We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!”
Review of Monterey Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monterey Bay Inn
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Felt so comfortable! The room was clean, bed comfortable, huge HD TV, bathroom is beautiful, service is great, front desk personnel were extremely friendly, helpful and informative! The location is great! We experienced just couple of negatives. 1) We stayed for three night and everything was absolutely great except for the last night which was a Saturday night. The walls are thin & we had very noisy neighbors that were up late & then we were awakened during the night hearing the neighbors talking, walking around, flushing the toilet. Yes unfortunately it sounded more like they were stomping...... not walking. I could even hear them opening & closing their sliding bathroom door. 2) It would be nice if the parking was included in the room rate. It should be a courtesy to your guest.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a QUIET room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JUDYEDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,638)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

721 - 727 of 1,640 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last October and decided to return this April, we made the right decision . All things are still the same,great views close to Cannery Row, Monterey Bay Aquarium. When we were checking out to go whale watching a member of the staff recommended we leave the car at hotel parking garage and walk to the Fishermans Wharf. This saved us the 10 dollar parking fee at The wharf. Even said we could come back to hotel to freshen up before we continued on our trip. Thank you Monterey Bay Inn.we will return for a third time.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was one of the best stays we have ever had. The ocean-front room was just as portrayed at the hotel website. Wonderful views, clean, classy room and ammenities. Just wonderful. The staff was pleasant and very helpful. In-room breakfast is included and was the perfect start to the day. Simple coffee, fruit, pasteries, etc. but let us get on with our day without having to find a restaurant, go eat, lose time and so forth. If there was rating higher than excellent, I would have checked that box. We highly recommend the Monterey Bay Inn.

Room Tip: Ocean front room recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

My wife and 17 year old son stayed here in April 2013 - in a room with a king sized bed and a pull out sofa bed.

There was one small negative, and that was the comfort of the pull out sofa bed. It was fine for my son who is small for a 17 year old, but if it were me on it, then it wouldn't have been that comfortable. I should add, it was your typical sofa bed matress, so no fault of the hotel.

The hotel was quite casual, with parking underneath the hotel itself and a small reception area. We only stayed one night but it felt very private and the staff didn't bother us at all.

There was also complimentary cookies which you could take up to your room.

The room itself was very modern and had an amazing ensuite with it's own enclosed WC. The shower was huge and the vanity also had a double basin. This was by far the best hotel we stayed in during our 5 week visit to the USA.

Everything was very classy - making it a wonderful place to stay.

The balcony actually overhangs the ocean, so you've got wonderful views of the water and we could see dolphins and otters right in front of us - magical!

There's also a nice courtyard which you could sit in at night and it had a central fire. It was too cold for my wife but it would have been really nice to enjoy that area and have a drink or two if the weather was a bit warmer.

Also, the sun rise is fantastic if you're up that early. We got some terrific photo's of the sun rising over the bay.

I'd also recommend anyone visiting take a quick drive down to Carmel by the Sea, which was very close and beautiful to see.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Highly recommend. I will admit that this hotel is not much to look at from the outside, but the rooms are beautifully appointed, with lovely views. The hotel staff is friendly and professional. Beds are comfortable. Large, lovely bathrooms. Easy walking distance to cannery rw & Fisherman's wharf. The area's walking/ bike path, which goes for quite a longways in either direction, passes directly by hotel. If you are into scuba diving, there is a dive shop, with friendly staff right across the street. A lovely breakfast is delivered right to your room at the time you request.
I did notice that the walls are rather thin, and you can sometimes hear sound from adjoining rooms, or floor above. This was not a problem for me, but might be if you had very noisy neighbors in adjoining rooms.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Probably the best location of any hotel on Cannery row. At the northern most tip of Cannery Row, you're a short walk to Cannery Row center, old town Monterey and Fishermans Wharf. The property is pretty laid back too, unlike some of the other properties like the Interconinental and the Monterey Plaza. These properties in particular are barraged with full tour buses. Not our cup of tea frankly.
We stayed in their top room, the corner ocean front panoramic room with a two person jetted tub. Loved the room, a bit on the pricey side but it was our wedding anniversary and my wife is more than worth it. The room(s) also come with a very nice and fresh continental breakfast every morning.
I don't normally rate this, but the King Bed was by far the most comfortable hotel bed I/we have ever slept in. Not sure what kind of bed it was but it was heaven.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLeinSeattleWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had our family stay for two days and two nights in an ocean view room. The continental breakfast was plentiful and everyone was happy with the food, even my picky 2 year old. The hotel is very family friendly and the front desk was able to provide us with directions and recommendations. The walk to the aquarium was a good 10-15 minutes so be sure to wear comfortable shoes. The room was comfortable and the bed was so comfortable. Two kids shared the pull out sofa bed and they slept the night through. We were very happy with this hotel for our first family trip and would recommend to anyone else who would like a nice get-away.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are well worth it. Very relaxing and enjoyable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
2,002 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.7 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,498 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Inn

Address: 242 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#4 Family Hotel in Monterey
#4 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#8 Green Hotel in Monterey
#11 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $213 - $488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The inviting Monterey Bay Inn sits high above the tides at its magnificent site on the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary. Your private balcony provides a ringside seat to the ever-changing show-the delightful wonders of one of the world's richest marine regions. The Inn's 49 rooms, most with stunning ocean views, include a balcony, mini-refrigerator, king size bed, flat screen TV, Keurig coffee maker, CD and DVD player, usb charging ports, bath robes, hair dryer, and wireless internet connection. Two outdoor hot tubs, and a fire pit on the terrace complement your stay, as does the convenient parking. Complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your room each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Monterey Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing