We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly hotel on Cannery Row”
Review of Monterey Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Bay Inn
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had our family stay for two days and two nights in an ocean view room. The continental breakfast was plentiful and everyone was happy with the food, even my picky 2 year old. The hotel is very family friendly and the front desk was able to provide us with directions and recommendations. The walk to the aquarium was a good 10-15 minutes so be sure to wear comfortable shoes. The room was comfortable and the bed was so comfortable. Two kids shared the pull out sofa bed and they slept the night through. We were very happy with this hotel for our first family trip and would recommend to anyone else who would like a nice get-away.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are well worth it. Very relaxing and enjoyable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,655)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

742 - 748 of 1,655 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

I am very pleased with this hotel. Beautiful view of the pier, The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The bed is very comfortable so soft omg. It's close to all the shops on cannery row great food. My friend and I are going back in July to go on the boat trip. It was bad weather so we didn't get to go this trip. The wharf is in walking distance. The service if you need it is fantastic as well. The desk clerk Jessica is fantastic,the other people are to. Jessica stands out.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor it is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We spent two nights at the Monterey Bay Inn but wished we could have stayed longer. The hotel is in a great location at the edge of Cannery Row but also a short 10min walk away from Fisherman's Wharf. The man in reception was very helpful in pointing areas of interest on the provided map.We booked an ocean front room on the 2nd floor. The room was large, clean and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable . Our children also described the sofa bed as being comfortable - often not the case with hotel sofa beds.The balcony was spacious and it was fascinating to be able to watch the seals and sea otters . As a previous reviewer has mentioned , you do get feathered visitors in your room if you leave the screen open. Not a problem as they just stand in the doorway hoping for breakfast scraps. The complimentary breakfast delivered directly to the room was fantastic . The choice was good and it arrived on time . The only minor issue was the sound proofing . The doors to the rooms seemed to be particularly heavy and would shut with a loud bang if you were not careful - you could always tell when your neighbours were coming in or going out .Also, heavy footed guests could easily be heard above you. However this minor issue didn't affect our stay and we do hope to return to Monterey . If we do we would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpudG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed for the first time first week of March it was a last minute trip so we had a lower room with harbor view. When we heard the otters and seals were having pups we decided to go back again a month early to celebrate our anniversary. This time I requested a room further out towards the water. When we arrived we had a room on the 3 rd floor and second room from the end of the building, along with a chilled bottle of wine with chocolates and a card from staff!! What a nice surprise! We could sit and watch otters and dolphins from our room! The breakfast is nice if you want to stay in and enjoy the view. Keep the screen closed or you may have company inside your room, birds, seagulls, pigeons! Didn't bother us at all.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with 5 or higher like 205-305-405 the bigger the number the further out you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Otterwatcher_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Let me say firstly that I absolutely love this place. My husband and I stumbled across it several years back when we were looking for somewhere to stay for one night in Monterey. We have been trying to visit again on more recent trips but we've either left it too late to book or there has been an event on in Monterey which has meant there is a 2-3 night minimum stay. This year we finally got to book for two nights and I was absolutely thrilled.
I made our reservation in Dec 12 for an April stay. Upon arrival we were allocated room 303 which I have to say I'm a bit disappointed about. We booked a sea view room (not ocean front) which pretty much means we have a side on view of the water - that in itself was fine, however our room was pretty much last in line and closer to Cannery Row and I had hoped to be a little closer to the water. Had thought that a booking so far in advance may have helped us in this regard but obviously not. Overall not a big deal.
Our room was lovely. Balcony is quaint and we loved having the ocean gulls perch on our balcony rail every morning. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom was large and well appointed. All in all a fantastic room.
Our biggest issue was the people above us in 403 who persisted in racing around their room like a herd of elephants. It was impossible not to hear them when they were in their room. They slammed doors and obviously encouraged their child to run riot above us. The first night we sucked it up but the second night we put a call in to the front desk and they apologized and said they would call them. Not sure if this happened as the noise continued well into the night. Pretty much ruined the serenity and our stay.
Upon check out I asked whether w e could nominate a room on the 4th floor next item and she said absolutely. Wish I had thought of this!
Was also a little surprised at check out to be charged the full amount for a pre paid room - apparently they had not charged this at the time I booked as my card had expired. I couldn't remember whether this had been charged or not but would have thought an email to me at the time they tried to charge me would have been a good idea (they said they couldn't call as I had an international mobile number). Again not a big deal in the scheme of things - just prefer no surprises.
Absolutely stay here but perhaps ask for a room on the 4th floor (this is the highest floor).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaDownUnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The only negative is that we only had one night here!
Very warm welcome from staff at check in, warm cookies at reception was a nice touch.
Our room was on the 3rd floor with a sea front view, and it was just lovely. Quality furniture and linens, very comfortable bed facing out to the sea view, and a large modern bathroom.
Coffee machine in room with mini-bar, free wifi and a large tv, not that you need it with the stunning views!
We didn't have time to make use of the spa, but we did use one of the two hot tubs. We used the one on the roof top with views over the harbour and out to sea, it was perfectly romantic, and just us using it. The other tub was on the 2nd floor and while not as private or with such stunning views, it had a lit fire pit and twinkling lights in the trees on the terrace, so still pretty.
There were binoculars in the room which we used but to be honest the sea lions and birds are so close to you you hardly need them.
Breakfast was good and delivered right on time of asking.
Location for strolling along cannery row is ideal.
Loved this place, and wished we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judid23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed in an ocean front room which at $300/night was a splurge but it was worth it. The rooms is very nicely furnished, a big bathroom with 2 sinks, and many other amenities. The breakfast delivered to your room was a huge convenience. It was dark when we checked in and from the balcony we could just see the fog on the bay and hear the waves - surreal experience! We could hear the seals and the sea gulls all night with waves in the background - felt so close to nature as we drifted off to sleep. Watching the birds and spotting the starfish on the rocks in the water from the balcony was fun. Could spend all days just sitting there and enjoying the water views. The staff is friendly and helpful. Cookies in the lobby in the afternoons was a nice touch. We were celebrating my birthday and they left some chocolates, wine, and a card signed by all staff in the room for me when we entered which was a great surprise. Our room was on the second floor which meant the little public terrace extending from the parking lot was right under our balcony which we didn't like - would have been nice to have the balcony straight over water but that was just a minor issue. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are worth the splurge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aurora03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,016 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.2 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Inn

Address: 242 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Monterey
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#4 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#8 Green Hotel in Monterey
#11 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $189 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The inviting Monterey Bay Inn sits high above the tides at its magnificent site on the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary. Your private balcony provides a ringside seat to the ever-changing show-the delightful wonders of one of the world's richest marine regions. The Inn's 49 rooms, most with stunning ocean views, include a balcony, mini-refrigerator, king size bed, flat screen TV, Keurig coffee maker, CD and DVD player, usb charging ports, bath robes, hair dryer, and wireless internet connection. Two outdoor hot tubs, and a fire pit on the terrace complement your stay, as does the convenient parking. Complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your room each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Monterey Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing