with my husband and two daughters. This hotel was a bit more expensive than others we stayed in but we felt it was worth every penny. A great find.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coletteM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

We spent four nights at the Spindrift Inn. The location was great and the room exceeded our expectations. We started off each morning with a continental breakfast, delivered to our room at the time we chose, and we ate it while enjoying our water view. Loved our room and the way it was decorated - featuring a canopy bed, fireplace, window seats, etc. It also had a large flat screen TV set, which we never watched because of the great view out the large windows. The staff were just wonderful, very warm and welcoming and they added to the enjoyment of our stay. We had a great time and would not hesitate to recommend the Spindrift Inn to anyone we know.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandL11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,618 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,396 reviews
1.0 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
2.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spindrift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Inn

Property: Spindrift Inn
Address: 652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#3 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cannery Row, directly on the beach, Spindrift Inn offers an atmosphere of romance, elegance and gracious hospitality. The Inn's distinctive two-story lobby, with its hand-tiled floors, Oriental carpets, charming antiques, original art, and wood-burning fireplace, invites quiet conversation or private reflection. The 45 comfortable, luxurious rooms-half with breathtaking ocean views-are uniquely decorated and include wood-burning fireplaces, down comforters, feather beds, honor bars, TVs, CD & DVD players, wireless internet connection, marble baths and window seats or private balconies. Complimentary silver-tray continental breakfast is served in-room, & an afternoon wine and cheese reception is held daily. Valet parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Spindrift Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing