We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Central for everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pacific

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Pacific
Ranked #22 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Central for everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed for two nights and as previously stated, the staff were helpful and rooms clean and spacious. Agree that it could do with some updating, however the continental breakfast included in the rate was more than adequate. Situated on the Monterey Historic Walk, and central for all Monterey, except Cannery Row/Aquarium which is a short car drive away.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road may be quieter and not have a high wall around the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    411
    201
    86
    52
See reviews for
280
512
27
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 7 nights whilst attending a conference near by. Arrived around 11pm after a 20 hour journey and was grated by name by a very friendly member of staff. Have a very large room to the rear of the hotel containing a large bed, sofa, 2 chairs, microwave, fridge (came in very handy), dining table + 2 chairs, open fire and a balcony with two chairs.

The bathroom was large ad spacious with both a shower and bath tub. Whilst the room has no air conditioning it stayed at a very comfortable temperature. On the first morning I was disturbed by noise from outside my room due to staff moving trolleys around though this was after 10am so you can't really complain.

Only took breakfast in the hotel one morning and did find the selection and available seating limited.

The location is very convenient for the conference centre (literally across the street), fisherman's wharf (5mins walk) and many near by bars and restaurants. It is a pleasant 30 minute walk to Cannery Row and a little further to the Aquarium which is well worth a visit, there is also a trolley bus which stops outside the hotel which will take you to Cannery Row and the Aquarium.

On the next junction is a friendly deli very useful for stocking up on water, beer etc.

All the staff I spoke with where very friendly, approachable and knowledgeable.

The hotel is a short taxi ride to Monterey Regional Airport costing approximately $20

I would stay at this hotel again if I'm ever in Monterey.

Room Tip: Room towards the rear away from Pacific Street if you want a quieter stay, though towards the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul-H8465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This is a nice hotel. We were looking for a very last minute hotel in the Montery Bay or Carmel by the Sea area. Most things were booked or outrageously priced. We happened to find this one online and it was perfect for the price and included a light breakfast. There is a parking garage fee however. The hotel had a boutique feel and the staff was fantastic! Our family of 4 stayed in a junior suite. It was big and comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to others!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NashVegas_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stayed for two nights, the staff were very welcoming, the rooms spacious and clean but the overall feel is that the hotel needs a good overhaul. The rooms private patio was looking at two walls. Communal areas could be cleaner.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hulme2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Our one-bedroom suite was an L-shaped room with a queen bed, 2 love seats, a small table, a sink, mini-fridge, microwave and coffee pot. Had a bathroom too. Decor is quaint/simple. Short walk to restaurants. Cannot walk to the MB Aquarium from here. Traffic noise was noticeable but we slept well. Bigger noise was in the room above us - walls are not too thick.

Breakfast was packaged muffins, cereal, bagel, bread, hard-boiled eggs, fresh fruit.

Room Tip: You may want to ask for a room that doesn't face Pacific Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJTKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The Hotel Pacific in Monterey, CA is in a good location; it’s a quick walk to a grocery, Starbucks, and, of course, the piers & waterfront. The hotel is nicely appointed with fountains in courtyards. In general, things are a bit thread-bare and faded, but not overly so, and everything is clean.

One thing they hit you with at check-in time is that the parking fee is $20 a night. That was an unexpected shocker. It seems totally unwarranted to charge city parking prices as we later found plenty of parking around town, and even a close-by garage advertising $3 a night parking.

The room, a Premier Junior suite, was nice and big, with a tall vaulted ceiling, outside porch (w/ small table & 2 chairs), king-sized bed, both a shower & tub (but water pressure was just okay), large flat-screen TV (which I never used), couch, big chairs, and a small closet with a small safe. The room had a nice kitchenette w/ a table, chairs, microwave, and a small refrigerator. One nice surprise was the fact that there were plenty of outlets for charging our numerous electronics. They also had free Wi-Fi. Breakfast was minimal with hard-boiled eggs and cellophane-wrapped muffins – with so many great breakfast places around Monterey (e.g. "Lou Lou’s Griddle in the Middle") and nearby Pacific Grove (e.g. "Toastie’s Cafe"), we never were tempted by the hotel’s fare, so I can’t tell how it tasted.

Overall, while there were many positives about the Hotel Pacific, we’ll likely look elsewhere when we return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lectus_prandiumque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Only stopped one night here but would have loved to have stayed longer. We had two junior suites and it was so good. They had thought of everything you could want and it was so clean, so comfy and so homely you just wanted to stay and stay. Ok so it's a little old fashioned and it's not in the centre of town but there's a free trolley bus right outside, undercover car parking, a free jacuzzi pool and lovely little courtyards as well as your own balcony to sit out on. We would go there any time. It was better than a lot of four and five star places we have stayed in. The buffet breakfast was more than adequate. The room service (from schooners restaurant) was superb and all the staff we met so helpful and knowledgable it was a pleasure to ask them for stuff.

Room Tip: As far as we can tell any rooms are good but ours were at the back. It's possible there's ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pickyperson910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.6 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,487 reviews
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#15 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 stars 1,107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pacific

Property: Hotel Pacific
Address: 300 Pacific St, Monterey, CA 93940-2418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Pacific 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Pacific is a boutique hotel conveniently located in downtown Monterey, California just steps away from the Monterey Conference Center and walking distance to the Monterey Bay Aquarium, Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row and other top area attractions. Hotel Pacific offers luxury all-suite accommodations with fireplaces, free wireless internet access, patios and balconies, microwave ovens, mini-refrigerators, complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon refreshments, luxurious feather bedding, and unique vacation packages. Hotel Pacific is the perfect hotel choice for your next romantic weekend getaway, vacation or business trip to the Monterey Bay area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing