We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Inn in Monterey”
Review of Spindrift Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Spindrift Inn
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Oakley, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Favorite Inn in Monterey”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel is the most romantic, intimate, cozy and most wonderful place ever! The fireplace, with the fluffy featherbeds to the incredible view of the ocean (you are right on the beach). The sound of the waves crashing in at night, to the perfect central location to shopping and fine dining. You cannot ask for anything more here. The decor is uniquely victorian, which offers a quaint feeling. The inn also has a wine and cheese reception, where they serve good wine and cheese. I think I stayed in room 204, no complaints! Truly exceptional in every way!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,474
    347
    91
    43
    26
See reviews for
194
1,396
48
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

We just stayed there this weekend. When we got to our room. Mold in the bathtub coating was coming off bathtub. Wood trim needs painting furniture nicked. Sheets were worn. Not those nice crisp sheets u expect Very disappointed. Considering cost

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judanmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOM-ManagerResponse, General Manager at Spindrift Inn, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
To begin, I want to thank this reviewer for taking the time to share their feedback regarding their recent stay. This feedback is truly valuable to us, as it provides our best possible opportunity to make improvements.

Our goal is to make all of our guests feel welcome and to provide a comfortable atmosphere, and I sincerely apologize for anything that detracted from this guest’s stay. We have spoken with our staff in regards to the condition of this room. The Spindrift Inn usually gets very positive comments about ambiance, and we are taking this guest’s comments very seriously in order to ensure that every aspect of our guest’s stay is comfortable and relaxing.

Again, I want to thank this reviewer for taking the time to share their comments. Should anyone wish to speak with one of our managers directly about a question or concern, please don’t hesitate to give us a call.

Regards,

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Let me start by saying, I rarely write reviews and we've only been here a couple of hours but this is truly an awesome place with people who actually care about the people that are staying at it's hotel. They check us in quickly, always were asking us first if we needed help with anything. When we got up to our room we were blown away. Mostly places we've stayed show their "Top-of-line" room which generally is one stand out room in the entire hotel. NOT THIS HOTEL! EVERY room comes with a fireplace w/two comfortable chairs for and an ottoman to enjoy the fireplace, an amazing bed (so amazing that it needed Turn Down service which I had never heard of before), one or two window seats (ours was a corner so we had two), hard wood floors, and just an amazing overall design. Our room faced Cannery Row but you could also see the bay and was just as good as a seaside room (although next time I may pay extra). They have a Wine and Cheese Bar for free and at 6PM a person comes around for Turn Down (bed prepping), a gorgeous rooftop garden and so much more to enjoy. Thanks Spindrift for making this a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rivask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOM-ManagerResponse, General Manager at Spindrift Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Hello rivask,

Thank you for taking a moment to write about your wonderful experience at the Spindrift Inn. I’m glad that you’ve found so much to enjoy about our Inn! From our helpful staff to the gorgeous views our rooms boast, I’m prone to agree with you – the Spindrift Inn has a great many features for our guests to enjoy. Even if you’ve already left the Spindrift Inn, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next Monterey adventure. We’ll keep a bed turned down for you!

Regards,

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

The room are old stile but modern and well equipped.

The cleanest an niceest arranged room you can get. Each room have a gas supplemented fireplace where you easy can light up, and let the wood burns and get a very nice atmosphere in the room. It is biuld to respect an old wodden hotel, but all materials are modren and functioning as you would extect from a new hotel.

Free cheese and wind each afternoon in the lobby where you can meet other guests and learn about the area if you want.

Only negative was a compressor based refrigerator in the room that makes noise. ( I just unplugged it)

Just go there. Sea view is worth the price

Room Tip: Sea view is worth it, but you can be lucky with road side if you are on the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jens Mikel j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

As soon as we checked in to this hotel after a long drive down the Pacific Coast Highway, we got a good feeling. OK the valet parking was $21 but given that we were tired and didn't fancy lugging our luggage to and from god knows where, it was actually a nice treat, especially the next morning when we just wantef to be on our way. We arrived at around 5, where the receptionist warmly invited us to have a glass of wine as we checked in. There was a free cheese and wine buffet, guests were encouraged by all the staff to sample something. We asked if we could take our wine up to our room, which they agreed to. However, we found the roof terrace on the 4th floor. Take a cardy but do have a look, they've made an effort to hide some of the vents using pot plants but generally, its a great view.

We had a room overlooking Cannery Street, there was no stree noise and as the weather was foggy a sea view wasn't missed! We had everything we needed, a good coffee machine, fluffy bath robes, wonderful AVEDA products, a fan and a log fire. Real milk would have been nicer thsn powdered creamer but I just popper across the road to the store for a small carton. Make sure you follow instructions and open the flue, otherwise the smoke alarm will go off ahem!

They really do go the extra mile here with a sleep aid CD, a good TV, a breakfast in bed option at no extra charge and an evening turn down service. None of these things were essential but for a spot of luxury after some hard trekking and a lot of driving, it was all totally appreciated. The seemed genuinely keen to help and were very kind. One night wasn't really enough!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lozpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We just came from California and stayed one night in Spindrift on the way to Yosemite. The place is very nice. Located centrally,near aquarium, warf, restaurants, and all major attractions. The rooms are big and very nicely furnished. We stayed on 3rd floor facing Cannery Row and were surprised how quiet it was. No outside noise at all. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GalinaNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and decided to celebrate our 32nd anniversary with a week long trip split between Monterey and Ojai. The first 3 nights of our trip were spent at the Spindrift Inn. We chose the Romance package which included a massage for 2 and a $100 credit for dinner at the Sardine Factory.

The property is very boutique and the staff go out of their way to make you feel at home. In fact, when returning from dinner each night Marlene would say "Welcome Home". You don't get that at a big chain hotel! After reading several Tripadvisor reviews, I knew that the Oceanside corner rooms were the best. We stayed in Room 207 and the view did not disappoint! We could see the kelp beds while sitting in the cozy arm chairs in front of the fireplace. We spotted dolphins one morning while eating breakfast.

The decoration style may not be to everyone's taste. The rooms have a canopy bed (very comfortable) and the colors are pinks and greens. We enjoyed the old school look and comfort. I loved the hard word floors and the old brass coat rack/butler was very functional.

A bottle of champagne, chocolates and a personalized card were set up in the room when we arrived. A fresh rose in the vase on the desk was another nice touch.

Daily breakfast service was great (included in the room price). Each room fills out their breakfast choices and delivery time. It was great to be able to enjoy breakfast without having to get ready and venture out. Another nice touch is the daily wine and cheese reception. I highly recommend taking the wine and cheese to the rooftop which affords a 180 degree view.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are worth the extra cost
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KaleesiE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,399 reviews
1.0 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
2.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spindrift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Inn

Property: Spindrift Inn
Address: 652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#3 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cannery Row, directly on the beach, Spindrift Inn offers an atmosphere of romance, elegance and gracious hospitality. The Inn's distinctive two-story lobby, with its hand-tiled floors, Oriental carpets, charming antiques, original art, and wood-burning fireplace, invites quiet conversation or private reflection. The 45 comfortable, luxurious rooms-half with breathtaking ocean views-are uniquely decorated and include wood-burning fireplaces, down comforters, feather beds, honor bars, TVs, CD & DVD players, wireless internet connection, marble baths and window seats or private balconies. Complimentary silver-tray continental breakfast is served in-room, & an afternoon wine and cheese reception is held daily. Valet parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Spindrift Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing