We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views, wonderful location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monterey Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Monterey Bay Inn
Ranked #5 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great views, wonderful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and could have stayed much longer, simply for the wildlife in the area- what a wonderful experience, sitting on the balcony with your breakfast (albeit a basic one) delivered by friendly staff and listening to and watching sea lions and sea- otters in the Bay... As far as our experience, it 'did what it said on the tin'!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    975
    415
    108
    36
    25
See reviews for
233
1,001
51
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed at the Monterey Bay Inn October 14-16 2013 while on our Honeymoon. Having arrived late (after local restaurants had closed) we were kindly advised to order from a local pizza place. The pizza was delicious and went well with the complimentary bottle of wine sent to our room (with a card signed by the staff) as a congratulations on our newly wedded'ness. The room exceeded expectations to say the least. Our room was an "Ocean View" room (not "Ocean front"). The view was amazing looking out over the bay...we fell asleep to the sound of sea lions. In the AM we woke to the complimentary breakfast (delivered to your room) and enjoyed the spacious room and very spacious bathroom...

We weren't overly impressed with Monterey the town, but loved our time spent at the Monterey Inn.

Thanks to the Staff.

Room Tip: Choose an Ocean View of Ocean Front room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miller-Neate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We have stayed at this Location Numerous Times over the last 10 years or so, NO Loyalty Program, or discounts for doing so. We were allowed to check in at 3 pm instead of 4, which allowed us to unpack and relax. On Our Most recent Visit, our "Ocean View Room" is Actually Partial Ocean View. That's How they Should List it As. Nice Views of Harbor and Partial Ocean, Comfortable Bedding, and Clean but for Mid week Price of $277+15 for parking for one night (10/23/13),and that was Online Booking with my AAA Card Discount! I Only Booked Because We were Celebrating Our 20th Anniversary, and wanted A Nice Place to stay.The Continental Breakfast they deliver to your Room, has Now got so "skimpy", you may as well go get Breakfast Elsewhere. They No longer Offer Bagels & Cream Cheese, Muffins or Toast, as in the Past. You basically get to pick, pastry, Fresh Fruit (no banana), Yogurt, Coffee & Orange Juice, and hard boiled egg. For the Price We Paid, We Expected more. Overall If you want to Dish out the Money, its A Very Nice Place to Stay. Only "Real" problem we had was Slow drains in Shower & Sink. We Would Definitely Stay here Again, Maybe for Special Occasions, but Breaking the Bank for 1 night, We may opt for another Hotel with More Reasonable rates.

Room Tip: Away From Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tcruzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We recently stayed here on a trip through Monterey. The hotel is located in a perfect location to all the sights and restaurants in Monterey. The rooms are spacious and very clean and ours had an awesome view of the bay. The room service delivered breakfast is a nice surprise.
Staff is very friendly and the courtesy cookies/fresh fruit at the front desk is a classy touch.
Although the patio view was great...if you sleep with the patio door open at night the sea lions down at the pier can be VERY loud and dont seem to go to sleep!
The second night we stayed there was a rather rowdy group in the room above us (4th floor) that was having a good time on their patio till early into the morning. They liked to stomp around too. This was just our bad luck.
I also question the $15 a night to park your car. Doesnt seem like a very busy area...or seem to be alot of traffic...seems like a cash grab to me.
Everything else was great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smythbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Ok so I understand many things cost extra in the us, but having paid nearly 250 dollars to stay here, I wasn't expecting that. I would have to pay $15 to park and then extra for basics like water in the room. The rooftop spa was great and the view and location too, but come on guys, be a little more generous!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jonners50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for one night in September. Check in was efficient and the room was spacious and well furnished with a large en suite bathroom. Hotel was well placed for a walk into Monterey and Fishermans Wharf as well as just a short walk to the famous Cannery Row where we spent the evening. A snack buffet breakfast was brought to the room in the morning. My only negative point was when I pulled the bedcover back expecting to see lovely ironed sheets I was disappointed to see poor quality bedding with sheets that either hadn't been ironed or not changed. The bed was also poorly made with sheets not tucked in the mattress.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley190737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

My husband and I bought the 2-day aquarium package, which included VIP passes. True to the hype, we did not have to stand in line. The location of the hotel was perfect for our visit--in middle between the aquarium and Fisherman's Wharf. We never had to move our car because we could walk everywhere that we wanted to go. I hadn't read all the reviews, so the in-room breakfast was a delightful surprise, as were the binoculars. Service was friendly and the room was clean. The only real (and minor) complaints are that towels need to be requested from the front desk for the hot tub and there is no place to put the used towels, and that some of the fixtures in our bathroom were worn. We enjoyed our stay, but if we are ever in the area again, I'll ask for an ocean view room instead of a harbor view room so that I can perhaps see dolphins from our veranda :-)

Green Features: Excellent, including several strategically placed wastebaskets for both waste and recycling.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XtremeGardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOM-ManagerResponse, General Manager at Monterey Bay Inn, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear XtremeGardener,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I’m so glad you enjoyed the location of the Monterey Bay Inn, the in-room breakfast, and the small touches that make our hotel unique. Thank you for your comments regarding a place for towels and fixtures that need updating. Comments such as these are vital, as it gives us a great opportunity to make improvements.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Monterey Bay Inn! Let’s book that ocean view room for you next time you visit, and we’ll all cross our fingers for you to see dolphins from our gorgeous ocean-view patios.

Regards,

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,925 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,141 reviews
0.7 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Inn

Property: Monterey Bay Inn
Address: 242 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#4 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#4 Family Hotel in Monterey
#8 Green Hotel in Monterey
#11 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The inviting Monterey Bay Inn sits high above the tides at its magnificent site on the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary. Your private balcony provides a ringside seat to the ever-changing show-the delightful wonders of one of the world's richest marine regions. The Inn's 49 rooms, most with stunning ocean views, include a balcony, mini-refrigerator, king size bed, remote control TV, coffee maker, CD and DVD player, bath robes, hair dryer, and wireless internet connection. Two outdoor hot tubs, and a fire pit on the terrace compliment your stay, as does the convenient parking. Complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your room each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Monterey Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing