We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannery Row location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spindrift Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Spindrift Inn
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Walnut, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cannery Row location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The Spindrift Inn is a charming place, great location, wonderful service, wood burning fireplaces,
great complimentary breakfast in the room. Especially friendly and helpful staff. Super location for enjoying Cannery Row and the Aquarium.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jellies33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,358
    318
    80
    38
    25
See reviews for
171
1,281
45
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Spindrift. We were very happy with the amenities, the location and the service. We especially enjoyed the fireplace in the room. From the bath salts to the open window that overlooked Cannery Row, the Spindrift is hands-down one of our favorite experiences to date and are planning on returning frequently. Thank you for making our experience so enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0384Dom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My husband and I are Australian and I booked this hotel as it is very different to anything I have seen in Australia and I was not disappointed. We stayed in mid December. Our room was on the top floor and had a wonderful bay window with a superb view of ocean. The room was extremely comfortable with a lovely fire place. We found it to be very quiet at night. The hotel have a wine and cheese reception which most guests collected and returned to their rooms with. I think this was because the reception area is in the lobby which is fairly small and has no view, where as most guests had beautiful ocean views in their rooms. It is an easy stroll to many restaurant choices. The hotel included breakfast which is ordered and delivered to your room. I loved having breakfast in our room with a small table looking out at the fisherman in their boats. We also saw an otter from our window. Breakfast is very basic but adequate, hard boiled eggs, toast, muffin, juice, fruit. Tea and coffee making facilities were also available in your room. We stayed two nights and loved it. The only bad point about our room was that the smell of smoke from the chimney on the roof occasionally got into the room.

Room Tip: Book an ocean view, If staying in winter it may be better to not be on the top floor near the chimne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank enialed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Our family spent 3 nights at this property: room was spacious and quaint, location (in the middle of Cannery Row -- a little touristy for us, but for this vacation -- Aquarium, bike rides, whale watching -- it worked out great!) was conducive to all local attractions, but what really set this inn apart from other places we have stayed was the staff -- exceptionally friendly, welcoming, went out of their way to help. Perks were nightly wine and cheese receptions and breakfast served to your room each morning. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and wholeheartedly recommend it to others! In fact, I already look forward to going back!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My son and I came to visit the aquarium, and this was both the perfect location and the most comfortable accommodations we could have asked for. LOVE the fireplace and in-room breakfast service! And Renae at the front desk went truly above and beyond.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We have stayed here for our anniversary several times and are always pleased. The rooms are very large,with room for nice arm chairs in front of the wood burning fireplace. There is a small frig for your use. They have a wine and cheese reception, which is lovely, serving a very nice local wine. The staff during that reception could not be nicer and make sure you have a full glass and a full plate. The high ceilings make this room quite grand and the large fireplace keeps the room cozy.The inn is within walking distance of many great restaurants and the aquarium. The next morning a beautiful and again generous breakfast is served in your room. There are nice bath products and bathrobes. We stayed on the Cannery Row side of the building and it was nice, a little noisy in the morning, but quiet during the night.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are great with the outside sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CWFSantaCruz_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bruno, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The rooms are so beautiful, I didn't want to leave the room. I especially loved the wood-burning fireplace and looking onto Cannery Row at all the people and store fronts. It was really nice and convenient to be in the heart of the town.

Room Tip: Although I would have wanted an ocean side room, I really enjoyed having a room facing Cannery Row...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annamarie777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,459 reviews
1.0 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
2.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
2.6 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spindrift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Inn

Property: Spindrift Inn
Address: 652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#3 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cannery Row, directly on the beach, Spindrift Inn offers an atmosphere of romance, elegance and gracious hospitality. The Inn's distinctive two-story lobby, with its hand-tiled floors, Oriental carpets, charming antiques, original art, and wood-burning fireplace, invites quiet conversation or private reflection. The 45 comfortable, luxurious rooms-half with breathtaking ocean views-are uniquely decorated and include wood-burning fireplaces, down comforters, feather beds, honor bars, TVs, CD & DVD players, wireless internet connection, marble baths and window seats or private balconies. Complimentary silver-tray continental breakfast is served in-room, & an afternoon wine and cheese reception is held daily. Valet parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Spindrift Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing