We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming boutique hotel”
Review of Spindrift Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Spindrift Inn
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I booked this hotel,without knowing anything about it. Needless to say I was a bit apprehensive and upon arrival was worried because there didn't seem to be parking available but that was fast aside immediately when we realized that there was valet parking available. We were greeted in the lobby by a very friendly desk person, Cody, and he greeted us like a friend and got us checked in quickly and informed usmthatmthe continental breakfast they have is served in your room reach morning when you make your selection and hang it on your door the night before. Also there is a management hosted reception every day from 4:30 to 6 and these were small things that impressed us. Walking into our room was just a cozy surprise. There was nothing chain-like in the decor. It was decorated in rose and green colors and every room was equipped with a fireplace. Usually you have chairs in the room that I can say I've never sat on because they aren't comfortable but in this room there are two club chairs with a shared ottoman that are so comfortable that I could sleep if necessary. Our room was a street front room because I was being frugal and I don't feel like was we're disappointed by that because we ar right over Cannery Row and the activity (if you at noise sensitive the a/c is via the open windows and can be noisy) that surrounds that. It was great. Our doorman told usmthatmthe a/c is the open windows and showed us how to open them which it was a perfect day for open windows. Our heat should we need it is the fireplaces which he also showed us how to start it. It starts with gas and is fueled by logs which are supplied daily. The bed is covered with very luxurious bedding and after we peeled it all down, they do have turn down service but we always declined it, we payed on a feather type bed that was the way to end a day. After exploring I found a beautiful roof top area that had lounge chairs and cocktail tables to overlook the beautiful Monterey Bay. No one was up there it was so quiet and nice. I would say this hotel was way above expectations and I would highly recommend it. The street side was great but if you really want a splurge get a room with the Bay view. I'm sure it's spectacular!

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side can be noisy if you have the windows open but closed windows you hear nothi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Letsgo410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,011)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

689 - 695 of 2,011 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2014

We tried booking a room at the Clement Intercontinental but got caught with some false online pricing/advertising. What a stroke of good luck that turned out to be ! After looking at several alternatives in Monterey we booked a room at the Spindrift and loved our room and the hotel location from the minute we got there. Spotlessly clean, well maintained and great staff. Breakfast was included in the price and was excellent. Planning to go back as soon as possible.

Room Tip: We were give a room with a balcony overlooking the street and really enjoyed sitting out sipping a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This is a fabulous place on the the water on Canary Row. I took my wife for our anniversary. The rooms are great. Nice little fireplace stocked with Pinion wood. The beds are extremely soft. I would recommend the extra money for an ocean view. Service was spectacular. Many great places to eat within 5 minutes walk.

Room Tip: Ask for Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We have visited the Spindrift Inn 5 times now. It has been wonderful every visit. The staff is professional and helpful in every way. From the frontdesk to the housekeeping staff. All of our needs were taken care of quickly and always with a smile. We stayed oceanside this visit. We watched otters feasting and surfers riding the waves. We visited tidepools right out of the back door. This is a wonderful place to stay.

Stayed: March 2014
3  Thank MichelleManteca_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

How fabulous this inn makes your visit! The rooms are romantic and cozy with a wood-burning fireplace lit by a gas burner for ease and convenience. We had a lovely window seat with a bay window opening onto the bay-- listening to the waves is so relaxing.

The evening wine and cheese was made so gracious with Juliet hosting and making people feel welcome and comfortable. This added to the charm of our visit and made it feel less like a hotel and more like a B&B where people can connect.

The breakfast served in the room was also a fantastic way to make the stay very relaxing.

We will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay the money and get an ocean view-- we were able to see a whale cruising by while enjoying breakfa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BevS056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed 3 days at the Spindrift Inn. The staff is generally very nice and helpfull (although one morning our breakfast was delivered by an almost rude person : no good morning, the breakfast tray was "dumped" on the table and off she was - no hi, nu bye, nothing). It was my wife's birthday and we received a nice box of chocolates.
The room had a fantastic view on Monterey bay, where you could see the sea otters play. Apart from the sea otter, we saw sea lion, orca, and a whole bunch of sea birds. We didn't need to go to next doors Monterey aquarium (but we did and it was worth it)
The fire place in the room in nice and romantic, but you need to leave the window open (even if the chimney chute is closed) otherwise the bathroom ventilator sucks in air through the chimney, which makes the room stink.
Breakfast in the room is nice, but the disadvantage is that you need to choose the day before what you want for breakfast. When I'm on holiday I prefer to go for the craving of the moment, so a breakfast room would have been nicer.
All in all a very good hotel with a fantastic view on Monterey Bay (but they need to do something about the combination of fireplace/chimney and the bathroom ventilator

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stef V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The first thing I noticed upon entering our room (ocean side) was the strong smell of a wood burning fireplace. Neither of us minded this but after a couple of days it became strong and caused a slight irritation to my throat. Although I must admit, we thoroughly enjoyed the real log fireplace on the chilly nights. Having the window seat was great as we liked watching the people on the beach area below us. We were comfortable on the feathered bed the first night but after the second night both our backs started to ache as we're used to a firmer bed. I guess it's all subjective. A continental breakfast was served on time to our room each morning which was nice. The bathroom was great with lots of room and good water pressure. If I could offer just one suggestion to the owners, it would be to add some sort of lighting inside the closet area as that's where we put our suitcase and it was hard to see inside. We enjoyed our visit and this is a pretty facility but not the nicest of B&B's we have stayed in. Our favorite is the Seven Gables Inn in Pacific Grove. However, Seven Gables does not have fireplaces or televisions which was a big plus to us.

Room Tip: Select top floor for less noise and request an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blooms65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,652 reviews
1.0 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,543 reviews
2.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spindrift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Inn

Address: 652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#3 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $210 - $485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cannery Row, directly on the beach, Spindrift Inn offers an atmosphere of romance, elegance and gracious hospitality. The Inn's distinctive two-story lobby, with its hand-tiled floors, Oriental carpets, charming antiques, original art, and wood-burning fireplace, invites quiet conversation or private reflection. The 45 comfortable, luxurious rooms-half with breathtaking ocean views-are uniquely decorated and include wood-burning fireplaces, down comforters, feather beds, honor bars, TVs, CD & DVD players, wireless internet connection, marble baths and window seats or private balconies. Complimentary silver-tray continental breakfast is served in-room, & an afternoon wine and cheese reception is held daily. Valet parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Spindrift Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing