We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but could be nicer...”
Review of Monterey Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Bay Inn
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
singapore
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Nice but could be nicer...”
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed a night here after reading the reviews here. we did enjoy our stay but some things could be improved.

Pros-
-Good location. At the end of cannery row a nice walk to the main area with shops and food.
- our room 415 had great views of the ocean. Very large room as well. We could hear the waves lap from our bed which was nice.
- nice hot tub on top floor over looking the ocean.
- in the reception area, cookies laid out in the evening. Coffee in the morning and iced lemon water rest of the day.


Cons:
- breakfast was very disappointing. You order before midnight and its served to your room and you can enjoy it on your balcony. But the food was not really edible. The bread and muffin were very hard. The hard boiled egg was also over boiled and rubbery.
- whilst the inside of the room was very nice, the outside corridor area etc showed its age.
- whilst we were there the lift was under repair and whilst they offered to carry our bags up 4 floors to our room they sent an older lady and so my husband had to carry most of the things on his own.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank auntieadriene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,000
    438
    114
    38
    27
See reviews for
251
1,032
52
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Placerville, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We have stayed many times in Monterey, and, several B&Bs and motels later, we have found our "go to" place. We've stayed here the last 4 trips we've made in the previous 2 years. Service is very good, there is an ocean view in every room, either full on, or, in our case for a bit less $, a great view of the park, waves, beach, and the coast guard jetty. Plenty of otters, sea lions, and birds visible from your room, and the bellows of a few hundred sea lions just far enough away to put you to sleep at night.
A very adequate continental breakfast is brought, to your order, to your room each morning at your time choosing. The inn is a 10-15 minute walk to the Aquarium, or a few minutes via bike on the trail.
Rooms are nice, with comfy beds, large 2 person bathroom, small balcony, and new large screen TVs with DVD if you need it. There are a couple hot tubs available as well.
I would suggest you request rooms on the 3rd or 4th floor for the best views.

Room Tip: Rooms 408, 409, 308, 309 are the best view and bang for your buck, but the full bay view rooms are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bambuddhist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I was surprised at how average this place was, in spite of being #4 in Monterey for hotels. But I realized after I got there that there are not too many places to choose from.

The check-in process was weird and I feel that it sort of set the tone for the whole stay. The lady at the front desk asked me for my drivers license (I've never been asked for this despite many stays at true luxury hotels) and asked me for multiple different signatures, including waivers, disclaimers, etc. Right then, I knew this was no luxury hotel. It was really bizarre.

Our room was an OceanView room with pullout sofa on the 2nd floor. View was good, and that was the only outstanding point of our stay there.

However, room was described as being 406 square feet. It most certainly is not. It is about 300 sq ft, at best. As such, it feels cramped. I should have gone for the larger rooms.

Also, they do not include complimentary bottled water in the room. They were the only hotel that I stayed at in California not to do so. Such an easy thing to do, and it makes a difference.

Breakfast is basic, decent, simple.

I found myself wishing that I had booked Monterey Plaza Hotel and Spa or whatever it's called, down the street. But I looked that up and saw that it had its fair share of negative reviews as well, maybe a few less. I think the point is that there is no true luxury stay in Monterey.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank radio77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2013

What a great experience. The room was great, spacious, clean, quiet, and the view was incredible. We ordered room service and it was as good as the surrounding restaurants. The staff was very helpful and friendly. All the shops and restaurants were right outside our door, but while we were in the room, we felt a million miles away.This was the perfect getaway. We'll be back.

Room Tip: try to score a western view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loomis, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Celebrating our 35 wedding anniversary opting for the upgraded Panoramic view rooms. Wow! the bay was right outside our windows with a great view of both the open bay and San Carlos Beach views. Amazing and well worth it. Much more cost effective than other hotels for that experience.
The room is spacious with a nice sitting area and large bathroom. You can sit in the tub and look out to the coast.
The balcony is on the leeward side of the building which made for a pleasant spot to kick back, enjoy the sun which we were lucky enough to have all week.
It's great to be able to park your car and have an easy walk around cannery row as well as fisherman's wharf.
This hotel is now on the top of our list for a return trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishntravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los altos
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My family spent one night at the Monterey Inn. I wanted to stay-- a month! This is a great hotel! Clean, accessible and simple. No valet waiting, no grand entrance with hundreds of others. Yet it is on the water and opens next to a gorgeous state park with beach and walking trails. We walked .5 miles up to Fisherman's wharf one direction and less than .5 mile to the Monterey Aquarium the other. Breakfast, delivered to our room was part of the tarrif. Simple again, but good. Our balcony opened to the water where we saw sea otters, seals and scuba divers. The ocean waves ( they're small bay waves) crashed for sound effect and a harbor seal or two barked ( a long distance away) if you do it like the sound of the ocean lulling you to sleep I suppose you could turn on the fan for some white noise, but then why not stay inland at some other place where you don't feel like you're part of the bay? I can't wait I go back here and next time I'll book a massage, as the Sanctuary looked inviting and relaxing. Bring your swim suit for a jacuzzi.
What I really appreciated more than anything was that the Inn was up to date with their Internet posting in that they let me know before I booked the room that they were having the elevator repaired and it would not be working, it people would hel with the luggage up a flight of stairs. I didn't need the help, but really appreciated that they were up front, honest and candid about their own limitations for the time we were there.

Room Tip: They have rooms facing the park and beach ( which is great if your kids are old enough to wonder dow...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank janetmedlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had been on a road trip since 12/24 traveling to Yosemite, Sacramento, Guerneville, Sonoma until we hit Monterey. We had stayed at different hotels along the way, some of which, were far more expensive than Monterey Bay Inn. We finally got here, and was amazingly pleased with the room, balcony and views. It was worth the money, and I highly recommend staying here over the other property down Cannery Row that charges more, and offers less. In any case, I finally had a good nights' sleep with the comfortable bed unlike many hotels. It is a perfect place for couples, and the service was wonderful. Monterey Bay Inn is definitely our hotel of choice whenever we go back to Monterey.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meluzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,981 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.7 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Inn

Property: Monterey Bay Inn
Address: 242 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#4 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#4 Family Hotel in Monterey
#8 Green Hotel in Monterey
#11 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The inviting Monterey Bay Inn sits high above the tides at its magnificent site on the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary. Your private balcony provides a ringside seat to the ever-changing show-the delightful wonders of one of the world's richest marine regions. The Inn's 49 rooms, most with stunning ocean views, include a balcony, mini-refrigerator, king size bed, flat screen TV, Keurig coffee maker, CD and DVD player, usb charging ports, bath robes, hair dryer, and wireless internet connection. Two outdoor hot tubs, and a fire pit on the terrace complement your stay, as does the convenient parking. Complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your room each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Monterey Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing