We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monterey Bay Inn”
Review of Monterey Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Bay Inn
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here on Aug 21-23rd 2012 The hotel was very, very clean... The lobby was always freshly mopped and offered you fresh lemonade, coffee and baked cookies. It's near the Monterey Bay Aquarium and Canrey Row. We did however ride bikes to the aquarium as it is fair for those who don't walk everyday :)

Our room was EXELLENT it had a coffee and tea maker, a sm refrig, a honor bar and the prices were reasonable. The bathroom was huge with a his and her sinks made of marble the bathroom had its own door and was seperated which was nice. The bathroom was super clean not even a hair on the floor or in the tub, another plus! The towels were very large and nice not cheap at all. It didn't have a hair dryer though that was the only issue with the bathroom.

You get a free breakfast which can be delivered to your room at no extra charge you also get to choose what you like example fresh fruits coffee teas, hard boiled eggs muffins or breads oh and juice. Very nice for free. It also says you can leave your dishes right outside the door but we did this and wouldn't recommend because the Seagals come and make a huge mess!

The balcony was great excellent views except the birds do like to hang out there when you are away and leave poop for you so bring a squirt water bottle to help get if off things. No dust in the room, no sand nothing... The bed was great but the pillows were to soft.

This is by far the best hotel we have stayed at in a very long time I would go back in a heart beat and I would recommend it to everyone.

One thing we didn't like was $15.00 charge for parking we just waited for a spot on the road next to the hotel and were able to see our car from our balcony which was a plus. The parking garage is small and hard to get in and out of if you have a big car.

The hotel has an elevator and two spas one on the 2nd floor and one of the 4th floor. Very nice and very clean with crystal clear water, bring your own towels from the room though. Great views, great desk clerk very helpful.

Now the cost was a little bit pricey but it was well worth it and we will be back its money well spent. It was also our 25th Wedding Anniversary and we got a complentary bottle of wine, two flute glasses a card and chocolates. It was mainly quiet but you could hear banging or squeaks ever so often, and we were on the top floor.

This is one hotel that is IMMACULATE and it is a must stay. We give it 10 Stars!

Its so peaceful you can hear the waves crashing oh there is also a turn down service you can request and they turn your bed down for you and leave chocolates on your pillow. There is a small safe in the closet which is nice and the maids do an excellent job. Oh if you eat out on your balcony beware of Seagals they will litterally carry off your food.

The elevator is even clean no fingerprints what so ever,never seen that before. There is a little mexican place a few steps away great prices and great food try the salsa and chips and the enchiladas :) authentic... great coffee shops and icecream shops too just within walking distance of this hotel.

There is a little walking path right next to the hotel near the water which is nice and a small park near the hotel where you hold have a picnic but... there was a bum sleeping there over night and one on the path when we were there but... my husband spent some time talking with one and he was actually quite nice. Fishers mens warf was very close we rode bikes there and had a great day. We recommend Rappa's its the last place to eat @ the end of the warf great prices and their petite sizes are quite large. Very nice people working there.... Hope this review helps others in choosing great places to stay and to eat :)

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MalissaC26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOM-ManagerResponse, General Manager at Monterey Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Hello Melissa C,

Happy anniversary! Congratulations on 25 years, and thank you for letting our hotel be a part of your celebration. Thank you, as well, for leaving such a lovely, detailed review. You obviously put a lot of time and thought into your post, and the effort is greatly appreciated. Your kind regard for the cleanliness of the hotel is a huge compliment to our housekeeping staff, and I am very happy to share with them.

Thank you, again, Melissa C! We’re all so happy that you enjoyed your time in Monterey, and we’re looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best,
the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,652)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

855 - 861 of 1,652 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

If you are looking for a peaceful getaway this hotel was great. Your stay includes continual breakfast every morning and turn down service every evening. It is right on Cannery Row and within walking distance of everything. I will for sure go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stayce887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I don't normally write reviews as if you don't live up to the hype I tend to tell the operaters right there and then, but this place made me very happy.There is onsite parking, you pay extra, but you're able to leave and get to your "site seeing" gear when you want without having to wait for someone to go get your car and bring it to you. It may seem a small thing to some, but when you're disabled its a big thing. Loved the location, we were able to walk to the Aquarium, the Coast Guard pier and pier one and two (fishermans wharf). The free trolly stop is close by and there is a park/beach next to the hotel. Again an added bonus for me being disabled. The park has a large green area and there is a ramp down to the beach. The morning breakfast was great as it is brought into your and we don't get up very early. I read about some people not likeing their view, but our room was at the end of the hotel and had a beautiful view. There are "ocean view" and "bay view" as stated online. It was nice to be able to sit on the patio and watch the otters and seals play. The staff are friendly and helpfull as to what to see and do. I suggest going to Massaro & Santos for lunch or dinner as they really have great food. They're located right on the Coast Guard pier less then 5 minutes from the hotel. I could go on and on about the little things they have, like the windsheild cleaning stations in the garage and the dvd movie rental kiosk. You just need to try this place yourself. Yes I can be a grumby old man.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of the hotel to get a good view of the open water or a bay view to see all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dcorvair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOM-ManagerResponse, Director of Sales at Monterey Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for the description of your stay and mention of our parking lot. We are always thrilled when guests have a wonderful visit . Come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I stayed here a couple years ago, funny that the one thing that stands out is that I still remember most of my time in this hotel, the view is simply breathtaking in the morning. and everything from the bed to the bathroom shower (sit down!) was immaculate. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grey_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Wonderful hotel, one feels one is IN THE BAY, SURROUNDED BY WATER, quiet, peaceful, amazingly comfortable room with heavenly bed, the mattress makes you NOT want to get up.
The balcony faces the bay with the mountains in the background, BEAUTIFUL VIEW, the seagulls greet you in the morning, so cute, walking distance to anything Cannery Row, wonderful breakfast in your room, wonderful service all around...we always make reservations the day we leave for the following year.
What more can we say, we LOVE the MONTEREY BAY INN.
WE STAYED FROM MONDAY NIGHT THROUGH SATURDAY NIGHT.
Sabine W.

Room Tip: We love the third floor, no one above us and the jaccusy is around the corner with an amazing view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We thought this was a very special hotel. It was a real surprise. When we first drove up we thought on no this place looks terrible, Then we went inside and it was wonderful. The room was very nice, The view was spectacular where we saw dolphins and seals. Breakfast was served in the morning and chocolate was on our pillows at night. The staff was great.

Room Tip: Choose one with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOM-ManagerResponse, Director of Sales at Monterey Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you for the honest feedback! We believe that it is what's on the inside that matters most. Thanks for trying us out. We hope you'll visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This hotel is well located, just a few blocks from the beach and Fisherman's Wharf. It is quaint and a good value. We had a room with a single queen bed on the second floor, and it was very quiet. The front desk staff is very friendly and knowledgeable. Our only complaint was the musty smell of the room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lenore L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,011 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.2 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#9 of 56 in Monterey
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Inn

Address: 242 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#4 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#4 Family Hotel in Monterey
#8 Green Hotel in Monterey
#11 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $208 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The inviting Monterey Bay Inn sits high above the tides at its magnificent site on the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary. Your private balcony provides a ringside seat to the ever-changing show-the delightful wonders of one of the world's richest marine regions. The Inn's 49 rooms, most with stunning ocean views, include a balcony, mini-refrigerator, king size bed, flat screen TV, Keurig coffee maker, CD and DVD player, usb charging ports, bath robes, hair dryer, and wireless internet connection. Two outdoor hot tubs, and a fire pit on the terrace complement your stay, as does the convenient parking. Complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your room each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Monterey Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing