We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could not have found a better place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spindrift Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Spindrift Inn
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Could not have found a better place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

My husband and myself wanted a quick getaway so I chose the Spindrift Inn. It is 21/2 hr. drive from our house and well worth the drive. Room was beautiful, staff could not have been better and the wine and cheese time was perfect. We valet parked our car and did not use it again since the location is just perfect. You can walk everywhere. Highly recommend this hotel for a great relaxing get away!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank qtr10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,434
    338
    86
    41
    26
See reviews for
185
1,359
48
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (622)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burbank, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Can't say enough ! The staff was so genuine and hospitable. The most romantic place to stay . Amazing quality and attention to detail . They do not cut any corners and the real wood burning fire place is a huge bonus! Definitely going back ! I've spent much more at "fancier" places that don't even come close to the level of genuine hospitality and comfort.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jponce2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie D, Manager at Spindrift Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review about your recent stay at Spindrift Inn. We are lucky enough to have an amazing team that serves each guest genuinely and whose mission it is to provide an authentic and intimate experience. We truly try to pay attention to the small details and appreciate that you took notice. We hope that you will return to the Spindrift Inn soon.

Warmest Regards,

Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

The location of the inn is perfect, right on Cannery Row. The room was well furnished and very comfortable. We had a room overlooking the sea and we were able to watch sea otters and seals with the binoculars provided - thoughtful touch. Breakfast is served in the room and was very good. Staff on reception were very friendly and extremely helpful. Wine and cheese is served in the lobby in the late afternoon, which is a lovely and is a great way of meeting other guests. I cannot recommend this hotel enough. We loved it.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WatfordWanderer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
126 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

After a awful experience in the Curry Village this was heaven. Wonderful personell, incredible view and so nice and clean room. Cosy beds and romantic. Open fireplace with logs, fluffy towels. Nice breakfast served outside and on time. Good internet connection. Nothing to critize. One of my best hotels ever. 10 points out of ten! My compliments to the management!

Room Tip: Waterfront of course but it costs a little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

This is such a great place to stay. The staff is friendly and very helpful. We enjoy staying there for special occasions. We enjoy the oceans views the walking along Cannery Row. The hotel makes or reservations for our favorite place to eat. It's an overall great place to stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room with an ocean view...!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie D, Manager at Spindrift Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
First and foremost, thank you for continually choosing to stay at the Spindrift Inn. We are delighted that each and every anniversary you spent with us has been a memorable one. We hope that we can continue be a part of those special moments and are so honored that you consider us to be one of the best Hotels in Monterey. We look forward to your next visit.

Warmest Regards,

Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
291 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Spindrift Inn this week. Location was very good…in the heart of downtown Monterey (Cannery Row). I really enjoyed our stay at this hotel.
We stayed for 2 nights in an Ocean View Room. The view was spectacular, room and bathroom were spacious, and very quiet. We had a fireplace, refrigerator, and nice furniture. The mattress was a bit lumpy and I awoke with a bad back. But again, the view was beautiful..waking up to barking seals…priceless….. A couple of things...I would complain about is that the room had a smoky smell to it (first day it was actually difficult to sleep because of the smell). I guess the previous guest did not know how to use the fireplace? Not sure….Second day it was not as bad…I should of mentioned it to the front desk on the first day..but did not…the staff at the Spindrift are very attentive, friendly, and attentive. The only negatives: no self parking available... price of the valet parking (23 dollars per night); we found a a parking lot (5 dollars per day) about 1 block away, so the second night was a lot cheaper for parking. If my husband and I return to Monterey, I would definitely think about staying at this hotel. The outside of the hotel need TLC, but the inside is fine (lobby is small), but they do serve wine, cheese, and crackers in the early evening.

Room Tip: room 406 had a terrific view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

My husband & I booked here last minute on our 1st Anniversary road trip up the coast...to say it was lovely almost seems to be an understatement...it was quaint, romantic, warm & inviting...that was just describing the "feel" of the room...the hotel staff were amazing & really took care of us & made us feel "at home"...the rooftop ocean views were beautiful...the entire atmosphere takes you back in time to "old California"...the way it was...it feels untouched by time with all the comforts & warmth of a bed & breakfast combined with all the amenities of a 5 star Hotel!! It was the perfect ending to a wonderful weekend... Loved it...

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jbkgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,145 reviews
2.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.0 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spindrift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Inn

Property: Spindrift Inn
Address: 652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#3 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cannery Row, directly on the beach, Spindrift Inn offers an atmosphere of romance, elegance and gracious hospitality. The Inn's distinctive two-story lobby, with its hand-tiled floors, Oriental carpets, charming antiques, original art, and wood-burning fireplace, invites quiet conversation or private reflection. The 45 comfortable, luxurious rooms-half with breathtaking ocean views-are uniquely decorated and include wood-burning fireplaces, down comforters, feather beds, honor bars, TVs, CD & DVD players, wireless internet connection, marble baths and window seats or private balconies. Complimentary silver-tray continental breakfast is served in-room, & an afternoon wine and cheese reception is held daily. Valet parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Spindrift Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing