We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Spindrift Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Spindrift Inn
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Napa
1 review
“Aniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2009

I had walked past the inn on many occasions while visiting Monterey. For our 31st yr. aniverary we wanted to stay somewhere special and and close to shops, restaurants and all the action. We were thoroughly impressed with your facility from msking the reservations, the valet service, the staff, the hospitality tastings and especialy the well maintained rooms; every thing was off the hook. I will definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Napaclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,440
    342
    88
    42
    26
See reviews for
187
1,368
48
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (623)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2009

The Spindrift Inn is a home run in all aspects - our ocean front room was clean, quiet, comfortable, and had a great bed that sent us to la-la land every night with the ocean waves purring in the background. The front desk was on top of things and check in/out was a a snap. Evening wine and light refreshments started the evening and the morning breakfast served in the room with a paper started the day with a smile.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank opie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2009

The location is excellent - right downtown. The breakfast is wonderful - so delightful it is delivered to your room. The wine & cheese is a very nice added touch if you're there between 4 & 6. Best of all is the room. I felt like a princess with the big feather bed. THe rest of the room was lovely with a place to relax in comfy, elegant chairs and a table to eat breakfast on. I loved it from the moment I arrived. Excellent value for the money. I want to return to Monterey just to stay at the Inn (& I live in Canada)! Marsha

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadian025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanafletcher@hotmail.com
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2009

A perfect place to stay great helpfull staf, cozy rooms with wood burning fireplaces.
very romantic. we chose the cannery view which I really liked and you just walk out to the back of the hotel and your on the beach. also check out the roof top patio beautiful view .
you truly couldn't ask for anything more. Thanks for a great time

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LanaFletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, CA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2009

Our experience started with a glitch with the online reservation which a phone call directly to the hotel quickly resolved due to the superior public relations of the gal on the phone (service was top notch by all staff). The room was cozy elegance with a view.. woodburning fireplace, the most comfy beds ever, and in-room breakfast.. what a treat. The wine and cheese offerings in the lobby were nice as well. Perfect location on Cannery Row. One slightly negative comment... it was terrific that parking was made available but we did not know it was at a rate of $18. No big deal, just wish we had known up front (and perhaps I just missed it). It was well worth the $18 not to have to deal with our car while there. Do take advantage of the early bird special at the Sardine Factory.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLOToods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsmeziger
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2009

The Hotel from it's outter view looks like a piece of California history with a modern twist. The inner decor and our room itself left you with a since of "you experience a modern day amenities in a old world setting. The value of the room ,it's view of Cannery Row, to the softness of sheets on the bed are priceless. I've stayed in a lot more expensive hotels and have never left with the feeling I got from a stay at your hotel. You left us with noting to want more of in a hotel stay. I work in the service industry where we pride ourselves on our level of service and I have to say your staff treated us like a guest that made us want to stay longer if we could have and make the SpinDrift Inn our first and only choice the next time we come to Cannery Row.
Thanks again.
Jeff

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsmeziger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2009

We got a good deal on this hotel bidding for a 3 1/2 star room on Priceline. It was even better than we expected. The rooms are beautifully decorated, clean, comfortable and delightfully cozy with window seats for napping. There was a slight problem with the hot water in our room, so they immediately upgraded us to a corner room on the top floor with a view of the ocean. Everyone on the staff was extremely nice and helpful, from the valets to the front desk, to the room service. The complimentary in-room continental breakfast delivered to our room was elegantly presented and fresh and tasty. The bed was very comfortable. The location is excellent for walking to the aquarium, restaurants, etc. The hotel let us know about a special being offered by The Sardine Factory for an early bird dinner and made reservations for us. It was a wonderful filet mignon dinner for $19.95! in the restaurant's beautiful conservatory room.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myviewpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,578 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
2.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.0 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spindrift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Inn

Property: Spindrift Inn
Address: 652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#3 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cannery Row, directly on the beach, Spindrift Inn offers an atmosphere of romance, elegance and gracious hospitality. The Inn's distinctive two-story lobby, with its hand-tiled floors, Oriental carpets, charming antiques, original art, and wood-burning fireplace, invites quiet conversation or private reflection. The 45 comfortable, luxurious rooms-half with breathtaking ocean views-are uniquely decorated and include wood-burning fireplaces, down comforters, feather beds, honor bars, TVs, CD & DVD players, wireless internet connection, marble baths and window seats or private balconies. Complimentary silver-tray continental breakfast is served in-room, & an afternoon wine and cheese reception is held daily. Valet parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Spindrift Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing