We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret in Monterey”
Review of Monterey Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Bay Inn
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Celebrated our anniversary by staying July 18. I would highly recommend this hotel. We were in room 408 with a terrific view of the harbor, beach and bay. Loved the decor, the in-room coffee maker and beautiful bath with robes. They surprised us with a bottle of wine and box of chocolates for our anniversary. After parking in the hotel garage yesterday we never used the car. Walked to shopping and to a great dinner at the Sardine Factory. This morning they delivered coffee, muffins, bagels, fruit, juice that were all wonderful. A seagull must know the routine as he appears on our balcony at the same time as the arrival of our breakfast. He waited until we feed him and even talked to us. Then a few pigeons joined him. It made our morning. Already trying to figure out when we can go back. Wonderful hotel, great service, and location.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronan383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,668)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,225 - 1,231 of 1,668 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2010

If you want the ambiance and views of Monterey Bay but don't need the restaurants, bars and exercise facilities this is the hotel for you. Monterey Bay Inn is about a half block from the Monterey Bay Plaza - a full-service 5-star hotel with a nice outdoor restaurant.

The location is on the water but at the end of Cannery Row so aside from the wildlife right outside your window it is quiet and as close to the bay as you can get.

The rooms are recently renovated, clean and quiet. The bed was new and the bedding first class. The TV is not flat screen but you get a wide selection of channels.

Parking is extra as is internet.

We had a bay view room with fireplace and it was very large and the gas fireplace was a nice touch.

The continental breakfast delivered to the room every morning was a real treat.

With the Monterey Bay Inn you get a very comfortable room far enough away from the crowds to be quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sucheslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

This hotel is not bad, but it's worse than we expected given the price it took from TripAdvisor. It is quite far from the city centre, the people at the desk are quite rude, and the building is ugly. Furthermore, breakfast was very poor. We also had to pay for parking and internet connection.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LightMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

We got an ocean view on 4th floor, what a view! Room is large, clean, and bathroom is large and upscale. Bed was very comfortable. Close to the pier and aquarium. Weather was the only negative for this trip.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freaky88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

stayed here in august 09 for 2 nights as part of our san diego to san fran road trip
anyone who has given this place 5/5 has pretty much covered everything that needs to be said so i will not add any more.
actually turned up and managed to get a rate of $150 a night and even haggle for a good room. was midweek and the place was quiet tho.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

We stayed two nights at the Monterey Bay Inn and thoroughly enjoyed it! It's just a few minutes walk to the bars and restaurants on Cannery row, so a perfect location. The room we had was really spacious with a lovely balcony, and the bed was so comfortable. The bathroom was spotless,( with robes) and again very large. The complimentary breakfast is delivered to your room each morning, coffee, tea ,bagel, yoghurt , fruit, hard boiled egg etc....delicious! A really great hotel.
We parked our car safely on the strreet for free just around the corner from the hotel, why pay if you don't need to?

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coxo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Location was great-at the opposite end of the action on Cannery Row. We overlooked a park and had a view of the bay. Enjoyed a leisurely stroll past the harbor seals over to dinner on the wharf. The room was very nice, the bathroom was exquisite-although the marble everywhere made it a bit chilly. The desk clerk made dinner reservations for us and got us a window seat.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KABVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,026 reviews
0.7 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,579 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Inn

Address: 242 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Monterey
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#4 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#8 Green Hotel in Monterey
#11 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $203 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The inviting Monterey Bay Inn sits high above the tides at its magnificent site on the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary. Your private balcony provides a ringside seat to the ever-changing show-the delightful wonders of one of the world's richest marine regions. The Inn's 49 rooms, most with stunning ocean views, include a balcony, mini-refrigerator, king size bed, flat screen TV, Keurig coffee maker, CD and DVD player, usb charging ports, bath robes, hair dryer, and wireless internet connection. Two outdoor hot tubs, and a fire pit on the terrace complement your stay, as does the convenient parking. Complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your room each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Monterey Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing