We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing getaway in Monterey”
Review of Monterey Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Bay Inn
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing getaway in Monterey”
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Very luxurious digs and we didn't even have ocean view!! The hot tubs were a nice extra as well as the continental breakfast delivered to your room. Very friendly staff and not to mention freshly baked cookies in the lobby. The little town was a perfect stop over on our road trip and we enjoyed the jellies at the aquarium and the beer from the brew pub. Wednesday is Trivia night- very fun

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Krista A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,000
    438
    114
    38
    27
See reviews for
251
1,032
52
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in a full ocean view room. Great to watch for seals and otters with the binoculars . We were in a 3rd floor room, would have preferred 4th floor as we could hear every movement of our neighbours above. Also people were smoking adjacent to us and it penetrated our room when our door was open.Breakfast very average,nothing much on tray,for the price would have expected at least a cereal etc.Staff at administration very helpful in assisting us to see local attractions such as the Tuesday market which was wonderful. Spa good particularly the 4th floor outlook.

Room Tip: 4th floor full ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie5161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Lovely hotel with friendly desk staff. Great location and well situated for Cannery row. Our room was lovely, big & bright with a balcony view over to the marina and lighthouse. Binoculars in the room was a nice touch and perfect for watching the seals & otters in the bay. We were on the 4th floor and had direct access to the terrace jacuzzi hot tub, overlooking the bay. This was a nice feature to use and relax at the end of the day with a drink watchiing the sunset. Breakfast is delivered to your room at your preferred time. It's not particularly big but is a nice start to the day. The hotel is a bit quirky in that it has no public areas as such, other than the 2 jacuzzi areas. There is no bar or restuarant or dining area, hence the room service breakfast. This wasn't a problem to us but worth mentioning if you like socialising with other guests. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, CA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Beautiful location. Short walks to everything. Views are wonderful. Beds are heavenly!
Complementary breakfast to your door!
No disappointements here.
Everyone should enjoy staying at this hotel.
We celebrate my birthday here. The hotel made our reservation at the Chart House,
just down the street and ordered us a molton chocolate cake for dessert!!

Room Tip: View of ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, N.Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed in this hotel with my husband for 2 nights mid September. We had a large room overlooking the beach! We could see the seals and hear the birds and the waves crashing on the rocks. The hotel is ideally located on cannery row within easy walking distance of shops, restaurants and bars. Along the path at the beach you can walk to fisherman’s wharf (approx 15minutes) many people hire bikes and cycle along this route.
The hotel has 2 hot tubs which were nice to relax in after a day walking in the heat. One is up on the 4th floor, the other is on the 2nd floor in a small courtyard with some very comfy sun loungers at the spa.
Breakfast was brought to our room when requested along with a daily newspaper. Staff were pleasant and helpful, and our room was cleaned thoroughly.
I would stay in this hotel again if returning to Monterey.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suz92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel and the staff are superb, and you couldn't ask for a better location. The amazing view of the ocean and shoreline, and the mid-point proximity to both the Monterrey Wharf and Cannery Row make this hotel an ideal place to stay. One very nice touch was the wine and chocolates the hotel sent to our room as an anniversary gift. Unfortunately, the $500-a-night price tag (just for the room) is a bit excessive, even for Monterrey. So, regretfully, we can't really offer the top rating.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul
2 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Spent 2 days at the Monterey Bay Inn. Room was very clean with a great view of the coast and wharf. Walking distance to both Cannery Row shops and restaurants and the wharf shops and restaurants and the beach. Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 403 has great view and location is close to hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courteausome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,981 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.7 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Inn

Property: Monterey Bay Inn
Address: 242 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#4 Family Hotel in Monterey
#4 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#8 Green Hotel in Monterey
#11 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The inviting Monterey Bay Inn sits high above the tides at its magnificent site on the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary. Your private balcony provides a ringside seat to the ever-changing show-the delightful wonders of one of the world's richest marine regions. The Inn's 49 rooms, most with stunning ocean views, include a balcony, mini-refrigerator, king size bed, flat screen TV, Keurig coffee maker, CD and DVD player, usb charging ports, bath robes, hair dryer, and wireless internet connection. Two outdoor hot tubs, and a fire pit on the terrace complement your stay, as does the convenient parking. Complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your room each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Monterey Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing