We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Relaxing Stay in Monterey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Monterey Bay Inn
Ranked #5 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Newton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing Stay in Monterey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We stayed in an oceanfront room (complete with binoculars to watch the charming sea otters) and it was lovely. The location was excellent as well. The scenic walkway is right outside the main door which made it easy to walk to the piers without worrying about traffic. The front desk staff and housekeeping staff were all very friendly; they even make it easy to purchase two pillows from the hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BrideFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    929
    398
    100
    35
    21
See reviews for
218
951
49
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Staying here at moment leave 7/28 location good, room clean, TV a nightmare to use and breakfast is poor. I'd say this hotel is good for $200 a night only because of the location but don't be duped as I was about the online description because it certainly isn't a $300-400 a night hotel, it's a cleaned up Holiday Inn

Room Tip: Don't pay anymore than $200 a night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 386jon_n386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Monterey Bay Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that you did not find value in your recent stay with us, as we always try to create value for our guests with our Cannery Row location, ocean views, accommodations, amenities and services we offer. Being a 49 room boutique property we do offer a more intimate environment for those guests seeking personalized and attentive service. Pricing does reflect demand and seasonality on the Monterey Peninsula. Other months of the year we do offer many different pricing options, as we want everyone to be able to experience the Monterey Bay Inn.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in July. The location was nice - on the beach- but be aware that it is at the end of Cannery Row so it is a bit of a walk to restaurants and shopping. Our room faced the water and had a nice balcony and we could see Fisherman's Wharf. The room was clean and well appointed. The room didn't have air conditioning and it was unseasonably hot but there was a large portable fan in the room. We left the patio door open one night and could hear the waves which was nice. Breakfast was included everyday and it was nice. The desk staff were very helpful. They had 2 hot tubs which we didn't use but looked nice. Be aware that the parking lot is tight so it could be a challenge if you have a truck or suv. They had cold lemon water in the lobby all the time and cookies in the afternoon. They also had a book in the lobby with menus from all the local restaurants. We would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

We were booked into this hotel by our initial hotel that had a booking issue. The location is great and there are very good restaurants locally. The staff were helpful and friendly unfortunately the lift was out of action when we arrived but fixed in the morning. The sounds of seals outside was a novelty. Downside was that they decided to some maintenence at 8am on a Saturday morning which involved drilling and banging which is not how you wish to be awoken on your holiday. The room was pleasant and served our needs and the breakfast is served in your room which is nice.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Andre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Elevator was out for our entire stay
The hotel is over priced.
Our room was 400 dollars a night plus tax. Not a good value for a glorified motel. The room was dark. The location is very good. Services are very limited. No real attempt was made to help with the luggage or significant apology for the inconvenience.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Monterey Bay Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
We are all disappointed to read your review regarding your recent stay at the Monterey Bay Inn. Our elevator was put out of order while an emergency repair had to be performed. Our management and staff did make calls to all of our upcoming guests to inform them that our elevator would be under repair and offered to find them additional accommodations should they wish. Additionally, during the elevator repair we did staff more bellman to assist our guests with their luggage to and from their guest rooms. I apologize that we were unable to reach you directly and that the voice mail our manager left was not received prior to your arrival.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

The hotel is located right on Cannery Row, within walking distance of the Aquarium and lots of local dining. We had a beautiful large room overlooking the bay that was almost spa-like in luxury. The staff were pleasant and helpful, including telling us about a deal offered by the Aquarium that allows local guests to purchase tickets at their hotel. Tickets purchased at the hotel were regular price, but allowed us to enter the Aquarium for two consecutive days rather than just one. Plus we didn't have to wait in line to buy tickets - we just went right in. I wouldn't have known about this great deal except for the staff at Monterey Bay Inn. Freat hotel, fantastic value, and a wonderful experience all in all.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Petunia189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Stayed 2 nights as part of our trip up the west coast. Very friendly welcome and ease of parking was a great help. Room was excellent; large and comfortable. Best nights sleep I've had all holiday. We had a room with a view over the bay which was nice a quiet apart from the seals barking! Close to all main attractions of Monterey and some excellent restaurants. Only downside was the elevator wasn't working.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with Bay view. Much quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,845 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
1.2 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Inn

Property: Monterey Bay Inn
Address: 242 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#4 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#4 Family Hotel in Monterey
#8 Green Hotel in Monterey
#11 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The inviting Monterey Bay Inn sits high above the tides at its magnificent site on the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary. Your private balcony provides a ringside seat to the ever-changing show-the delightful wonders of one of the world's richest marine regions. The Inn's 49 rooms, most with stunning ocean views, include a balcony, mini-refrigerator, king size bed, remote control TV, coffee maker, CD and DVD player, bath robes, hair dryer, and wireless internet connection. Two outdoor hot tubs, and a fire pit on the terrace compliment your stay, as does the convenient parking. Complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your room each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Monterey Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing