We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Anniversary Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spindrift Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Spindrift Inn
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Anniversary Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Celebrated our anniversary here again. Our best wedding anniversaries have been celebrated here. They have cozy romantic rooms. We enjoy taking their wine and cheese reception (I also have tea) up onto their roof top. If we're lucky enough to get a room with a balcony it's a treat to enjoy our breakfast out on the balcony.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Spindrift Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
What an honor it is to be a part of such a special occasion. Thank you for continually choosing to spend your anniversaries with us. We truly enjoy being able to provide our guests with memorable experiences that will last a lifetime. We all forward to being able to welcome you back for your next anniversary and many more to come!

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,411
    332
    85
    40
    25
See reviews for
183
1,334
47
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (612)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Spindrift is located on Cannery Row and backs onto the beach. View from our room was stunning both inside and out. Hotel staff was helpful and pleasant and the rooms were well appointed. Fireplace in the room was a mix of gas and wood and that paired with the sound of the waves crashing on the shore made this the ideal spot for the second stop on our anniversary trip. Breakfast delivered to the room was fresh and tasty. I would recommend this hotel to any couple looking for a romantic vacation spot.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Spindrift Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. The Spindrift Inn is truly a picturesque setting as you mentioned and we all love sharing it with our guests. As a boutique property, we strive to provide an intimate and personalized experience for our guests and are thrilled it was a perfect fit for your anniversary celebration. Should your travels bring you back through Monterey, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

Wife and I stayed on the Cannery side on a Friday-Monday. First, the hotel is in a great location. Minutes from cool stuff: food, aquarium, bike rentals, wharf, etc. The staff was really nice and had some great recommendations for food and attractions. This was great because we had nothing planned other than the aquarium. One thing we didn't expect on the Cannery side was the noise. On Friday and Saturday nights there's some loud club bass that comes in even through the closed windows. Sunday was quiet. On Saturday we stayed out later to see the bands and the city...the bands sucked (except for the group at Sly McFly's), but it's easy to see how the noise gets into the rooms. It woke me up around 1am and I couldn't go back to sleep. I called downstairs and asked if they have earplugs. A minute later a guy with a big jar of earplugs arrived. I suspect we aren't the only people that have had this issue given the size of the jar. If you plan on sticking around all night drinking and dancing, then this definitely won't be a problem. What may be more of a problem is that at least on the 4th floor, there is no way to really block out all of the light in the morning. I'm thinking that staying on the bay side may mitigate all of the light and sound issues, but I don't know. The breakfast was solid, as was the wine and cheese, and the staff was great. I just don't like losing sleep, so either I'll book bayside or just find a different hotel next time. Or I'll book for more during the week if I want sleep. Other than the noise tip, if you do their breakfast schedule early delivery. Whenever we requested delivery past 830 they were between 15-30 minutes late. When it was before 830, they were right on time.

Room Tip: Bayside to avoid noise, Cannery if you'll be out all night.
See more room tips
Green Features: They had the usual signs about conserving water. Nothing beyond that.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uhoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Spindrift Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for your descriptive review. We were pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay, but are sincerely sorry to hear that you encountered several noise issues while staying in our Cannery Row View Room. Guest comfort is extremely important to us and we will certainly review your comments with our onsite security to try to prevent future disturbances by initiating contact earlier with surrounding businesses should they foresee noise going beyond reasonable limits. We will also be sure to share your comments with our breakfast delivery staff to ensure that we meet our customers’ requests in a timelier manner. Thank you again for your honest feedback, as it will be used to help us improve. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back Oceanside in the near future and providing you with a restful experience.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
131 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was rite downtown and in the middle of everything. Make sure you get a room that faces the water and make sure you go to the aquarium. If you book on trip advisor you can get a really good deal.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

I had been planning a trip along the California coast for my husband, daughter and I. We drove up from San Diego to our first stop in Monterrey. The Spindrift was not our hotel of choice, but upon finding out I messed up the dates of our reservation for the other hotel they referred us to the Spindrift. We had no idea of what to expect but we were just happy that they had a room available for the night.

Upon arriving we were greeted by a very friendly valet attendant and an even friendlier check in desk. Every staff member we encountered on our stay was fantastic and as nice as can be. The lobby was very quaint and charming. We were shown to our room at the end of the hall on the second floor. I could not believe how awesome this room was. It was a corner bay front room. All of the windows fully open to get the fresh sea breeze. There was a small beach right below our window where lots of kids were playing in the surf.

The special details provided at this place really made staying there an experience to remember. In the room they provide binoculars so you can view the wildlife. They have wine and cheese in the lobby in the evenings. They brought a little vase with a rose to the room shortly after check in. They provide complimentary continental breakfast delivered right to your room. There was a fireplace in the room, but we did not use it. My favorite part was the window seat and the fact that the windows fully opened.

Our one night at this hotel was not enough. I wish we had cancelled the reservations at the original hotel and stayed here another night. I could have spent all day sitting in the widow seat staring out at the bay. We saw sea lions, otters and tons of birds from the window. It was truly one of the most memorable parts of our trip.

Room Tip: Splurge for a bay front room, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kfoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

I ALWAYS stay at Marriotts, but took a chance on this hotel.
It's good to take chances sometimes.
From the warm and welcoming check in, to the overall hospitality of the housekeeping staff, an incredible experience.
The room was one of the most quaint and unique rooms I've stayed in.
In the heart of Cannery Row, you can beat this beautiful hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank JJHenley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Spindrift Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and for sharing your experience. We are all delighted that our intimate location and attentive staff were able to leave you with such a memorable stay. Due to our size we have the luxury of offering our guests a more personalized experience and are truly thrilled that you felt this. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

For our anniversary this year we spent some time in Monterey. Since it was a special occasion, we decided to stay at an inn that was a bit more expensive, but highly recommended(by Trip Advisor visitors).
Our time at Spindrift was fantastic! We had a room on the fourth floor overlooking the bay. A great decision (by my wife).
The service is impeccable, the management is extremely courteous, the location perfect and amenities superb. We highly recommend this establishment.

Room Tip: Try for the fourth floor, great views of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmclmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,526 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.0 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spindrift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Inn

Property: Spindrift Inn
Address: 652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#3 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cannery Row, directly on the beach, Spindrift Inn offers an atmosphere of romance, elegance and gracious hospitality. The Inn's distinctive two-story lobby, with its hand-tiled floors, Oriental carpets, charming antiques, original art, and wood-burning fireplace, invites quiet conversation or private reflection. The 45 comfortable, luxurious rooms-half with breathtaking ocean views-are uniquely decorated and include wood-burning fireplaces, down comforters, feather beds, honor bars, TVs, CD & DVD players, wireless internet connection, marble baths and window seats or private balconies. Complimentary silver-tray continental breakfast is served in-room, & an afternoon wine and cheese reception is held daily. Valet parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Spindrift Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing