We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing trip”
Review of Spindrift Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Spindrift Inn
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Modesto, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing trip”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed in a first floor ocean view room. Loved it. Our room seemed newly remodeled. Upstairs rooms did appear as nice. Staff was excellent. We had a gas fireplace which was nice. Flames weren't too strong, but I did not have to build the fire or worry about smoke. Complimentary breakfast delivered to the room was nice. We used the valet parking. I would highly recommend that option. Hotel also had Aquarium tickets which gave us two days to check it out for $34 ea.

Room Tip: The 1st floor ocean view rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRB58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,474
    347
    91
    43
    26
See reviews for
194
1,396
48
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pacifica, CA
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Thank you Trip Advisor Travelers & Spindrift Inn! We stayed here based on reviews and location knowledge from living nearby. The hotel is quaint, personal and warm. The rooms are cozy, very clean, amazing comfortable beds (super poofy) Here's a concept...giving your guests...free water, Aveda products, cotton balls and a room sauna in room #311..(Cannery Road view). Valet parking for $21, complimentary wi-fi, wine and cheese at 4:30pm> There is a nightly live music bar and restaurant about 1 minute walk from the Inn. AND...after a fun night out, our custom Continental breakfast, was the cherry on top, of this one night romantic getaway!! <3 Thank you Spindrift Inn, we will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goleta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Even though the hotel was booked to capacity, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was lovely..very large with a magnificent ocean view and window seat along the window to enjoy the view. The beds were very comfortable with a feather bed and down comforter. Although the sheets could have been of a higher quality..but then I wouldn't have wanted to get out of bed! The wood fireplace was perfect and made for a really nice cozy room. My only negative was the complimentary breakfast. The food was what I would expect at a 2-3 star hotel and for the price was lacking. Also, we had 4 people in our room, and the food barely fit on the "silver tray" they use to serve us, so it was less than an ideal way to get our food. It would have been better to have used 2 trays, rather than stacking everything on top of itself. All in all, it is a nice place to stay and is a great location for visiting the aquarium if you want to spend $$ to have a really nice room.

Room Tip: It's worth the expense to have the ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa2sb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have stayed at the Spindrift Inn four or five times over the past twenty five plus years, and have always enjoyed our time there. The location is excellent, and we like the many nearby restaurants that are within walking distance. However the hotel is begining to show its age and lack of maintenance. We had a corner ocean view room for four nights. The view from the room is wonderful, but the windows didn't look like they had been cleaned for months, which definitely detracts from the charm. On one window, the latch was broken and wouldn't close completely. The carpet was badly stained and dirty. The faucet on the tub leaked, and the sink drained very slowly. We love the wood burning fireplace. but after the second night the wood was replaced with logs that would burn only if the gas jets were left on high, and stopped burning as soon as the gas was turned off.

I was told that all the windows were to be replaced, so hopefully a maintenence program is in place. None the less, we were disappointed with the many small details that needed attention and will probably look for other accommodations the next time we travel to the Monterey - Carmel area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RetiredTraveler75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, ca
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We just love the Spindrift, the staff is helpful and inviting! The rooms have great views! The beds are the most comfortable we have slept in you won't want to get out of them. Its our go to place when we want rest and relaxation with a romantic feel! Close to anything you need and want to do...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sasysuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

This is a perfect spot to be refreshed, although pricey. Ocean view rooms are the best! Needs some minor touch ups but everything is cozy and quaint! The wood burning fireplace is awesome! Plenty of wood furnished! Lots of television viewing choices! Beds so comfy! Restaurants all around within walking!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MavisJarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We had a great experience at the Spindrift. The staff was friendly, the room was clean and cozy. Breakfast to your door is wonderful but we got in room massages and it was awful! We thought with a great place spindrift is that we would be getting quality massages (at 85.00 a piece) and that was not the case. The two ladies were suppose to be our room at 3pm and start at 315. They didn't get to our room until 310 and still had to set everything up. Needless to stay they started late but ended right at 4:15... That wasn't even the worst of it. I am 7 months pregnant and the lady kept telling me I was "huge" and asked me if I was sure I wasn't carrying twins. You DO NOT tell a lady she's huge especially a pregnant one! She said it a few times and then asked my husband to help me adjust the pregnancy pillow since I was so "big." didn't make me feel very comfortable... Then in the middle of the massages the lady who was massaging my husband pulled up a chair and sat down! Now unless she needed to for physical reason (which she should of said something prior to the massage) I don't think it's very professional to sit while your giving a massage?! Maybe it was an off day for these ladies or we just got the wrong masseuses but from that experience I would not recommend the spa...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mkwahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,399 reviews
1.0 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
2.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spindrift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Inn

Property: Spindrift Inn
Address: 652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#3 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cannery Row, directly on the beach, Spindrift Inn offers an atmosphere of romance, elegance and gracious hospitality. The Inn's distinctive two-story lobby, with its hand-tiled floors, Oriental carpets, charming antiques, original art, and wood-burning fireplace, invites quiet conversation or private reflection. The 45 comfortable, luxurious rooms-half with breathtaking ocean views-are uniquely decorated and include wood-burning fireplaces, down comforters, feather beds, honor bars, TVs, CD & DVD players, wireless internet connection, marble baths and window seats or private balconies. Complimentary silver-tray continental breakfast is served in-room, & an afternoon wine and cheese reception is held daily. Valet parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Spindrift Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing