We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
8 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$214
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/15/22
Official Site
$193
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/15/22
Vio.com
$188
View deal
Expedia.com$214
Priceline$214
Lol.travel$251
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,203)
Filter reviews
2,203 results
Traveler rating
1,595
400
106
66
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,595
400
106
66
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews window seat ocean view cannery row valet parking continental breakfast bay window sea otters every evening sound of the waves gas fireplace the monterey bay aquarium
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 2,203 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2019

We have stayed at many places in Monterey and chose Spindrift Inn this trip cause it was referred by a friend. Honestly, for the $$/cost per night, we expected more. We loved the location (choice of Cannery Row or ocean views) but the services was average and rooms were very dated. I love vintage decor but for the price, you can upgrade and remain vintage. Bed was lumpy too. The fireplace was great (best part of room). Breakfast was so so and room was clean. The $30 per night for parking was too much. We liked the rooftop sitting area. Average experience - would have much rather have stayed somewhere else for same price.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Spindrift Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2019

Hello Stacy,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay. While we were pleased to read that we had the opportunity to welcome you to Monterey, we were disappointed that you found your guest room and accommodations less than entirely comforting. Please know that we take our guests experience very seriously and are very sorry that we did not have the opportunity to amend prior to your departure. We will share your comments with our team in an effort to improve the guest experience as we move forward. We truly hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future to demonstrate just how committed we are to providing superior accommodations and hospitality.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2019 via mobile

This is a nice property in a great location—right on Cannery Row, a block from the aquarium, easy walk to eateries and shops. The property is right on Monterey Bay, and we had a lovely room with a window seat looking out over the bay, a king bed, and a fireplace. It was comfortable and charming.

Other room details: We had two comfortable sitting chairs in front of the fireplace, a 50” TV over the fireplace with DirecTV cable, a desk and chair, a table for the breakfast service, and nice robes. Plenty of space to put clothes away. The room has a Keurig coffeemaker, but I wish I’d brought my own K-cups—I didn’t care for what they provided, and there were only three caffeinated ones.

They bring a continental breakfast to your room on a tray. You specify time frame (between 7-10 a.m.) and what you want on an order ticket and hang it outside your door the night before. They also have wine hour (with cheese and crackers) from 4:30-6. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. They also do turndown service and leave chocolates.

Some people have complained about $30/night for valet, but you have to put your car somewhere, and have you ever parked a car at a San Francisco hotel? It’s double that there.

A few possible areas for improvement: (1) At the price point, the breakfast could be a little nicer, for example, with a couple of hot food choices, such as oatmeal or scrambled eggs. It doesn’t have to be made-to-order omelettes, but Raisin Bran in a bag and cheap yogurt cups are more like eating at the Hampton Inn. (2) A lot of hotels will provide a couple of free water bottles a day for the in-room coffeemaker. There were waters in the mini-fridge, but they wanted $3.50 apiece for a small bottle. (3) The toiletries were also more Best Western than a really nice luxury inn—tiny bottles of shampoo, conditioner, and lotion, no body wash or mouthwash.

These are all minor complaints, but when you’re paying what you do for a place like this, it all felt a bit nickel-and-dime-ish.

Overall, though, it’s pleasant and comfortable, the location is fantastic, and I would recommend it.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank leftydana
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 29, 2019

Hearing the waves all night is wonderful, the view so beautiful of Mother Ocean. Every staff member was above and beyond, which makes for a very pleasant stay. Highly recommend ❣ There are so many restaurants too ❣

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank lbrownwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 26, 2019

We chose Spindrift Inn after much research and reading so much about how amazing the property is.
I'm going to be candid. For the $$ we spent per night, it was nowhere close to what we experienced at other properties that we visited on our roadtrip for half the price!

We stayed in an oceanview suite. The room smelled musty on entering... but you get used to it. The rooms are pretty dated. Breakfast was blah. Nothing to write home about. Cold toast and hard butter!

On our second night, we tried calling front desk to send us 2 dinner plates and cutlery, but no one picked up. We trekked downstairs and clearly they were swamped - 2 guests waiting for check in and phones ringing. I asked the hotel staff who happened to be nearby if he could send 2 dinner plates and he said 'no promises - we are busy, it may take us 30 minutes'! I understand that front desks get busy, etc, but you are paying premium $$ for a room (we paid close to Canadian Dollars 650 per night!), not for a 2 star service?

The bed was super lumpy and uncomfortable.

And to pay 30 US Dollars per night for parking on top of all of it? Really not worth it!
It was an okay experience on the whole - we made the best of it - but in hindsight, it wasn't the best choice.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Giselle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Spindrift Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2019

Hello Giselle,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us. We were all happy to hear that we were able to welcome you, but are disappointed that your stay was less than entirely wonderful. We apologize for the shortcomings you experienced in your room and with our service and we will certainly pass along your comments to our team. In addition, we are sorry that you felt misled by our valet parking fee. It has always been our practice to be transparent regarding the fees our guests pay and do so by including this fee on our website under the Services we provide. We apologize that this fee was not anticipated and regret that this made you think less of our hotel. We hope that on your future travels to Monterey that we might have the opportunity to welcome you back and restore your positive regard in our hotel.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2019

This place is amazing. Its right in the heart of the Canary row. When we arrived we were greeted by the reception and they were super nice. The lobby is roomy and very beautiful. Sooo...off to our room... it was super cozy with a fireplace that actually works and day window sitting ...ooook... so for the price you pay i'm was happy with what we had so far...BUT.... they razzled dazzled us with a turn-down service and continental breakfast delivered to our room at a time we requested!!!! whaaattt??!!!. This place roooocks!! you get soo much for your money....oooh did i mention they have wine and cheese for happy hour... don't think twice about staying here!!

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Vampblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews