We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Rated most romantic for a reason!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spindrift Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Spindrift Inn
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Rated most romantic for a reason!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is such a neat hotel in a beautiful place. We absolutely loved having the fireplace in our room...just be careful lighting the logs so the smoke doesn't come into the room like it did us...the smoke alarm going off was really embarrassing. The windows open out to the beach below where you can watch otters playing in the surf. Walk to The Fish Hopper restaurant next door and enjoy a delicious steak on their heated porch overlooking the sea. The wine and cheese hour held in the lobby was a nice touch with yummy cheese and crackers. Strangely at around 3am the mexican restaurant next door decided to start construction which woke us up and kept us awake for a while, but this had nothing to do with the hotel and in hindsight should have called downstairs to them and see if they could do something about it. My only complaint was that the beds weren't so comfortable; they put a feather topper on top of the mattress and all the feathers were bunched in the center of the bed so I literally had to roll over a lump of feathers to snuggle with my husband. Great ambiance, great location, so so bed...but a great end to our honeymoon trip down the coast.

Room Tip: Choose a room with an ocean view...it is worth it. Use your AAA discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrshare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,360
    318
    80
    38
    25
See reviews for
171
1,283
45
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed at the Spindrift Inn for three nights in November and would thoroughly recommend the hotel. We chose this hotel partly after consulting Tripadviser and were not disappointed.
Our room was 303, a king size ocean view room with a wood fire, and although the weather was far too hot to make use of the fire, the smell was amazing.
The room was beautifully decorated with a very comfortable four poster bed covered in cushions and all the conveniences we required. There was a bath with shower and a window seat complete with binoculars over-looking the spectacular ocean view. Lying in bed the only sounds heard were the lapping of the waves on the shingle outside and the seals!
The continental breakfast is served to your room at no cost and wine and cheese is available in the lobby every afternoon.
There is also a roof terrace complete with loungers and tables and chairs.
The staff could not be more friendly with the car valets asking if we’d had a nice day, and the ladies on reception greeting us with “Welcome Home” each evening.

The Spindrift is on Cannery Row and is in a perfect location for the beach, the Aquarium (highly recommended), many restaurants and Fisherman’s Wharf. We ate at the Trattoria Paradiso next door and the Fish Hopper only two minutes away, both of which were excellent.

All in all, we would recommend this lovely boutique hotel and hope to stay there again some day.
I was very sorry to leave.

Room Tip: The extra for an ocean view is well worth the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlaJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We had a wonderful stay in the Spindrift Inn, the sea-water rooms are amazing, the sight is extra-ordinary, we could observe all the seabirds of Monterey. Also service is absolutely great as well as the complimentary wine in the late afternoon. Only thing that could be improved is the temperature inside the room, could be a bit more, but there is the occasion of gas-assisted wood firing in the room :-). We would highly recommend this site to anybody!

Ursula & Dieter

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dieter Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOM-ManagerResponse, General Manager at Spindrift Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Ursula & Dieter,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback. It is a wonderful compliment when guests from other countries regard our hotel so highly. I also want to thank you for your compliments to our staff; they work very hard to provide personalized service, and I am happy to share your comments.
Please know that beginning December 1st, we will be replacing and upgrading all of our windows. Our new windows will be of a modern, double-paned variety, and will provide improved insulation for the rooms. We hope that you will consider a return trip so that you can experience the improvements for yourself.

Thank you, again! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Best,
the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This Inn was so charming! The staff was very welcoming. When you walk in the lobby to your left is a huge fireplace setting the ambiance of the hotel. The rooms are quaint with a big cozy feather bed, wood floors, fireplace and windows that opened to view and hear the ocean. We enjoyed our stay immensely and would definitely recommend this Inn to anybody looking for a romantic stay, or relaxing stay!

Room Tip: We got the Deluxe Corner Ocean View King and it was perfect! Very quiet all we heard was the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsonia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed one night at the Spindrift Inn during our visit to Monterey. I absolutely LOVED this hotel and wished we could have stayed longer! From the moment we arrived, the valet Tim, was very polite and helpful. Check in was quick and easy and our room was beautiful! It was quaintly decorated and had a huge window seat that looked out over the Pacific. They even have binoculars in the room so you can watch the wildlife. In the morning we really enjoyed watching the seals and dolphins swimming next to the fishing boats as they past by. The complimentary evening wine and cheese in the lobby is a nice touch. It was nice to sit and chat with other travelers. Our room had a gas ignited log burning fireplace which was very relaxing. It was nice to sit in front of the fire listening to the ocean right outside your window! The continental breakfast included with your stay is great. Many items to choose from and they deliver to your room on a silver tray at the time you designate. This is a fantastic hotel and you won't be disappointed! We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

This place was great from the moment we walked in. Everyone that greeted you made you feel welcomed and wanted( like a million bucks). The rooms are gorgeous!!!! We had a great time. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer!!!! The complimentary wine in the evening was great, sitting with it on the roof tops as even better. It also had wonderful views!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOM-ManagerResponse, General Manager at Spindrift Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
The views of the Monterey Bay are, indeed, amazing. Getting to enjoy it with a glass of local Monterey County wine is even better! Thank you so much, Karen, for your thoughtful and kind review. All of our staff strives to provide a welcoming, attentive environment for our guests, and I am so happy to hear that this was exactly what you had while staying with us. We’re all looking forward to the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Best,
the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at several hotels during our trip to Monterey and Carmel. Spindrift Inn was definitely the best. The rooms are very nice and they come with several great amenities. Every night they serve complimentary wine and cheese! The bring breakfast to your room every morning and you get to select from different food options. Great views, beautiful garden atop the hotel. I wasn't expecting this, but our room had a sauna in it! It's located on Cannery row, which some people may or may not like. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely book again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chase H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,462 reviews
1.0 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
2.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
2.6 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spindrift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Inn

Property: Spindrift Inn
Address: 652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#3 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cannery Row, directly on the beach, Spindrift Inn offers an atmosphere of romance, elegance and gracious hospitality. The Inn's distinctive two-story lobby, with its hand-tiled floors, Oriental carpets, charming antiques, original art, and wood-burning fireplace, invites quiet conversation or private reflection. The 45 comfortable, luxurious rooms-half with breathtaking ocean views-are uniquely decorated and include wood-burning fireplaces, down comforters, feather beds, honor bars, TVs, CD & DVD players, wireless internet connection, marble baths and window seats or private balconies. Complimentary silver-tray continental breakfast is served in-room, & an afternoon wine and cheese reception is held daily. Valet parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Spindrift Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing