We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Splurge that is WELL Worth It!”
Review of Spindrift Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Spindrift Inn
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Splurge that is WELL Worth It!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This hotel is one we had always walked by on our visits to Cannery Row, but we received a gift certificate for one night and decided to buy a 2nd night, too...what a treat!

Summary of the above and beyond experience:
- All of the staff LOVES to answer your questions and help
- The sound of the surf on the Bay side is amazing!
- The view across the Bay is stunning...
- The room is so cozy with the easy to light wood burning fireplace, great TV, plush bedding, lots of lovely 'spot' lighting, and classy bathroom
- The location is great: right by a walking trail that, with a right turn, takes you into Pacific Grove along the bay (the most beautiful walk in the world!), within 2 blocks of a huge variety of dining, and 3 blocks from the Aquarium...
- The evening wine/cheese reception is a terrific way to either visit with other guests by the roaring fire in the lobby or take snacks back to your room to eat by your OWN fire
- The in-room breakfast is plentiful and great! Order the fruit...huge variety of freshly cut gems...

All-in-all, this is the type of place you want to come to when you want to spend a lot of time in the room so you can enjoy all of the spoiling and amazing ambience...so glad we had that kind of trip in mind for our stay at the Spindrift!

Room Tip: Any room on the water is your best bet...get the whole experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jen2play
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,449
    342
    89
    42
    26
See reviews for
190
1,371
48
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (628)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
van buren ar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

My wife and i who work 7 days a week and are on call 24/7 took an 18hour hiatus from our busy schedule. We found this #1 rated hotel paid the extra so we did not have to look at the transients on the ave., and got a beachfront room on the 4th floor. We asked for an internet discount, the young man was gracious enough to work it out. $208 for the finest relaxing18 hours we have spent in a long time. Fireplace, ocean breeze, feather bed, CD's, market nite on tuesday nite, save $21 with a parking tip below!

Room Tip: parking meter in front of the hotel is not monitored all nite so if you look at the times on the met...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ted d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leander, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Spin Drift while driving from Las Vegas to San Francisco via LA. We passed through the Big Sur area in all it's beauty before we got to Monterey and after a day of watching beautiful landscapes, we were not expecting Spin Drift to be as wonderful an experience as it was.

Right from the time we got the hotel it was fantastic. The valet/ bell desk folks were awesome - asked me right upfront if I wanted to valet or park myself (and the cost of each) - and did a tremendous job of getting the bags out and into the room.

The lobby is small but cozy, this is a boutique hotel so public spaces are small but well maintained and well set up. As we checked in the complimentary cheese/ wine hour was coming to an end, but the lady who was overseeing the setup was kind enough to ask us if we wanted a bite and then was sweet enough to pile up a couple of plates and 2 glasses and help us take them to our room (our hands were full since we still had hand-bags).

The room was marvelous... it's not huge, but really well setup. The gas-fired but wood-burning fireplace is amazing with a couple of comfortable chairs around it to sink into... heavenly.

We splurged on getting the ocean view room, and as dusk fell there was a wonderful view out over the Bay... a beautifully serene and romantic setting.

Breakfast is delivered to the room (I guess because the Inn doesnt really have space for a breakfast room), but it's quite appropriate... we woke up watching a sea gull on our ledge and think we saw some seals out in the water (there are binoculors on the seat by the window if you want)... so breakfast was an relaxing, intimate setting.

Overall this was a wonderful 1 night stay over a Saturday night. It was extremely cold this weekend across the West Coast and Monterey was freezeing too... but the warmth of the people at Spin Drift as well as the fireplace in the room made our stay memorable.

Room Tip: Splurge on the ocean view rooms. Wonderful views out over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RS3101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Habra, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I really hate to call this place "average." It seemed so promising based on all the reviews. The rooms really are lovely, and the location is great. But, please call before you stay here and ask if there is still construction going on. I stayed here to rest and relax, and was awakened by loud hammering and construction men looking right into my room. They were across the street on scaffolds, putting them eye-level with my balcony. They also were using drills and staple guns. So, sitting on my balcony was a no-go. Not unless I wanted to watch men at work. And sleeping in, well forget that! Also, I asked for the quietest room possible. When I arrived, I was put in room 210. The second floor rooms open to the lobby, so all the lobby noise travels up and into the rooms. All the other floors are enclosed. So, not only was there noise coming from outside the hotel, but there was noise coming form inside the hotel! Very disappointing, especially since I took the time to make a request. I feel that they could have put me in a much quieter setting! Customer service: fail. This is the first time tripadvisor lead me astray. Unfortunately, I will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 210 opens to Cannery Row and was very noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RachJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOM-ManagerResponse, General Manager at Spindrift Inn, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
I want to thank this reviewer, first and foremost, for taking the time to share their feedback regarding their recent stay at our hotel. Honest comments from our guests, either received directly or through their posts on TripAdvisor, are very important to me as they provide the best possible insight into how our services are being received and how we might make improvements.

Regarding this guests comments about the construction – this was, indeed, something taking place on a historic building across the street from the hotel. Though we made every effort to remind the construction crews of the noise ordinance in the area, this building is in no way affiliated with the hotel and, unfortunately, the restorative construction taking place was something outside of our control.
That being said, please know that this work has been completed, as of Tuesday February 5th, and is no longer impacting our guests.

To address this guest’s request for a quiet room, I must point out that all of our Cannery Row view rooms face the exact same direction. When requests such as this are made, we attempt to give the guest the room which we believe would provide them the greatest enjoyment. Many guests far prefer the rooms with balconies, with the ability to sit out and watch over the activity of Cannery Row. In this instance, with the unexpected noise and disturbance of the construction, it is understandable how this normally welcome room-feature was instead disappointing. I want to sincerely apologize to this guest for the disturbance, and that we were unable to offer a suitable solution while they were staying at the hotel.
If this guest would like to reach out to the hotel directly, I would be more than happy to further discuss their concerns.

Likewise, should any guest wish to speak with our managers directly regarding a question or concern, please do not hesitate to give us a call. We consider comments from all of our guests – both current and future – to be genuinely valuable, and we welcome all feedback.

Thank you,
the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is a must for every couple. The Spindrift in offers the Best service, and perfect for Romance. Their location is prime! Without reservation, it earns the highest recommendation possible. The fireplace in the room and front lobby is a warm welcoming. The wine, cheese and crackers are delicious and the people are some of the most hospitable.

Room Tip: Pick this place if you are looking for great romance and a outstanding location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2EnjoyLife4Ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Stockbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Touristy part of town. Cannery row. But right on the ocean. Superb staff and service and helpful people in the inn. Great location unless you want to be away from tourists. Beaches and bikes and kayaks a few steps away. Truly a beautiful hotel. Breakfast delivered to room...simple and good, and included in price. We had a room overlooking the ocean. Binoculars included. Bath salts. Window seat where you can watch the ocean if you are not in it. Very relaxing room with fireplace. Lots of amenities. Couldn't have been a better choice for us. Lots of character. Understated elegance.

Room Tip: Fireplace in winter. Overlook ocean if you want to pay the price. All good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank molly j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, SC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The small, intimate Sprindrift Inn is a wonderful place to relax in Cannery Row on Monterey Bay. We stopped without a reservation and couldn't get a waterfront room, but loved our fireplace room with a few of the town.

Stunning room, great service. Cannot recommend it more highly.

Room Tip: Rooms on the water side are worth the extra money, but street side is nice too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodyreynolds2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
2.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.0 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spindrift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Inn

Property: Spindrift Inn
Address: 652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#3 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cannery Row, directly on the beach, Spindrift Inn offers an atmosphere of romance, elegance and gracious hospitality. The Inn's distinctive two-story lobby, with its hand-tiled floors, Oriental carpets, charming antiques, original art, and wood-burning fireplace, invites quiet conversation or private reflection. The 45 comfortable, luxurious rooms-half with breathtaking ocean views-are uniquely decorated and include wood-burning fireplaces, down comforters, feather beds, honor bars, TVs, CD & DVD players, wireless internet connection, marble baths and window seats or private balconies. Complimentary silver-tray continental breakfast is served in-room, & an afternoon wine and cheese reception is held daily. Valet parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Spindrift Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing