We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be back”
Review of Spindrift Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Spindrift Inn
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2013

From the moment we arrived until well after we left, this place did not cease to surprise.

Arrival was simple, friendly, and quick. Check in was very efficient and pleasant and we were in our room within minutes. I have to be honest the rooms are a bit chintzy for my taste but loved the place nonetheless. The rooms are well appointed (though the bed is a bit soft), we had a cannery row facing king and loved the views and the balcony. The log fire on a chilly winter evening and morning was a real treat for a hotel.

Location couldn't get much easier... 5 minute walk to the Aquarium, the hotel backs onto a beach... just amazing.

The Wine and cheese reception was a great touch. A little crowded, but both the wine and cheese were great. Breakfast was a little late in the morning, but was nice to have a simple breakfast served in the room.

After I arrived in LA I realised that I had lost my glasses. I called around a couple hotels to find I left them at the Spindrift... they located them and they were in the post that day. Such amazing service throughout.

This place is special and you should not miss it if staying in Monterey.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RLMUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOM-ManagerResponse, General Manager at Spindrift Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Posted on behalf of Randy Venard, General Manager

We are thrilled to know you will be back!

At the Spindrift Inn, we believe that it is the little extra touches like the wine and cheese hour and our thoughtful, attentive staff that make our hotel special. Thank you very much for noticing and sharing your comments here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,025)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

740 - 746 of 2,025 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Very nice room (106) with beautiful view. They had a couple of king rooms available at check-in so they took us to each one and let us pick the room we preferred. Location is very convenient for touristy stroll to cannery row shops and restaurants. Really enjoyed the breakfast delivered to out room.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Cnkmerrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Pros: Fabulous ocean facing room, feels like you are right on the water. Great design on the first floor with the living area a few steps below the bedroom. Great bathroom. Great fireplace. Good coffee. Staff were extremely helpful and service very prompt. Great little 4 to 6 wine/cheese platter. You pay for valet parking, but can take the car out and in as much as you like, plus (and this is a very big plus), they let you keep the car in the valet (with suitcases) until 4 o'clock, (past the 12 o'clock check out after you vacate the room), so you can wander around a bit after check out. Cons: No hot water for my bath. Bed was lumpy and uncomfortable (if they are going to put a feather insert under the fitted sheet, first of all they should use a fitted sheet, and second, make sure the feather or whatever it is under, is consistently spread throughout the bed instead of heavy lumping in the middle! Breakfast coffee was good but the fruit platter was downright bad. Grapes where off, orange slice was juiceless, watermelon not ripe, altogether bad. Eggs were perfect. Muffin and coffee cake were good.

Room Tip: We loved the convenience of having a gas fireplace which is only available on the first floor. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaM08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I selected this hotel as a 'surprise' for my wife on our car trip north from LA to San Francisco. The hotel itself and the reception, complete with complimentary wine and cheese, was exemplary. And our corner room, with a gorgeous view of Monterey Bay, was truly beautiful, with canopy bed, nice bath, window seats and casement windows, which we opened for a cross breeze almost immediately. I didn't figure that the gas-fired but wood-burning fireplace, which I thought would make a romantic fillip to our stay, would actually have a lingering scent of smoke. Well, 'Duh!' what was I thinking. Of COURSE there would be a lingering scent of smoke. So, after a few minutes, we kinda got used to it. And after dinner, we piled a couple of logs on over the gas starter, and had a lovely fire, which we enjoyed from two super-comfy armchairs placed perfectly in front of the fireplace. In all, a five-type experience, but if you're allergic to smoke, don't get the fireplace room.

Room Tip: Just know that the corner room with fireplace will have a scent. It's about $100 more per night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

From the moment we walked through the door until our departure the following day, we were pleasantly surprised. As a late arrival, the cheerfulness of the staff was refreshing. We were upgraded to a corner room and our door opened to a romantic hideaway. Hardwood floors, a canopy bed which overlooks two lounging chairs overlooking the fireplace on one side and a window seat on the other. The fireplace is gas but burns real wood. One of the bellboys explained that such a fireplace is now no longer allowed but is grandfathered here. What a really great feature! STRONGLY recommend the corner rooms, ours was room 207. The corner rooms are normally a little more money but well worth the additional price. After a long trip this was a slice of heaven!

Breakfast was served at our requested time and we awoke to a beautiful seaside view with seals and dolphins in plain site as we enjoyed our room service with a friendly seagull perched next to our window eager for a treat. We looked down to see a couple drawing love notes in the sand. Good Karma everywhere. Everyone on the staff was great. Knowledgeable and cheerful, you guys rock and made us feel special. Your smiles are contagious. Keep up the great work!

The location is also great, in the middle of Cannery Row and we really enjoyed the shops. We're not surprised often but this is a pleasant one we wholeheartedly recommend!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are really great. We stayed in 207 and loved it!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveandBrenda777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Thanks for the great anniversary getaway. We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary and the room was fabulous. We loved hearing the ocean and seeing the waves from our room. The continental breakfast service capped off our stay. We relaxed and enjoyed the ocean view over morning coffee , fruit and breakfast cake. The wine tasting before dinner was exceptional and we chatted with other guests. We strolled the street after a dinner at a restaurant nearby. Staff was very friendly and sent us a welcome gift to our room.It was a one night stay but we will definitely be back. Maybe to celebrate our 50th!!!

Room Tip: Select the 4th floor for a great ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We vacationed at the Spindrift last week (Nov 2013) as a part of our California coast Babymoon. It was wonderful. It was a great location, walkable to shops, restaurants and the Aquarium. Our room was clean, bed was SO comfortable and we loved the wood burning fireplace. Staff was very friendly. We highly recommend it and it lives up to the 'most romantic' title.

Room Tip: We stayed in the deluxe king. Worth the extra price for a corner room with a view, we were able to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank finnbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,667 reviews
1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,576 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
2.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spindrift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Inn

Address: 652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#9 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $202 - $511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cannery Row, directly on the beach, Spindrift Inn offers an atmosphere of romance, elegance and gracious hospitality. The Inn's distinctive two-story lobby, with its hand-tiled floors, Oriental carpets, charming antiques, original art, and wood-burning fireplace, invites quiet conversation or private reflection. The 45 comfortable, luxurious rooms-half with breathtaking ocean views-are uniquely decorated and include wood-burning fireplaces, down comforters, feather beds, honor bars, TVs, CD & DVD players, wireless internet connection, marble baths and window seats or private balconies. Complimentary silver-tray continental breakfast is served in-room, & an afternoon wine and cheese reception is held daily. Valet parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Spindrift Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing