We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking for romance? Stay here!”
Review of Spindrift Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Spindrift Inn
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We had a wonderful two-night stay at Spindrift Inn in early August, and it couldn't have been nicer.

Don't be intimidated when you pull up with all the traffic - nice valet service. Check-in also took a bit long, but the wine and appetizers they serve in the afternoon certainly make the wait pleasant.

When we checked into our room, it was odd because the bed and furniture were covered with sheets. We thought they might be like this because of the fireplace and to keep the smokey smell off them. We cheerfully pulled them off, finished setting up the room and relaxed. After a romantic evening in front of the fireplace, we were well rested the next day for our excursion down 17-mile drive and exploring Carmel and Point Lobos State Reserve.

Well, when we returned there was a hand-written apology note for the state of the room the night before and free bottle of wine! That the room wasn't perfect didn't bother us in the least, but the acknowledgement (and free wine) really impressed.

Of course, great location, lots of nice dinner locations nearby, and great rooftop seating area as well.

Not sure when we'll return, but lots of great memories of the Spindrift Inn!

Room Tip: Get a room with a fireplace. Just make sure to read the instructions on how to use it - our neighbor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soccerdad4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,000)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,014 - 1,020 of 2,000 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel is quite unusual - I suppose it can be described as a "boutique" hotel. The room was very comfortable and the staff was excellent. The wine and cheese session was great and it gave us the opportunity to meet other guests and some of the hotel staff. We had a room on the Cannery Row side and noise from the bar across the street did disturb our sleep. Splurge and get a bay-side room if you can.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBandLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We booked Spindrift as one of the less expensive stays on our trip down Highway 1 and came away feeling it was just about the best place we stayed!
Very warm welcome, delightful room where we enjoyed the log fire, real family feel to the wine and cheese interlude, and leaving was like saying goodbye to the family!
If you are looking for a stylish, romantic, and not excessively expensive stay then we would highly recommend this Inn.
Thanks to all the team for welcoming us so warmly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 575Michael575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I extended our trip to California after leaving San Fancisco and traveled to Monterey with a stay at the Spindrift Inn. It was such a wonderful choice, the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much to ask. The room was great with a cozy feel to it almost as if we were at home. Location, location, location...Cannery Row was close to everything and finally, the continental breakfast served to your room and afternoon wine and cheese tasting was absolutely a wonderful thing. A definite place to stay again if I get to Monterey!

Room Tip: We stayed at a corner room, very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret53518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night on our way to San Francisco. We were greeted by a porter who took our luggage and for $15, parked the car. The hotel is absolutely enchanting with a Victorian theme. The staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel room was beautiful with a fireplace and a Victorian motif. We had a view of Cannery Row and enjoyed people watching. I gave this place five stars because of the breakfast that was included. We actually ordered our breakfast the night before and it was delivered in the morning as requested.

Room Tip: Always know what you want first...than ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coolhandluke13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Just checked out of Spindrift Inn. Amazing property. Had a King corner suite, with glass on the corners with a window seat to look out over the ocean. Room 401. The windows open on all sides. Stunning view, except for the radio tower that is right outside the left side windows. Just pull the drape on that side. No issues. Canopy bed, real wood fireplace, All the staff, from the valet ($21.00per day to park..ouch), to the checkin desk, the gal that brings breakfast directly to your room each morning....all top notch. Probably the most pleasant people I have ever encountered at a hotel. Located right on Cannery Row. Touristy. Would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 417CarolC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I can re-iterate the good things said about the hotel, stayed for 6 days in a lovely appointed corner room facing cannery row towards the Aqaurium. Great Hotel location, breakfast tray was also welcome as was the free wifi, although it was a bit hit & miss sometimes with the connection. The wood burning fire was a nice feature. Staff were super polite and always cheery

Only downside to the room & Hotel was the noise in the mornings from the delivery trucks reversing and collection of rubbish on Cannery row. We did not hear any disturbance from people walking around outside though. MArked the sleep quality down for this reason anly. Bed was super comfy. Thought it was very very funny when the doorman/valet asked us on our last day if we were just checking in.

Room Tip: Sea facing room recommended,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonAngie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,638 reviews
1.0 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,492 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
2.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spindrift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Inn

Address: 652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#3 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $210 - $494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cannery Row, directly on the beach, Spindrift Inn offers an atmosphere of romance, elegance and gracious hospitality. The Inn's distinctive two-story lobby, with its hand-tiled floors, Oriental carpets, charming antiques, original art, and wood-burning fireplace, invites quiet conversation or private reflection. The 45 comfortable, luxurious rooms-half with breathtaking ocean views-are uniquely decorated and include wood-burning fireplaces, down comforters, feather beds, honor bars, TVs, CD & DVD players, wireless internet connection, marble baths and window seats or private balconies. Complimentary silver-tray continental breakfast is served in-room, & an afternoon wine and cheese reception is held daily. Valet parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Spindrift Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing