We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
8 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$214
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/15/22
Official Site
$193
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/15/22
Vio.com
$188
View deal
Expedia.com$214
Hotels.com$214
Lol.travel$251
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,203)
Filter reviews
2,203 results
Traveler rating
1,595
400
106
66
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,595
400
106
66
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews window seat ocean view cannery row valet parking continental breakfast bay window sea otters every evening sound of the waves gas fireplace the monterey bay aquarium
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 2,203 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2019

A luxurious inn in Monterey. As we checked in, they were preparing a wine and cheese reception for guests from 4 – 6 PM. We took our wine to the rooftop terrace that overlooked Monterey Bay. We stayed in an ocean view corner room. Sitting on the cushioned window seats and using the binoculars in the room, we watched the otters and herring gulls in the bay. The room was comfortable with a log fireplace, two lounging chairs and luxuriant robes. When I called to add a second room, as we travelled with our son and daughter-in-law, I was asked if we were celebrating anything special. Our son and his wife had recently married, so when they arrived in their room they were greeted with champagne and chocolates. I felt that was an extremely thoughtful gesture. A continental breakfast was delivered to our room the next morning. It was relaxing to eat and look out over the bay. One reason I chose the Spindrift Inn was its location in Cannery Row which we toured the evening before. Spindrift was our daughter-in-law’s favorite of all the places we stayed during our trip from Los Angeles to San Francisco. We would definitely stay there again and perhaps longer if we are in the area.

Room tip: Rooms facing the ocean are the best, corner rooms facing the ocean offer more view
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patah11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Spindrift Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2019

Hello Patah11,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review on our property. We were all so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and are happy that we were able to accommodate you on your trip to Monterey and that you made such lasting memories. It was also wonderful to hear you enjoyed your ocean view room with stunning views of the bay! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Monterey.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2019

We enjoyed our stay at this cozy, intimate inn. The staff was friendly, personable and desirous of serving you. The rooms facing Monterey Bay are roomy and pleasant with a great view of the bay, the other rooms with balconies facing Cannery Row. Each room had a fireplace, with logs. Although it is an older more historic building, it was well kept and clean. It does not have food service on premises, but there are many restaurants in the area. A continental breakfast was catered from a restaurant next door. The only downside that we experienced was that the day starts early on Cannery Row, (which has nothing to do with the inn).

Date of stay: November 2018
2  Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 15, 2019

Spent my husbands 70th birthday in Monterey and would never stay anywhere but the Spindrift Inn. We've been there 4 times in the past and each time is truly special. The staff is kind and helpful. The rooms are spacious and have fireplaces. Lovely.

Room tip: Second floor is the best,Balconies so you can either step out and enjoy the ocean or step out and enjoy the street view of the shops.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Spindrift Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2019

Hello Sonia,

Thank you so much for your amazing review! We were so happy that we were able to welcome you on the joyous occasion of your husbands 70th birthday and are thrilled to hear that you made such lasting memories. We appreciate your kind words on our staff and can't wait to welcome you back on your next visit to Monterey!

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2018 via mobile

If you are looking for ocean view, want to be on cannery row and have great customer service choose this hotel. It comes at a high price though. The rooms are outdated and everything is pretty plain. The floors are trashed. The room was clean, just not outstanding.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank 821leahf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 27, 2018 via mobile

This place is exactly as advertised. I was quite pleased that the “king room ocean view” is actually dead center oceanfront (room 306), I’ve never stayed right on top of a beach before!! I also booked my reservation quite late, less than one week prior for a busy thanksgiving weekend so I was quite pleased that we got such a nice room. This past Saturday when we checked in, the hotel staff was having problems with their electronic key system so they actually couldn’t issue any keys until later that evening. However, we were always escorted up to our room and the staff always apologized for the inconvenience. I really didn’t mind, especially since they had such a nice complimentary wine reception in the lobby! Breakfast delivered to the room was also great, so getting the ocean view room is definitely worth it. Another reviewer mentioned that the room can smell of smoke even if you don’t use the fireplace, which is true. The smell was overwhelming at first, not sure if it’s coming from the restaurant next door or lingering from the fireplace from prior use. I can’t take off any stars though, I loved this room too much. I will be back soon!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Tammy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews