We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bay of Beauty” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monterey Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Monterey Bay Inn
Ranked #5 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bay of Beauty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

The Monterey Bay Inn is a well-appointed hotel conveniently located on Cannery Row in Monterrey, California. The rooms are spacious and modern with subtle old-world touches. Tile graces the bathrooms, robes await your use, flat screen TVs are present and the beds are quite comfortable with wonderful pillows. We also used the Jacuzzi on the top floor and found it to be clean with a commanding view of Monterey Bay.

The view from the bay-side rooms is epic. The location at one end of Cannery Row allowed us to travel with children to the Monterey Bay Aquarium and restaurants by foot, an added bonus.

The level of service at the Monterey Bay Inn is exceptional. Staff delivers a Continental breakfast to your room. All items are fresh and delicious - no pastries sealed in a bag. We asked for another carafe of coffee and it was quickly delivered.

We enjoyed our visit and will stay here again.

Room Tip: Bay side rooms are more expensive, but very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickW-8-9-0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    975
    415
    108
    36
    25
See reviews for
233
1,001
51
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

After over 20 years staying at the Monterey Bay Inn when in Monterey, we consider it our bit of heaven! The remodelings have only made it more luxuriously comfortable, not overly fancy! It is true that financial strictures have diminshed the lovely breakfast quality, but the wonderful staff, the views and the ambiance are incomparable! There is no swimming pool but a hot tub with a bird's view of the Bay!

One feels so a part of the Monterey Bay experience, dolphins and otters scooting by, and one has such a supportive team helping every moment, Quinn, Bethany, Jessica, Stacy! A big A+ Thanks!

Room Tip: All Marina or Ocean views are fantastic. Ocean views are so totally private, you, the passing bay l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristineB28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on the final stop of a trip along Route One, and could not have had a better ending place.

The hotel doesn't look the best from the outside, but it really is lovely inside. We had an Ocean Front room and the view of the bay was magnificent. Whilst eating breakfast (which is delivered to the room) from our balcony, we saw Dolphins, Otters, Seals, and an assortment of birds. The room had plenty of space, a huge bathroom, and a big comfy bed, and was just a couple of minutes walk from the main section of Cannery Row.

The employees here were great too, helping us with directions, buy Aquarium tickets, and check in for our flight.

There were a couple of things that could be improved on. The Wifi is pretty poor (although unless you're in Monterey on business, you probably won't be using it much), and the car parking charges of $15 a day were a bit unexpected. Be careful with picking the right room too - there are Ocean View, Ocean Front, and an Ocean Front Premium I think, which could be a little more distinct from each other!

We'd definitely stay here again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We went to this hotel for our 11 yrs. anniversary and it was much better then what we expected. I was sold on this hotel based on their beautiful photos of their rooms and views. The exterior apperance does no justice for how beautiful the intorior of the hotel is. Our king size bed room had beautiful ocean shore views (you could hear the crashing waves from the room) , the room was very modern, clean and classy looking and the restroom was huge and beautiful with tiled shower, granite counters and seperate restroom. Very roomy rooms. There's a beautiful fire pit in an inclosed patio area with updated lounging chairs with tables next to the spa. The continential free breakfast has fresh fuits and pasteries and fresh squized orange juice, plus a newspaper. Much better than we expected. We left for dinner in the evening and when we came back to the room they had came in on their own to fluff the bed and prep the bed so when we were ready to go to sleep. The staff was very friendly and informative. The maintenance guy was great (he came to increase temp on our fridge). The hotel was very conveniently located less then a min. away from cannery row shops, restaurants and aquarium.

The only cons were that the check in time is 4pm which is pretty late for me. We arrived at 11am in hopes of a possible early check in and they said they would try and call me when room was available and never got a call and had to wait till 4pm to check in. Also, the fridge in our room was not very cold (even after maintenance guy came to adjust it), therefore our beverages never got cold enough.

Overall it was a wonderful stay. We got a lot more than what we expected and would very much recommend this hotel to anyone looking for an affordable, clean, modern and classy hotel. This is it!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dieselroxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We have been traveling to Monterey for 30+ years. Having children with us for the first 20 years we always stayed at a hotel with an indoor pool. Now being empty nesters and having different needs we have tried many different hotels in the area. For example, we have stayed at the Marriott's, the Hilton, and Best Westerns. All very good hotels, but so far the Monterey Bay Inn has been my favorite. There is a very inviting feel to this hotel. The room was charming and clean. The bed was very comfortable and we enjoyed watching the big flat screen TV in bed.
The bathroom was luxurious and had all the toiletries we needed.
We also liked the location of the hotel. We were able to walk everywhere. We caught the Pacific Beach Recreation Trail and walked for miles. The aquarium was about a 10 min. walk. The small outlet mall was right down the street and the restaurants were very close.
Our room was the first one outside the elevator. It was a little noisy first thing in the morning. So when we stay again, we will request a room on the 4th floor and not by the elevator.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gphpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We spent two relaxing days at Monterey Bay Inn. The room was very pleasant and comfortable and we slept really well. Although it was chilly, we were able to have our charming breakfast in comfortable chairs looking out past the balcony at the waves. We walked everywhere. We'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wmspatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed for Valentine's Day in an ocean view room. Our experience overall was great.

What we loved:
-the view (patio was amazing! Could smell/hear/see the ocean)
-the roof top spa (also great view) and the fire pit on the second flow
-complementary breakfast was yummy
-great location next to the beach and just a few minutes away by foot from main attractions
-easy/convenient parking
-you can get a great discount by booking and charging your room ahead of time online
-Nice bathroom- mirrored closet and two sinks (convenient for getting ready). Also a full length mirror in our room.
-Free wifi and a good connection


Not so great
-Customer service. When we arrived we were treated as if we were disrupting the lady at the front desk. She seemed put out to help us. Also, I had been told at the time of booking (about two weeks before my arrival date) that my card was charged. A week before my arrival I called to confirm my reservation and was told I actually hadn't been charged and could lose my reservation if I didn't pay now. I was just confused about the conflicting information, but it turned out okay in the end.
-Room service/access to the spa ended around 11pm. This wasn't a major deal but kinda annoying for the late night munchies.

Pros definitely outweighed the cons and we had a great trip. Will be staying again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan24209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,925 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,141 reviews
0.7 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Inn

Property: Monterey Bay Inn
Address: 242 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#4 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#4 Family Hotel in Monterey
#8 Green Hotel in Monterey
#11 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The inviting Monterey Bay Inn sits high above the tides at its magnificent site on the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary. Your private balcony provides a ringside seat to the ever-changing show-the delightful wonders of one of the world's richest marine regions. The Inn's 49 rooms, most with stunning ocean views, include a balcony, mini-refrigerator, king size bed, remote control TV, coffee maker, CD and DVD player, bath robes, hair dryer, and wireless internet connection. Two outdoor hot tubs, and a fire pit on the terrace compliment your stay, as does the convenient parking. Complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your room each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Monterey Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing