We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Hotel was great, DO NOT USE THE SPA SERVICES!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spindrift Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Spindrift Inn
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel was great, DO NOT USE THE SPA SERVICES!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We had a great experience at the Spindrift. The staff was friendly, the room was clean and cozy. Breakfast to your door is wonderful but we got in room massages and it was awful! We thought with a great place spindrift is that we would be getting quality massages (at 85.00 a piece) and that was not the case. The two ladies were suppose to be our room at 3pm and start at 315. They didn't get to our room until 310 and still had to set everything up. Needless to stay they started late but ended right at 4:15... That wasn't even the worst of it. I am 7 months pregnant and the lady kept telling me I was "huge" and asked me if I was sure I wasn't carrying twins. You DO NOT tell a lady she's huge especially a pregnant one! She said it a few times and then asked my husband to help me adjust the pregnancy pillow since I was so "big." didn't make me feel very comfortable... Then in the middle of the massages the lady who was massaging my husband pulled up a chair and sat down! Now unless she needed to for physical reason (which she should of said something prior to the massage) I don't think it's very professional to sit while your giving a massage?! Maybe it was an off day for these ladies or we just got the wrong masseuses but from that experience I would not recommend the spa...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mkwahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,378
    325
    81
    39
    25
See reviews for
175
1,303
45
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (597)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livermore, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I went there for our anniversary and we had a wonderful time. Customer service was great everybody was so friendly and helpful. The front desk set up dinner reservations for us at the Chart house which was a short 4 min walk down the street, very convenient central location. The dinner came with a complimentary dessert and overall was a special experience. The only complaint I would have was the construction going on across the street, we were there on a Monday/Tuesday and they started early in the morning so it was noisy but out of our hotel's control. Besides that the hotel took great care of us and made our stay memorable. Our room had a fireplace in it that we lit up at night and it made the room feel so cozy and warm. Our room also came with a sauna which was odd but a pretty awesome feature. I would definitely come back and stay at the spindrift. The location, customer service and warm feel of the hotel made our stay one to remember.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank W_totman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I stayed here for a weekend with my girlfriend for vacation before I leave for Navy basic training. Everyone that works here was amazing! The rooms are spotless and they have wood burning fire places that really add a very romantic touch. The complimentary breakfast was exactly what we needed to unwind. The hotel itself was a perfect location.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NapaCorpsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tx
Level Contributor
104 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Loved the hotel..very nice staff...clean room...great Continental Breakfast...Binoculars for viewing...although after looking at other reviewers pics.. we have have got the only room without a window seat..:(

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window seat..also we were in a room directly behin\d the lobby which was noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovetotravel720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We spent a night at the Spindrift Inn on our way down the coast to Paso Robles. The Inn was on Cannery Row and the Ocean. We had a beautiful corner room overlooking Cannery Row. Reception was very nice and checked us in without a problem. We arrived after the Inn offered complimentary wine and cheese, reception made sure that we were taken care. The room was beautiful and large, the bed was fantastic. The wood buring fireplace was well used by us and much appreciated. It really turned the room into a special place for my wife and myself.
The following morning we were served breakfact in bed, another treat!

You do have to pay for parking the car, I think it was around $25.00. We decided to park the car about 10 blocks up the hill near a school. It was off season and not a problem to find many open parking spaces.

The Spindrift was a wonderful place for us to stay and we will always think of the Inn as a special place.

P.S. Don't miss eating at the Monterey Fish House, I bit of a ride by car (maybe 15 minutes), it was small but had great seafood, try the squid!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank antiquehound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I have stayed at the Spindrift for romantic getaways with my husband many times. It is so peaceful to have the wood fire burning, windows thrown open to the Sea. We watch the antics of the sea otters, who come so close to the Inn that we have watched them eat crabs and starfish while the otter floats leisurely on it's back. Once we saw a mother otter with a baby resting on top of her belly! I have heard a whale call out in the wee hours in the Bay, while sleeping with the window ajar and the sea crashing on the shore. Once per year I visit the Inn with my sister for a different experience. We shop the many stores on the Cannery, go to the excellent Aquarium and enjoy the Fishhopper restaurant where we can watch lazy sea lions on the rocks below as we eat a wonderful meal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tess267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed two wonderful nights at the Spindrift Inn. The staff is extremely helpful and attentive. The hotel is beautifully appointed, with great views of the bay or Cannery Row. We really enjoyed the free wine and cheese reception each evening. I signed up for emails of their specials and got a super great rate for the two mid-week nights.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are equally nice. Just decide which view you'd like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coppelia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,487 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
2.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
2.6 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spindrift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Inn

Property: Spindrift Inn
Address: 652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#3 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cannery Row, directly on the beach, Spindrift Inn offers an atmosphere of romance, elegance and gracious hospitality. The Inn's distinctive two-story lobby, with its hand-tiled floors, Oriental carpets, charming antiques, original art, and wood-burning fireplace, invites quiet conversation or private reflection. The 45 comfortable, luxurious rooms-half with breathtaking ocean views-are uniquely decorated and include wood-burning fireplaces, down comforters, feather beds, honor bars, TVs, CD & DVD players, wireless internet connection, marble baths and window seats or private balconies. Complimentary silver-tray continental breakfast is served in-room, & an afternoon wine and cheese reception is held daily. Valet parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Spindrift Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing