We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury on Cannery Row” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spindrift Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Spindrift Inn
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Paso Robles Wine Region, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Luxury on Cannery Row”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I cannot say enough good things about the Spindrift Inn, which has become a regular destination point for the occasional "weekend getaway." There are a couple of favorite rooms; one on the ocean side, where you can hear and see the waves crashing beneath your window while enjoying the spectacular sights of Monterey Bay, and one on the street side when you want to sit on the balcony and enjoy people watching and the hustle of Cannery Row. The staff has always been very accomodating with our requests. Regardless of the location of your room, you will always find it extremely clean, cozy, and comfortable... a little bit of luxury on Cannery Row.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinInaDavlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,378
    325
    81
    39
    25
See reviews for
175
1,303
45
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (597)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The beds are divine, the rooms are divine, the complimentry breakfast is divine, the complimentry wine in the foyer in the afternoon was divine, the location is divine, the service is divine.

We arrived at Monterey and found this gem in the most wonderful location in Monterey.

I am all for location for a hotel and the quality. This one is excellent.

From the 'Welcome Home' greeting when you come back to the hotel, the cosy lounge room with a fireplace in the hotel room, the most comfortable beds and pillows, the romantic bay window with the most amazing view of the water and beach... why on earth would you stay anywhere else in Monterey.

My family loved this hotel and this wonderful seaside town.

Room Tip: Oh, a water view is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank molimu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I have to give this place 5 stars all around. The service is so friendly, the rooms are super clean, stocked with Aveda products. Location , A++ .. Go to the Aquarium ( even if you don't have a child in tow). From 4-6, The Spin Drift has complimentary wine and cheese. Rooms have fireplaces! Beds are so so comfortable! Breakfast served each morning on a silver tray. The roof top is heaven! I had an amazing stay. I can't see how anyone would not love this place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepperell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My husband and another couple just returned from a three night stay. It was wonderful. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The wine and cheese every day at 4:30 was a very nice touch. We had a beautiful room with a small refrigerator and coffee in the room. Breakfast was included with our room charge, more than just a continental breakfast. You could choose what you would like and it was delivered to your room at the time you chose. That was really nice. The location was great, right at the beach and in the middle of everything you might want to do. I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone going to Monterey. I would stay there again!

CP

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carole p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My wife and our friends toured Napa Valley, Monterey and San Fran and stayed at the Spindrift Inn for 3 fabulous nights. By far, it was the best hotel we stayed at. We were greeted by a friendly staff every time we passed through the lobby. Happy hour with endless wine, cheese and fruit was every night for 90 minutes. You may venture up to the roof to watch the sunset or just view the ocean. The assistant manager came up to take our picture and chat with us.

The rooms have fireplaces and there is plenty of wood. The beds are featherbeds and you just melt into them. Breakfast is included and it is not skimpy. Order what you want and the time you want it delivered to your room.

The hotel is a 2 minute walk to the aquarium and you will pass by all kinds of shopping and restaurants. If you are financially conscious, you can park in other lots and save a few bucks. Otherwise the hotel will valet park for you.

I would recommend this hotel and stay there again.

Room Tip: Ocean view is 30% more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My husband and I spent our 48th anniversary at the warm and inviting Spindrift. The check in made me feel welcome from the moment I stepped in to the lobby. All the staff were friendly and very helpful. We were a corner room with a fireplace, beautiful view and a large cozy bed. They have complementary room service breakfast every morning and wine and cheese in the afternoons. This could be why it is voted # 1 for romance and we couldn't agree more. We watched the seals and birds in the bay and on the beach from our window. They don' t have a dining room but the Italian restaurant next door is very good and there are several dining options in walking distance. You can also walk to shops and the aquarium. Thanks for a great anniversary.

Room Tip: The bay view rooms & are superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa rosa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We come here every spring and fall. This is our favorite hotel in Monterey and we wouldn't even think of staying anywhere else. From the moment we get up to our room until we regretfully have to leave, this place is like home to us. Really, I'd rather tell you it's terrible so that I never have to worry about getting our special room. Stay away, please.

Room Tip: No, I won't tell you because I want it all to myself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank youdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOM-ManagerResponse, Director of Sales at Spindrift Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We are so pleased to know that you had another perfect stay! Thank you for writing the kind review even though you'd really rather keep the secrect of the Spindrift Inn to yourself!! Come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,487 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
2.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
2.6 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spindrift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Inn

Property: Spindrift Inn
Address: 652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#3 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cannery Row, directly on the beach, Spindrift Inn offers an atmosphere of romance, elegance and gracious hospitality. The Inn's distinctive two-story lobby, with its hand-tiled floors, Oriental carpets, charming antiques, original art, and wood-burning fireplace, invites quiet conversation or private reflection. The 45 comfortable, luxurious rooms-half with breathtaking ocean views-are uniquely decorated and include wood-burning fireplaces, down comforters, feather beds, honor bars, TVs, CD & DVD players, wireless internet connection, marble baths and window seats or private balconies. Complimentary silver-tray continental breakfast is served in-room, & an afternoon wine and cheese reception is held daily. Valet parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Spindrift Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing