We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Monterey Bay Inn
Ranked #5 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

I had high expectations from the other reviews I had read and wasn't disappointed. We had a gorgeous room, very airy and spacious which looked out over to the harbour. We could be in bed and see the sea, it was perfect. The bed was huge and the most comfortable yet ( this was hotel no 5 on our road trip.) We would have liked another day in Monterey just for the room!
The staff were friendly, the carpark is right by the hotel, although there is a charge.
Just a shame there was no sun!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pinnerpearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    929
    398
    100
    35
    21
See reviews for
218
951
49
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ashland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We recently stayed here with our young family on a spring break vacation. The rooms are older but very clean. The beds are comfortable. It a safe and quiet area. .We stayed pool side next to the hot tub.. It was a dream come true.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the lower floor courtyard or pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aaron g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee Mission, Kansas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 days at this lovely hotel for her birthday. It is charming, romantic and very scenic. We were in room 320 with spectacular views of the bay. Very quiet and inviting. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for room 220 or 320 (corner rooms with excellent views)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DocJerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
137 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This hotel is nice and quaint right on the water in Monterey. We had a room on the second floor facing part street and part harbor. I would suggest asking for a room on a higher floor and closer to the ocean so you can get away from the street noise and fully enjoy the water. The room was nice, the bed very comfortable and the bathroom nice and spacious. I did notice there was no fan in the actual small bathroom where the toilet was which I found a bit odd. Especially when you vacation with a man - you notice when you need these more than ever. We slept with our balcony doors open to hear the sounds of the water, sea otters and other wildlife and unfortunetly since our room was literally above the entrance we got to hear the people leaving for the airport at 3am talking SO LOUD about the car, the flight and everything else possible.

Check in was smooth but they do charge for parking which I find very interesting. Where else would we park the car? In the ocean? It should be part of a hotel stay to include a car - I feel that should just be part of the room prices. The continental breakfast is just that. Fresh fruit, boiled eggs, stale pasteries and coffee. We went down to the bakery towards canary row and got real coffees and better pasteries.

I would stay here again if I was coming to Monterey but honestly the city has nothing to offer me other than the bacon butter at Restaurant 1833 (which you must go to).

Room Tip: Pick a higher floor and asked to be closer to the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shlinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California, Usa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The hotel is nice with a great location overlooking the beach and cove. Get a balcony room with a view, not inexpensive, but worth the view! The hotel is a non-smoking facility, which they don't mention on their website, and will charge you $125 if they catch you smoking in a room or on the balcony. The continental breakfast is delivered to your room, which is nice, and you can eat it on your balcony.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room overlooking the ocean (higher room numbers are better), it's not inexpensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel was just perfect for a trip to Monterey. We had a sea view room with a balcony. It comes with binoculars which were useful in watching the dolphins, seals, otters and even a whale! Great to just chill out on the balcony watching all the marine life, right from your hotel room! Jacuzzi on the roof terrace was great too. Close walk to the centre of Monterey tourist attractions. You have to pay to park at this hotel but it's worth it. Hotel rooms were spacious, bathrooms spacious and luxurious. An all round great place to stay. Worth spending the extra money for a sea view balcony room, trust me! I didn't even need to go on a boat trip to see a whale! It 'jumped up' right outside our balcony ! Amazing!

Room Tip: You need to spend the extra money and book a sea view room with a balcony, to watch the marine life...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hotel was in a good location but it all felt a bit depressing. Although having booked an ocean view room we were given a side view! With 2 children in tow we were too tired to argue. Breakfast not good - coffee, juice, boiled eggs - nothing else, not even bread or butter. Would not have wanted to stay for more than 2 nights. Much preferred the town of Carmel a few miles away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GLB103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,845 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
1.2 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Inn

Property: Monterey Bay Inn
Address: 242 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#4 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#4 Family Hotel in Monterey
#8 Green Hotel in Monterey
#11 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The inviting Monterey Bay Inn sits high above the tides at its magnificent site on the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary. Your private balcony provides a ringside seat to the ever-changing show-the delightful wonders of one of the world's richest marine regions. The Inn's 49 rooms, most with stunning ocean views, include a balcony, mini-refrigerator, king size bed, remote control TV, coffee maker, CD and DVD player, bath robes, hair dryer, and wireless internet connection. Two outdoor hot tubs, and a fire pit on the terrace compliment your stay, as does the convenient parking. Complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your room each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Monterey Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing