We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spindrift Inn is a new favorite!”
Review of Spindrift Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Spindrift Inn
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2008

I just returned from a trip to Monterey with a stay at the Spindrift. I decided to spend a little extra so we could have a room on the beach. I loved this little inn and can't wait to go back.

We walked into the lobby around three pm and were impressed with the antique furniture. Very Nice and Inviting. We were able to check in immediately and go to our room. Valet service for our vehicle with 24 hour access to the vehicle.

The Inn offers complimentary wine and cheese in the afternoon.

I can't say enough about the room. It was the 'Coast Room' with a full view of the ocean. We immediately opened the windows to listen to the waves as the tide was going out. There was a nice pair of binoculars on the window seat which we used to look for otters and actually found one. This room was beautifully appointed as well with antique furniture and a nice feather topper for the bed. We had a fire at night with the windows open. It really did not seem as though we were in a hotel or inn at all. Seemed like we were in our own little house on the beach.

When we awoke in the morning it was to the sound of the surf crashing on the sea wall. Looking out the windows it seemed like we were on a ship as there was water everywhere.

The room was very clean; furniture very comfortable; extra towels; bathrobes, and music for the CD player. The fire was easy to start with gas. Our room came with a complimentary 'continental' breakfast which came at the time we asked. The only thing lacking was an ice bucket but I believe room service would have delivered it if I had asked.

This is one of those hotels that we will definitely be returning to and will probably ask for the same room.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sandyanns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,993)
There are newer reviews for Spindrift Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,848 - 1,854 of 1,993 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2008

We chose the hotel after reading the reviews on TripAdvisor. It was the best choice in USA, where we spent 3 weeks during our honeymoon. The hotel is amazing! The lady in the reception was extremely helpful. We had a seaview room with a fireplace, which had been lit by a man from the hotel. We got a delicious breakfast to the room, including a fresh squeezed orange juice. Everything was just perfect. Great location.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MalgorzataK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2008

By far the very best of boutique hotels!
The luxury guests are afforded at every turn makes The Spindrift worth every penny.

On a Friday in September we walked into The Spindrift hoping for a booking that evening. The incredibly professional, polite and engaging associate helped us book a room, with a rate, that was perfect. Feeling so well taken care of from the start, we felt free to spend the rest of the day exploring the Monterey Aquarium just a short walk up Cannery Row.

The wine and cheese reception was a unique experience and we gladly soaked in the relaxed atmosphere with a few other guests. After a lovely chat with the front desk manager, we took her recommendation and brought our plates and glasses to the rooftop garden. The view, and the weather, was amazing and marked the moment in the trip when I finally relaxed!

In our cosy street-facing corner room we found featherbeds, a fireplace and sauna (the evening chocolate was a unexpected but very welcome treat!). The complimentary room-service breakfast was perfect the next morning; right on time and delicious!

Unfortunately, the next evening was completely booked out, otherwise we would have stayed a second night... and might possibly still be there.

If you're going to be anywhere near Monterrey on your next trip there's no better place to stay and relax than The Spindrift!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maven_On_The_Move
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2008

We stayed at the Spindrift Inn for a weekend as we were visiting Monterey/Carmel. The location is great if you're into tourist trap and want to visit the aquarium. There is a Bubba Gump shrimp factory next door so if that's your thing, great. The hotel was fine. We stayed with our 2 year old son and I think the front desk clerk was a bit disturbed by this. Note to all parents: I don't think they like kids to stay here but I have to be honest, it;s just not a kid type of place. They serve wine and cheese in the afternoons in the lobby which is a nice touch. Our room was very spacious with hardwood floors and a fireplace. We stayed in corner unit facing the street but is still gave us a view of the ocean. The window sills are cushioned so you can sit there an enjoy a glass of wine. Once again though, there are no window guards so if you're traveling with young ones, be aware. Overall this was an OK hotel but better suited for couples than families.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank E_S_Liam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2008

Thiis is a superb hotel. We stayed there for two nights in a room overlooking the ocean. to wake each morning and watch the sea otters feeding was a magical experience enhanced by the thoughtful provision of binoculars. Breakfast included in your room, excellent beds with feather matresses, close proximity to Monterey's attractions ( the aquarium is one of the best in the world) This hotel is one of the best we have stayed in. Downsides they charge for valet parking and internet access. Otherwise $700 for two night - well spent. You would not get this quality in England for this price.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank visionman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2008

This charming boutique hotel is a romantic getaway! Feather Beds were very comfortable, real wood burning fireplace in room. Staff was friendly and gave out great recommendations. A little loud till about 10pm on weekends if you stay on cannery row side; however that is part of its charm as you can watch the city below. Walking distance to the Aquarium. Breakfast was delivered on a silver tray in the morning!

We will definitely be going back!

Stayed: September 2008
Thank purplelighthouse17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2008

The hotel staff was warm and so helpful! They upgraded us to a beautiful room overlooking the water ... the room was so spacious, CLEAN and there was an amazing window seat overlooking the ocean ... perfect for reading a book or just relaxing with a glass of wine. We had no idea what to expect ... and were absolutely thrilled with what we found!!! They also provided a free continental breakfast that they delivered to our room. Breakfast in bed is a nice way to start the day!!!! I travel a ton for work and pleasure and will most definitely come back to this charming hotel. Location by the way was quite good. Right down the street from the Monterey aquarium and located on Cannery Row!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ccyNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,628 reviews
1.0 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
2.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spindrift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Inn

Address: 652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#3 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $217 - $513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cannery Row, directly on the beach, Spindrift Inn offers an atmosphere of romance, elegance and gracious hospitality. The Inn's distinctive two-story lobby, with its hand-tiled floors, Oriental carpets, charming antiques, original art, and wood-burning fireplace, invites quiet conversation or private reflection. The 45 comfortable, luxurious rooms-half with breathtaking ocean views-are uniquely decorated and include wood-burning fireplaces, down comforters, feather beds, honor bars, TVs, CD & DVD players, wireless internet connection, marble baths and window seats or private balconies. Complimentary silver-tray continental breakfast is served in-room, & an afternoon wine and cheese reception is held daily. Valet parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Spindrift Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing