We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Great Views, Non-Smoking Facility”
Review of Monterey Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monterey Bay Inn
Ranked #5 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Martinez, California, Usa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Great Views, Non-Smoking Facility”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The hotel is nice with a great location overlooking the beach and cove. Get a balcony room with a view, not inexpensive, but worth the view! The hotel is a non-smoking facility, which they don't mention on their website, and will charge you $125 if they catch you smoking in a room or on the balcony. The continental breakfast is delivered to your room, which is nice, and you can eat it on your balcony.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room overlooking the ocean (higher room numbers are better), it's not inexpensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    994
    429
    110
    38
    25
See reviews for
243
1,021
52
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel was just perfect for a trip to Monterey. We had a sea view room with a balcony. It comes with binoculars which were useful in watching the dolphins, seals, otters and even a whale! Great to just chill out on the balcony watching all the marine life, right from your hotel room! Jacuzzi on the roof terrace was great too. Close walk to the centre of Monterey tourist attractions. You have to pay to park at this hotel but it's worth it. Hotel rooms were spacious, bathrooms spacious and luxurious. An all round great place to stay. Worth spending the extra money for a sea view balcony room, trust me! I didn't even need to go on a boat trip to see a whale! It 'jumped up' right outside our balcony ! Amazing!

Room Tip: You need to spend the extra money and book a sea view room with a balcony, to watch the marine life...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hotel was in a good location but it all felt a bit depressing. Although having booked an ocean view room we were given a side view! With 2 children in tow we were too tired to argue. Breakfast not good - coffee, juice, boiled eggs - nothing else, not even bread or butter. Would not have wanted to stay for more than 2 nights. Much preferred the town of Carmel a few miles away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLB103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We loved this hotel..such a great place to stay! Ocean views are beautiful. We will stay here again and have already recommended to friends. Continental breakfast was delivered to the room. Fresh fruit, pastries, hard boiled egg, yogurt.

Room Tip: Corner suites and suites closer to the ocean are best. The 4th floor jacuzzi has a great view as wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krcmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is a good base for exploring the Monterey area, close enough to the Aquarium to walk (if you don't mind a 15-20 minute walk), but not too much in the thick of things. Staff is very pleasant, rooms are a good size, bathrooms are particularly spacious and appreciated the Aveda soaps and shampoos.

My only complaint is the quality of the sofabed, which is the consistency and thickness of a slice of wonder bread. My daughter and I are sharing an "Ocean View" room, with a king and sofabed; I took the sofabed as it's closest to the window and I like the sound of the ocean. But I tossed and turned all night, aching from the lack of support, and the squeaking of the springs just added to the disruption of the night.

We also hear our neighbors walking overhead, and if you were unfortunate enough to have late night or early morning neighbors it could be tough. So far, fingers crossed, they seem to be bedding down when we do.

I would love to have an Ocean Front room, but they were all taken. Ocean View is okay - if you realize that you're looking at the parking lot and the street as much as a corner of the bay. But it's not bad. You do get some street noise - there was some kind of street cleaner machine I heard this morning, but again, not terrible. And the free parking is a boon.

Continental breakfast isn't too bad - it's nice that it's delivered to the room. Fresh fruit, pastries, hard boiled egg, yogurt. There's a fridge and sparsely provided mini-bar. Again, it's perfectly fine. For the price ($240) this seems a reasonable deal for the area, in the midst of summer. Oh, one thing, I didn't opt for the Aquarium package, as I figured that added $175 to our three night stay. Instead, after booking the room, I accepted a separate hotel deal that gave me two-day tickets for two people for $75. Loved seeing the jellyfish and the seahorses! Had a great lunch at the restaurant there too, with a window seat. Had a very mediocre meal at the Chart House, and a very nice one at Bistro Moulin. I'd recommend this place, though perhaps next time book ahead to get the Ocean View and try for a top floor. Only downside for us is lack of a fitness center.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meerkat_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

From the moment we arrived to the minute we left this place and its people oozed class. If I was to relive my recent trip along the PCH we would spend more time at this hotel. Every member of staff was polite and helpful. Rooms were very well presented and offered fantastic comfort. Location and views are outstanding and we are so grateful we have had this experience. Any future trips we make to California will be built around this place just hope we get that opportunity.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

It took a little negotiating to get the rooms we wanted. Originally we were assigned rooms with side views. We were able to upgrade one room to an ocean view. Rooms were nice and so was staff. Able to walk to everything in Monterrey.

Room Tip: You want the back of the hotel with a full ocean view, not a side view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellarae3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
1,965 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 55 in Monterey
2,294 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
0.7 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Inn

Property: Monterey Bay Inn
Address: 242 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#4 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#4 Family Hotel in Monterey
#8 Green Hotel in Monterey
#11 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The inviting Monterey Bay Inn sits high above the tides at its magnificent site on the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary. Your private balcony provides a ringside seat to the ever-changing show-the delightful wonders of one of the world's richest marine regions. The Inn's 49 rooms, most with stunning ocean views, include a balcony, mini-refrigerator, king size bed, flat screen TV, Keurig coffee maker, CD and DVD player, usb charging ports, bath robes, hair dryer, and wireless internet connection. Two outdoor hot tubs, and a fire pit on the terrace complement your stay, as does the convenient parking. Complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your room each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Monterey Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing