We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
9 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$214
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/15/22
Official Site
$193
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/15/22
Vio.com
$188
View deal
Expedia.com$214
Priceline$214
Lol.travel$251
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,203)
Filter reviews
2,203 results
Traveler rating
1,595
400
106
66
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,595
400
106
66
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews window seat ocean view cannery row valet parking continental breakfast bay window sea otters every evening sound of the waves gas fireplace the monterey bay aquarium
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 2,203 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2019

We chose Spindrift Inn after much research and reading so much about how amazing the property is.
I'm going to be candid. For the $$ we spent per night, it was nowhere close to what we experienced at other properties that we visited on our roadtrip for half the price!

We stayed in an oceanview suite. The room smelled musty on entering... but you get used to it. The rooms are pretty dated. Breakfast was blah. Nothing to write home about. Cold toast and hard butter!

On our second night, we tried calling front desk to send us 2 dinner plates and cutlery, but no one picked up. We trekked downstairs and clearly they were swamped - 2 guests waiting for check in and phones ringing. I asked the hotel staff who happened to be nearby if he could send 2 dinner plates and he said 'no promises - we are busy, it may take us 30 minutes'! I understand that front desks get busy, etc, but you are paying premium $$ for a room (we paid close to Canadian Dollars 650 per night!), not for a 2 star service?

The bed was super lumpy and uncomfortable.

And to pay 30 US Dollars per night for parking on top of all of it? Really not worth it!
It was an okay experience on the whole - we made the best of it - but in hindsight, it wasn't the best choice.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Giselle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Spindrift Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2019

Hello Giselle,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us. We were all happy to hear that we were able to welcome you, but are disappointed that your stay was less than entirely wonderful. We apologize for the shortcomings you experienced in your room and with our service and we will certainly pass along your comments to our team. In addition, we are sorry that you felt misled by our valet parking fee. It has always been our practice to be transparent regarding the fees our guests pay and do so by including this fee on our website under the Services we provide. We apologize that this fee was not anticipated and regret that this made you think less of our hotel. We hope that on your future travels to Monterey that we might have the opportunity to welcome you back and restore your positive regard in our hotel.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2019

This place is amazing. Its right in the heart of the Canary row. When we arrived we were greeted by the reception and they were super nice. The lobby is roomy and very beautiful. Sooo...off to our room... it was super cozy with a fireplace that actually works and day window sitting ...ooook... so for the price you pay i'm was happy with what we had so far...BUT.... they razzled dazzled us with a turn-down service and continental breakfast delivered to our room at a time we requested!!!! whaaattt??!!!. This place roooocks!! you get soo much for your money....oooh did i mention they have wine and cheese for happy hour... don't think twice about staying here!!

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Vampblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 25, 2019 via mobile

After reading reviews my husband and I booked a stay at Spindrift inn. The rooms are nice but I was disappointed in the rooftop deck, with uncomfortable seating and a limited view of the water. The biggest obstacle was parking. They charge an extra $30 for valet parking which is supposed to cover in and out privileges. It took over 20 min to get the car in the evening, only to discover the attendant couldn’t drive a manual!

Breakfast is served in the room but is very limited and not fresh.

In an area abundant with choices, I will go elsewhere next time.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank ZionHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Spindrift Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2019

Hello ZionHiker,

Thank you for your review and for sharing your recent experience with us. We regret that we did not leave you with the fond memories that so many of our guests speak of and that you were felt misled by our rooftop gardens with sweeping ocean views. In addition, we apologize for the shortcomings you experienced with our valet service as this is certainly contrary to our service standard. Rest assured we will pass along your comments to our team in an effort to improve as we move forward. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Monterey and demonstrate just how committed we are to providing each guest with personal and attentive service, distinctive in our marketplace.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2019 via mobile

Unfortunately, during our stay, there was construction going on on the road in front of the hotel, which kind of detracted from our enjoyment of the window seat (we were on the cannery row side). Not the hotel’s fault, but bad timing for us. We enjoyed having the fireplace, and the sauna in the room was an unexpected feature which my husband especially enjoyed. We also enjoyed the wine and cheese reception, and the general pleasantness of the employees. Everyone always greeted us with a smile and asked how our day was going. The bed was pretty comfy and everything was clean. Being within walking distance of so many things was great, too.

Date of stay: April 2019
Thank dkl0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Spindrift Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2019

Hello dkl0404,

Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the coziness of the fireplace and sauna in your room and that you were able to join us for our afternoon wine and cheese reception. We are sorry for the construction during your stay and that it detracted you view of Cannery Row. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back in one of our Ocean View rooms on your next visit to Monterey!

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

Spent 3 days with friends at this Inn. Clean, and so comfortable. The room had great chairs for reading, and the lobby was a great place to hang out. Roof top seating was nice but the weather was too winding and cold to take advantage of it. Staff is was helpful and accommodating, especially Alex who gave us a lesson on caviar. Will stay here again if we come back to Monterey.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank adlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews