We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“GREAT HOTEL, GREAT AREA” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monterey Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monterey Bay Inn
Ranked #5 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
127 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“GREAT HOTEL, GREAT AREA”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed 2 nts. Very good location overlooking the bay and close to the Cannery and Fishermans pier. Check in quick and efficient. Room very good with great views over the bay from the balcony. Very comfortable beds and sitting area plus a smart functional bathroom. Staff very friendly and you get your continental breakfast delivered to your room at the time you requested. Choice of breakfast is small but very tasty. Other plus points are the free wifi, biscuits etc in the lobby throughout the day. Only niggle was the expensive car parking. Its still a highly recommend though.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GraemeLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    953
    410
    105
    35
    23
See reviews for
228
981
49
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Inn. We were only there one night and would have liked more. We watched seals and otters from our window and I enjoyed an early morning walk in the adjacent park. I also enjoyed the healthy breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is one of my favorite places to stay. The beautiful views of the bay, the hot tub on the roof, the friendly staff and superb location are some of the terrific reasons to stay at the Monterey Bay Inn, but the deal closer that keeps bringing me back is the breakfast that is delivered to my room each morning! There's nothing better than enjoying a fresh breakfast on my balcony while watching the seagulls and listening to the gentle waves of the bay. Many excellent restaurants are within walking distance as is the Monterey Bay Aquarium. A five minute stroll takes you to the Old Fisherman's Wharf where you can go out whale watching aboard one of two beautiful vessels at Princess Monterey Whale Watching. Excellent trips always! The peaceful setting of the Inn, heaps of things to see and do, and plentiful eateries make the Monterey Bay Inn a fantastic place to stay while in Monterey.

Room Tip: If your budget allows, choose a bay or ocean view room. The view in the morning and the peaceful sou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelCat6078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We have stayed here twice & will be back for future visits to Monterey! Our room was impeccable, & the continental breakfast is yummy & delivered to our room. The hotel staff has been amazing to work with. So helpful & professional.
My personal opinion: This is a romantic place to stay, not ideal if u have kids.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mlockreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband booked this room for a special anniversary get-away weekend. It was everything that had been promised and more. The room was large, luxuriously appointed, clean and comfortable. The bed was fantastic with a feather bed topper over a good mattress, down comforter and incredibly comfortable. We loved the ocean side balcony! The ocean was literally 15' away with gorgeous views of Monterey Bay. We can't promise you'll see as many sea otters, sea lions, myriad birds and beautiful boats as we did from the balcony but you'll see your share. The breakfast that's delivered to your room every morning was very nice. The hot tubs were honestly hot, very private and clean. The staff was very, very nice and the location was perfect; walking distance to the Aquarium, Cannery Row and Fisherman's Wharf. We're totally satisfied and looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Corner balcony rooms on the 2nd, 3rd & 4th floors are quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watsonville CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Great staff, nice room, no complaints, not much one can do about people upstairs, though they were there for a mercifully brief stay. Oh yes, I am the boyfriend mentioned in the prior review.

I had stayed here before some years ago, and for a lovely room for romance you will do well to try this place. Plus cookies! :)

Room Tip: Oceanside is best, obviously. For romance the premium rooms with fireplace and view is quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccmj5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a romantic get away. Staff was very friendly. I loved the room. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was perfect. Only bad thing was the guests above us were very noisy and clomped around ALL night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colleens808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
1.2 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#8 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Inn

Property: Monterey Bay Inn
Address: 242 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#4 Family Hotel in Monterey
#4 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#8 Green Hotel in Monterey
#11 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The inviting Monterey Bay Inn sits high above the tides at its magnificent site on the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary. Your private balcony provides a ringside seat to the ever-changing show-the delightful wonders of one of the world's richest marine regions. The Inn's 49 rooms, most with stunning ocean views, include a balcony, mini-refrigerator, king size bed, remote control TV, coffee maker, CD and DVD player, bath robes, hair dryer, and wireless internet connection. Two outdoor hot tubs, and a fire pit on the terrace compliment your stay, as does the convenient parking. Complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your room each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Monterey Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing