We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway”
Review of Monterey Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monterey Bay Inn
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Getaway”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I live in Northern California and a trip to the Monterey Area is always an opportunity to just chill and relax. We stayed at the Monterey Bay Inn because of an internet ad they sent us. I was so pleasantly surprised by the lovely room for the price. The bathroom is HUGE. The view of the Bay and the balcony is just so lovely and inviting. The staff is most certainly a pleasant asset. It is obvious that they have been chosen and trained to do their job with a focus on customer service. The front desk staff was polite and helpful when we arrived, during our stay and when we departed. Will stay here agin in the future.

Room Tip: Room 309 had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sujanuary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    999
    434
    113
    38
    27
See reviews for
248
1,029
52
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Oh- the location, view, sea birds, otters, an actual living plant on the balcony, nice Continental breakfast with homemade banana bread, great service, clean clean room and bathroom, nicely decorated, oh yeah, I'm going back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with wrought iron balcony railing instead of solid stucco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roxanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

My husband and I decided to stay in Monterey for our 10 year anniversary. I did a lot of research and comparison on the four hotels located on cannery row that offer up close views of the bay. For the price the Monterey Bay Inn seemed to be the best choice for us. We were very happy and impressed with our stay there. We stayed in room 208 and had an awesome view of the bay and harbor. The continental breakfast was great. We even had a complimentary bottle of wine sent up to us to celebrate our anniversary along with a small box of chocolates and a signed card from the staff. Loved that special touch. The balcony was super cool to do a little people watching of the San Carlos beach with the beautiful city park lined with the unique and well groomed trees and several scluptures. So much to look at. The walls are a little thin but that didn't bother us too much. The hot tubs on the 2nd and 4th floor were a nice relaxing way to end the evenings. We even made an early morning visit to the 4th floor hot tub and the view is amazing. Do bring an old bathing suit becauses I'm thinking they use a lot of chlorine and it wore thin spots through my tankini top where I was siting up against the jets. I did have to just throw it away in the hotel garbage can but I can't complain since I did read a previuos review on that happening to someone else and chose not to bring an old suit. It was also nice to be out of the tourist filled area but not too far to walk to. They say it's about a half a mile from the aquarium but there is so much to look at along the way it only feels like a couple of blocks. We are very happy we chose the Monterey Bay Inn because for almost double the price at one of the 3 other water front cannery row hotels you would feel like you wasted some money. I liked that you can park your own car conveniently under the hotel and not have to do valet. It seems pricey to have to pay $15.00 a day but worth it to know it's safe there and the last day you checkout you may leave it there until around 4:00. The large bathroom was very nice with the double sinks and a separate toilet room. We loved the granite and beautiful cherry dark wood style furnishings. Also, having a fridge was nice too and knowing this in advance I was able to bring some snacks that would require refrigeration. There isn't a microwave but we found so many nice restaurants to indulge in some seafood meals we didn't need a microwave. We brought our two children ages 6 and 11. If you bring your children to this hotel you can only stay on the 2nd floor. All of the rooms are 1 bed king size bed rooms with two cusion style chairs but the 2nd floor rooms have a king size bed with a pull out couch. The pull out chouch is a full size with a pretty thin mattress. They didn't complain about it not being comfortable but did end up in our bed with us early each morning. I was sad at first that we didn't have the opportunity to stay on floors 3 or 4 but floor 2 was an amazing view as well. You won't be disappointed. We saved $100.00 a night by choosing the harbor view and loved it. There is a small coffee pot in the room so I brought a couple filter and some of our regular coffee we usually like to enjoy and our own creamer to store in the refrigerator. We also brought a few disposable coffee cups so we could make our coffee and take it to go. We loved our stay and did not want to leave.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissMellyMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Booked a room for my boyfriend's birthday and absolutely loved it. Booked the ocean-front room and the view was exceptional. Excellent service and staff was very friendly. Will definitely stay here again in the future.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Feriel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This very cute hotel had rooms you simply didn't want to leave. They are shore side, wrought iron with geraniums, wooden slats over patio doors, cozy decor, really gorgeous bathroom, breakfast (included) delivered to your room in the morning as the sunrise spills in. It was lovely. Evening wine to the sound of the waves on the beach just outside the inn. Very memorable which is my first consideration when choosing a place to stay. The staff were generous with their help and the hottub & fire in the court area was a bonus. Beds were super comfy. All in all 5/5!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the south beach side or you will miss the best the inn has to offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrell007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We had an ocean view room with a nice patio. The bed and bedding were comfy. They have Aveda products in the room. The hotel is right between fisherman's wharf and the aquarium. You can walk everywhere. There was an air filter to use in the room. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephhepner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is our 2nd visit to the Monterey Bay Inn. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. It was very comfortable & quiet. Our rooms were very clean & the staff helpful. The breakfast was fine, basic continental breakfast food....It was nice having it brought to our rooms. We love staying here & look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VMcHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,973 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.7 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Inn

Property: Monterey Bay Inn
Address: 242 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#4 Family Hotel in Monterey
#4 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#8 Green Hotel in Monterey
#11 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The inviting Monterey Bay Inn sits high above the tides at its magnificent site on the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary. Your private balcony provides a ringside seat to the ever-changing show-the delightful wonders of one of the world's richest marine regions. The Inn's 49 rooms, most with stunning ocean views, include a balcony, mini-refrigerator, king size bed, flat screen TV, Keurig coffee maker, CD and DVD player, usb charging ports, bath robes, hair dryer, and wireless internet connection. Two outdoor hot tubs, and a fire pit on the terrace complement your stay, as does the convenient parking. Complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your room each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Monterey Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing