We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So relaxing...wonderful spot for special vacation..birthday, anniversary, proposal.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monterey Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Monterey Bay Inn
Ranked #5 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Modesto, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So relaxing...wonderful spot for special vacation..birthday, anniversary, proposal.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Beautiful location. Short walks to everything. Views are wonderful. Beds are heavenly!
Complementary breakfast to your door!
No disappointements here.
Everyone should enjoy staying at this hotel.
We celebrate my birthday here. The hotel made our reservation at the Chart House,
just down the street and ordered us a molton chocolate cake for dessert!!

Room Tip: View of ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    975
    415
    108
    36
    25
See reviews for
233
1,001
51
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, N.Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed in this hotel with my husband for 2 nights mid September. We had a large room overlooking the beach! We could see the seals and hear the birds and the waves crashing on the rocks. The hotel is ideally located on cannery row within easy walking distance of shops, restaurants and bars. Along the path at the beach you can walk to fisherman’s wharf (approx 15minutes) many people hire bikes and cycle along this route.
The hotel has 2 hot tubs which were nice to relax in after a day walking in the heat. One is up on the 4th floor, the other is on the 2nd floor in a small courtyard with some very comfy sun loungers at the spa.
Breakfast was brought to our room when requested along with a daily newspaper. Staff were pleasant and helpful, and our room was cleaned thoroughly.
I would stay in this hotel again if returning to Monterey.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suz92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel and the staff are superb, and you couldn't ask for a better location. The amazing view of the ocean and shoreline, and the mid-point proximity to both the Monterrey Wharf and Cannery Row make this hotel an ideal place to stay. One very nice touch was the wine and chocolates the hotel sent to our room as an anniversary gift. Unfortunately, the $500-a-night price tag (just for the room) is a bit excessive, even for Monterrey. So, regretfully, we can't really offer the top rating.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Spent 2 days at the Monterey Bay Inn. Room was very clean with a great view of the coast and wharf. Walking distance to both Cannery Row shops and restaurants and the wharf shops and restaurants and the beach. Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 403 has great view and location is close to hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Courteausome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

The service was great. They had delicious cookies in the lobby. They accommodated a late checkout. The room and bed were very comfortable. The tv was directv and had the interactive guide. Continental breakfast delivered to the room was a nice touch and allowed us to enjoy a nice leisurely breakfast on the balcony watching the seals and boat activity. The bathroom was large and luxurious. We selected an ocean view room with a sitting area and fireplace. The room was very spacious. The only slight disappointment was that the fireplace did not actually produce heat, but it still provided a nice ambiance.

Room Tip: We splurged for an ocean view and stayed in room 215. I was so glad we did that because we spent a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Fabulous location, everything within walking distance. Spotlessly clean, gorgeous rooms, big comfy bed, sofa, tv etc. Huge bathroom, felt like a celebrity! Lovely balcony with fabulous view of the bay (even binoculars provided). Gorgeous continental breakfast delivered to room, which we ate on the balcony. Classy place, I would definitely stay again and highly recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Just make sure you get a room with a view, which shouldn't be a problem as the majority of rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angiebaby67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOM-ManagerResponse, Director of Sales at Monterey Bay Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thanks for the vote of confidence! We sure do hope you’ll come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

I believe the Monterey Bay Inn offers good value for money compared to the other hotels that sit on the edge of Monterey Bay - if you want a balcony overlooking the bay. On entering the room we found there a welcome back card signed by the staff (we had visited last year) and chocolates and bottles of Perrier water. This was an appreciated welcoming touch.
From the bed my wife and I were able to awake to the view of Monterey Bay in the mornings due to the fact that for the four days we stayed there at the end of August - September the early morning sea mist was missing. It was a pleasure to sit on the balcony to eat breakfast watching the harbour seals and sea otters and also spotting the dolphins tracking across the bay. Binoculars are provided in the room for a closer look at the wildlife.
The hotel is clean and well maintained and we found the beds very comfortable. The staff are extremely accommodating – we forgot to put our breakfast request out the night before but our request the next morning was met with no problem.
We would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends and would not hesitate to stay here again when in the area.
We did not use the Spa services and so cannot comment on those services.

Room Tip: This review was based on room 412
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dogon60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,925 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,142 reviews
0.7 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Inn

Property: Monterey Bay Inn
Address: 242 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#4 Family Hotel in Monterey
#4 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#8 Green Hotel in Monterey
#11 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The inviting Monterey Bay Inn sits high above the tides at its magnificent site on the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary. Your private balcony provides a ringside seat to the ever-changing show-the delightful wonders of one of the world's richest marine regions. The Inn's 49 rooms, most with stunning ocean views, include a balcony, mini-refrigerator, king size bed, remote control TV, coffee maker, CD and DVD player, bath robes, hair dryer, and wireless internet connection. Two outdoor hot tubs, and a fire pit on the terrace compliment your stay, as does the convenient parking. Complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your room each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Monterey Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing