We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WONDERFUL GETAWAY”
Review of Spindrift Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Spindrift Inn
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfield, California
2 reviews
“WONDERFUL GETAWAY”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I would not change anything about Spindrift. The hotel offers a European flavor. The front desk people are friendly as is the maid service in the rooms.. We have recommended Spindrift to our children and friends as well for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: We did not use the swimming pool or fitness center. We can do this at home. We were there for rela...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albertjangell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,449
    342
    89
    42
    26
See reviews for
190
1,371
48
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (628)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Amazing rooms and perfect for just the two of you. Definitely sets you up for romance. The staff was exceptional, from the moment Renea greeted us upon arrival to the moment we said goodbye. Would highly recommend.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay here! We arrived after a drive in from Los Angeles just in time for the wine and cheese reception, which was very nice. We were shown to our beautiful room which was huge, had two windows seats and a working fireplace, and an incredibly comfortable bed. Before we got there, the front desk helped us make reservations for dinner (at tesoros next door - we just got small plates to share because we were still full from the reception) and in-room massages (SO relaxing). The location was perfect - a short walk to almost everything in Monterey, including about 5 min to the aquarium. We have recommended this hotel to friends and family and would definitely stay there again!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingspartan08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I wavered between 4 and 5 stars for this hotel.

the pros:
1. Location. Right on cannery row, close walk to everything in monterey. The only time we used our car was to drive to watch the sunset in Pacific Grove.
2. Staff. Everyone at the desk was friendly, as were the parking attendants.
3. Wine and cheese in the evening, breakfast delivered to your room (room style service with a small but varied menu to choose from!).
4. Views - from the rooftop garden, or your room if you are ocean view. We were on the cannery row side which was also fine, didn't find it to be noisy as others have mentioned.

the cons:
1. Although many people enjoyed having the fireplace in their room, i felt that it added too much of a smokey smell for my liking. We never actually lit a fire in ours, but depending (i am guessing) on how many other people were using theirs/the temperature in the room, the smell ranged from noticeable to a bit overwhelming for me. We were also awoken by a fire alarm around 7 one morning - which i am willing to assume had something to do with a fireplace.
2. I enjoyed the in room breakfast as described above, but we didn't always get exactly what we ordered and delivery once was actually early by about half an hour.

overall, a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bethany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I will never stay any where else in Montery! We looked at many other hotels while walking on cannery row and Spindrift is by far the very best! The hotel is beautiful yet quaint and homey and the staff is wonderful! Loved it!

Room Tip: Pick ocean side for sure.it doesn't have a pool or gym
See more room tips
Green Features: Spindrift is enviromentally friendly. They save on towels and water. The place is very clean. We enjoyed it all.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
402 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We loved the Spindrift inn for the great location, friendly service and romantic ambiance! We upgraded upon arrival to an oceanview room and were SO glad we did! The room can feel a little small to walk around because there are two wingback chairs and ottoman positioned around a real fireplace. I have never seen a hotel with a real fireplaces before so we were thrilled (we even made smores)! The also make it idiot proof as well so you don't need to know how to make a fire :). The room also had plenty of little details that we loved: 1) window seat to sit and watch the water/beach and was a great reading spot, 2) binoculars, 3) clean wine glasses and cheese knife, 4) sleep sounds CD's, 5) breakfast provided in your room every morning, 6) nice bathroom with Aveda products, 7) very comfy bed that you sink into, 8) plenty of bath towels, 9) bottled water in the fridge (a rarity we found in California), 10) cocktail hour in the lobby, 11) rooftop deck accessed through the 4th floor, and 12) cheapest valet we found on our trip ($21 per night). I guess the only downside would be there is no A/C. However we slept with the windows open and were cool enough and had the real ocean sounds to put us to sleep. There are no screens on the window but we didn't have any bugs (or seagulls) come visit us.

Overall we loved our stay at Spindrift and would recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: Choose an oceanview room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank account4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This this the place to stay for couples. We booked a 3 night break in Monterey and took the recommendations from trip trip advisor and booked the Spindrift Inn. We weren't disappointed. Our room was great and the sea view fantastic. A real wow! My wife sat for hour watching for the sea otters and harbour seals. Add to this the log fire and it makes the experience unique. The only downside breakfast was a bit hit and miss (don't expect to get what you order!) but the sea view and the complimentary cheese and wine more than made up it. Also has a good roof garden which we took,advantage of for an afternoon nap - well why not! We shall look back with fond memories. A great experience

Room Tip: Must have a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
2.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.0 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spindrift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Inn

Property: Spindrift Inn
Address: 652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#3 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cannery Row, directly on the beach, Spindrift Inn offers an atmosphere of romance, elegance and gracious hospitality. The Inn's distinctive two-story lobby, with its hand-tiled floors, Oriental carpets, charming antiques, original art, and wood-burning fireplace, invites quiet conversation or private reflection. The 45 comfortable, luxurious rooms-half with breathtaking ocean views-are uniquely decorated and include wood-burning fireplaces, down comforters, feather beds, honor bars, TVs, CD & DVD players, wireless internet connection, marble baths and window seats or private balconies. Complimentary silver-tray continental breakfast is served in-room, & an afternoon wine and cheese reception is held daily. Valet parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Spindrift Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing