We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mixed feelings about this place.....”
Review of Monterey Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Bay Inn
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My major issue with this hotel is that when we weren't in our room (the rooms are updated) I felt as though we were staying in a cheap motel. The value just wasn't there for me. I will most certainly never stay at the Monterey Bay Inn again. I'd definitely spend the extra couple of dollars and stay at the Plaza or Intercontinental. However, there are perks to this hotel which led us to book it to begin with. These perks include: they delivered us breakfast every morning, the staff were very kind and helpful, it is within walking distance to many of the area attractions and the rooms themselves are updated.

Room Tip: There is very little difference between ocean front and ocean view. Try to get a room on the 4th f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelissaGabriel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,667)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

674 - 680 of 1,667 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

A little expense one night was 300, and you cant check in until 4 and check out is 12....... but other then that the rooms are very big very nice the bed was very comfortable and the view is amazing..........

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjustinturbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Found this hotel on TripAdvisor reviews and could not have been happier with our stay. This was our first trip to the Monterey Bay/Carmel area and the central location of our hotel (halfway between Fisherman's Wharf and Cannary Row) put us steps from the action, but in a nice relaxed and restful location where no tourists would stop and hang out unless they were scuba divers using the beach and state park directly adjacent, or staying at the hotel.

The room itself was nicely updated, very clean, and had a beautiful balcony (we paid for that luxury but used it) with new and nicely maintained furniture. The bathroom was huge, with two large sinks, separate space for the toilette, and a shower with good pressure. I'm pretty picky about my mattress and pillows, but I slept incredibly well and comfortably.

Another great thing was to find that the hotel had 2 hot tubs - one on the second floor interior of the hotel, but the really awesome one on the 4th floor, overlooking the bay and the beach. The view was amazing, and it was quiet enough up there that we only had to share the space once during our 4 night stay. It was clean, warm, and I can't imagine a more beautiful view in all of Monterey, or Carmel (since it's so foggy there) for that matter. Having booked the trip to Monterey to enjoy a lot of hiking, walking, and outdoor activities, it was awesome to come back and soak for a bit, and we used the hot tub every day.

We booked an ocean front room and the view of the bay was tremendous - we could see all of the piers and clear over to the Santa Cruz mountains. We could hear and see birds and sea lions, as well as fishing ships at all hours (all hours, so keep this in mind if you're a light sleeper) but enjoyed the connection with the sights, sounds, and even smells of the ocean.

The breakfast was one of the things that tipped us over the edge in booking this hotel - it's just a simple continental breakfast menu (hard boiled eggs, croissants or muffins, yogurt, and fresh fruit) but it's delivered to your room at a time of your choosing. This made the experience feel extra luxurious and gave us a chance to get our coffee and food before we headed out for hiking each day.

Downside: Noise levels weren't an issue most of our stay, but the last night, our new neighbors had a very fussy baby and we could hear him waking up at all hours, I also think our movements in the room woke up the baby, so that was a bummer.
The hotel recommended restaurants didn't impress - we went to Massano and Santos on the naval pier per the recommendation of several of the front desk staff and had our worst dinner of the whole trip there (undercooked ravioli and overcooked salmon). Just use Yelp and you'll be fine.
Also, they ran out of the cookies really quickly and in the middle of the day; that was sad because they were extremely delicious and I wanted more.

Only other heads-up that will not be a surprise if you're booking already is that the price was steep for weekends, though this is understandable - we stayed largely during weeknights which made it affordable for us to stay in the ocean view rooms, which were incredible.

Room Tip: We asked for the highest-up room they'd give us - it's only 4 stories but they got us on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Nice. Clean. Comfortable bed. Good shower.

I was here for work and it was a pretty nice place. It was nicer than I expected.

I would probably stay here again if I were back up this way.

It's a really long walk to anywhere you would go. So you probably need a car. I wouldn't say it walkable to anything.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mqross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We just returned from a trip to California, which included a night at the Monterey Bay Inn. We loved this hotel. The room was very spacious and clean. The view was incredible. The complimentary breakfast delivered to our room was great. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueC996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Beautiful view to wake up to in the morning, our balcony overlooked the park and the Ocean. They provided binoculars so that you could watch the wildlife from your balcony. A very clean room with a beautiful bathroom. Breakfast was pre-ordered the night before and brought to your room in your selected time slot. Everything was within easy walking distance from this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a room with an Ocean view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 213Traveller87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The view was incredible. We overlooked a park and the ocean. We could hear the sea lions in the morning and saw a beautiful sunrise off our balcony. Everything is walkable so we parked the car and didn't need it until time to leave. The room was very nice and the bed very comfortable. We would definitely return to this hotel next time we do a coastal trip. In the evening they had fresh made cookies in the lobby and in the morning they deliver a continental breakfast to your room. You get to sit out on your balcony having a light breakfast enjoying the views - what a life!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HFTSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,025 reviews
0.7 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,576 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Inn

Address: 242 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Monterey
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#4 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#8 Green Hotel in Monterey
#11 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $209 - $475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The inviting Monterey Bay Inn sits high above the tides at its magnificent site on the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary. Your private balcony provides a ringside seat to the ever-changing show-the delightful wonders of one of the world's richest marine regions. The Inn's 49 rooms, most with stunning ocean views, include a balcony, mini-refrigerator, king size bed, flat screen TV, Keurig coffee maker, CD and DVD player, usb charging ports, bath robes, hair dryer, and wireless internet connection. Two outdoor hot tubs, and a fire pit on the terrace complement your stay, as does the convenient parking. Complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your room each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Monterey Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing