We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
10 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$214
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/15/22
Official Site
$193
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/15/22
Vio.com
$188
View deal
Expedia.com$214
Priceline$214
Lol.travel$251
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,203)
Filter reviews
2,203 results
Traveler rating
1,595
400
106
66
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,595
400
106
66
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews window seat ocean view cannery row valet parking continental breakfast bay window sea otters every evening sound of the waves gas fireplace the monterey bay aquarium
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 2,203 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2019 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay very much. Confy bed and even the pillows. Nice little view, ok beachfront. Wish we had more vacation time! Say hello to carol at front. Enjoy cannery row close by. We hope to return !!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank jamzjuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 25, 2019 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel multiple times I even proposed to my wife here. I Love this place but it’s going downhill. Customer service is horrible. For our latest trip we had to cancel due to family affairs a month and 6 days prior to our arrival. I noticed a 25.00 dollar charge on our account. When I call to tell them about the mistake I am told I should have read the cancellation policy and any time you cancel you will be charged a fee of 25.00 dollars. I feel like that is ridiculous. I understand fees for cancellations last minute but a month early that just seems a little extreme to us. This was our favorite place to stay when we visited Monterey.
I believe it is time to find a new favorite place.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank benjamenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Spindrift Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2019

Hello benjamenc,

We are appreciative of your review and want to thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Please know that we hold guest feedback to be extremely valuable, as it provides our best opportunity to make improvements. In a resort destination like Monterey, many hotels do typically require one nights deposit at the time of booking. It has been our position to charge a $25.00 cancellation fee rather than a full night's deposit. In response, we have worked very hard to make sure that all our guests are made aware of this policy during the reservation process and when booking online, as well as on all guest confirmation emails. We regret that this made you feel less of our hotel and hope to welcome you on your next visit to Monterey to restore your positive regard in our hotel and provide you with an absolute wonderful stay from start to finish.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2019

Do not order room service, I realize that the hotel obtains food from the restaurant next door but they must take some responsibility to their guests to ensure that it is somewhat eatable. We ordered a nice dinner for 2 with a nice bottle of wine. The food finally arrived with no cutlery, the person delivering the food said he would be right back with it, that never happened. After 30 minutes and 4 calls to front desk, a hotel staff turned up with butter knives, it is very hard to cut a steak with butter knives, especially if by then the food was stone cold.
Now to the wine, We ordered an expensive bottle of a 2012 vintage as listed on the menu. What was delivered was a 2016 vintage of the same wine that was barely drinkable
So a trip to the restaurant, after 15 minutes finally found a manager who obviously did not want to be bothered and obviously did not see the problem He very reluctantly agreed to a refund after twice telling him I wanted one, no sorry just turned around and walked away.

Room tip: Small rooms, no fans or windows in Bathroom
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Stay703017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Spindrift Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2019

Hello Stay703017,

We appreciate your review and want to thank you for sharing your experience with the restaurant next door to us. We apologize that your meal was less than entirely wonderful and for the shortcomings you experienced. Rest assured we will pass along these comments to the restaurant in an effort to improve the experience as we move forward. Again, thank you for sharing this with us and we hope to welcome you back to the Spindrift Inn on your next visit to Monterey!

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2019

This place was amazing. The views from the windows are gorgeous. The room itself was beautiful. We had a nice simple breakfast delivered to our room each morning, along with an actual newspaper. We enjoyed eating right in front of the fireplace our room. But nothing compared to the view. We were right at the water's edge. I would love to spend an entire week here.

Date of stay: March 2019
1  Thank KayCee59
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 19, 2019 via mobile

Fantastic location!!!!!! Super close to eating, shopping, and the Aquarium. Room was charming and quaint— NOT NEW!! If you want modern and new, this is not for you, but if you want clean and charming along with a STELLAR VIEW and PERFECT LOCATION— this is the place!!! At high tide, the water literally came to the back of the building.... at low tide there was a nice beach area. BEST OF ALL— the windows OPENED!!! So we had an amazing, unimpeded view!! It was heavenly!! Slept with the windows cranked open to the lullaby of the ocean!! WONDERFUL!!!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank nikki1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews