We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another wonderful stay!!!!”
Review of Spindrift Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Spindrift Inn
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Merced, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“another wonderful stay!!!!”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

we have been staying at this hotel for at least 15 years and we never get tired of it! We had a corner ocean view king this time and, as usual, we loved it! Everyone at this hotel goes out of their way to make you feel comfortable and will "bend over backwards" to meet your needs. The wine and cheese afternoon reception is wonderful and very relaxing. The breakfast is great especially since it is delivered to your room. We loved that we didn't have to be showered and dressed to go out for our breakfast. We try to stay here to relax and unwind at least twice a year and we've never been disappointed. VERY romantic and falling asleep to the sound of the waves breaking on the beach below is simply "heaven"! We also had one of the best meals we've ever eaten in Monterey or Carmel at "The Chart House" which is within walking distance of the hotel! The halibut and sea bass were both wonderful, the restaurant is very nice and the service was impeccable!!

Room Tip: corner ocean view kings are the best!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,464
    343
    91
    42
    26
See reviews for
190
1,386
48
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (633)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Probably the best that we have stayed in, excellent reception staff. Room was fab ( we got the sauna ). Silver tray breakfast was superb and all set in an idyillic location. Top marks all round.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacq1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I don't usually pay this much to stay somewhere when traveling, but my boyfriend (now fiance after our stay) and I wanted to take a romantic trip & spoil ourselves a little bit. Oh my goodness did we get everything we wanted and more! I could have jumped down from my balcony and land directly on the beach! The room instantly conveyed a feeling of relaxation and romance. The valets, housekeeping, & front desk staff were quick to help and always wanted to be sure we were having the best time. We stayed two nights, but I could have stayed a month! I loved that the breakfast was brought to our room at the time we wanted and we were able to pick what we wanted. The bed was so amazingly comfortable! The added convenience of being able to book an aquarium package and then walk to the aquarium was wonderful! This place had everything I could have wanted!

Room Tip: I don't know that there's a bad room here. All of the ocean view rooms have a full ocean vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aledo, TX
Level Contributor
274 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

This is a well worn older hotel with a lot of character and no A/C. The staff is welcoming with afternoon cocktails and continental breakfast included. The ocean views are nice .

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aledo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

In a world of chain hotels that you can recognize from half a mile away by their signs, this is a gem. We stayed here twenty-five years ago on our honeymoon and loved the setting (Monterey), the room (hardwood floors and a window seat), and the bed (a great down duvet that forever changed my view of comfort). The staff is wonderful and inviting. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanskooten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for just one night in early July. Wish we had more time! It was elegant! Breakfast delivered to our room on a silver tray. Our room had a balcony overlooking Cannery Row, fireplace, comfy king bed, refrig, Keurig--all the conveniences needed for travel. Convenient location, never needed to take the car out. Staff was warm and welcoming, especially the "welcome home" greeting. Wine and cheese welcome added a special touch! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank labab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Oaks, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

On a recent motorcycle trip up the Pacific Coast Highway in California, my wife and I decided to look up a beautiful little Inn we stayed at almost 30 years ago. We were pleasantly surprised to find it much the same as we had remembered. The cozy room with the wood burning fireplace, the antiques, the European down comforter on the bed.........exactly as we remembered! The entire staff seemed to take a genuine interest in making our stay there perfect. The valet parking guys couldn't ride the motorcycles up to the parking garage, but they ran all the way there to lead us to the right place! The "Strawberries Monterey" were gone but a very nice breakfast was delivered just as ordered to our room. Our daughter and her Fiance' stayed in the same room we stayed in 30 years ago, so that was kind of fun. The only disappointment was not being able to enjoy a nice cigar up on their roof top lounging area, taking in a beautiful view of Monterey Bay. No worries though as there was a nice park a very short walk from there. The Inn is right on Cannery Row with lots of things to enjoy. We would definately go back again!

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking Cannery Row are less expensive than the rooms overlooking the bay (as most wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,596 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 55 in Monterey
2,306 reviews
2.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.0 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spindrift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Inn

Property: Spindrift Inn
Address: 652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#3 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cannery Row, directly on the beach, Spindrift Inn offers an atmosphere of romance, elegance and gracious hospitality. The Inn's distinctive two-story lobby, with its hand-tiled floors, Oriental carpets, charming antiques, original art, and wood-burning fireplace, invites quiet conversation or private reflection. The 45 comfortable, luxurious rooms-half with breathtaking ocean views-are uniquely decorated and include wood-burning fireplaces, down comforters, feather beds, honor bars, TVs, CD & DVD players, wireless internet connection, marble baths and window seats or private balconies. Complimentary silver-tray continental breakfast is served in-room, & an afternoon wine and cheese reception is held daily. Valet parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spindrift Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing