We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place -- Much Better Than The Portola Plaza”
Review of Monterey Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monterey Marriott
Ranked #15 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2010

I stayed here for a conference for four nights and I have to say it was really quite nice. My assistant stayed across the street at the Portola Plaza and she could not stand the outdated rooms and the noisy birds that woke her up every morning at 5:00 am. I suspect the birds don't attack the Marriott because they don't have balconies for the birds to land on and squawk and wake you up at an ungodly hour. The rooms are nice and large at the Marriott. I recommend this hotel for anyone staying in downtown Monterey.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveBigIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,164 - 1,170 of 1,352 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2009

I stayed at the Monterey Marriott while attending a conference and had a wonderful time. The customer service was outstanding. At check-in, I was upgraded to a beautiful room with fabulous views of the bay. Every staff member I interacted with during my stay was friendly and responsive, which really makes a difference in the how the overall experience feels. My room was very comfortable. Free wireless internet service is available in the lobby and mezannine; internet service in the room costs $12.95 which includes unlimited long distance phone calls. Valet parking was $20 and service was fast (the hotel didn't seem very full though). There are public garages close by that are less expensive but don't have in and out privileges. The hotel is well located in the downtown area and there are several restaurants, bars and stores within walking distance. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoreTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2009

I expect more from a Marriott and did not receive it here. Rooms need a facelift, thin towels, inconsistent hot water. Check in was terrible - we arrived late for the start of my conference so I went directly to the meeting room, leaving my husband to check in. I had no sooner found a seat then my husband called on my cell phone: "You have to come down here." They would not let my husband check in because the reservation was in my name - though we have the same last name, and he had his driver's license with the same address. Why couldn't he check in? "Security" What, someone with the same name and address as me is going to steal my hotel reservation? This makes absolutely no sense.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanbunny_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2009

My wife, 4 year old daughter, and I stayed at this hotel for a night - we flew in late and didn't get to the property until 9:00 Pacific from the east coast so we're tired when we arrived.

Was very pleased that as a Platinum using points, we were upgraded to the Presidential suite. The suite was 2 floor and probably 1600 to 1800 square feet. It had been renovated recently with a huge bathroom, large jacuzzi tub and a shower with three different shower heads. 3 large LCD TVs throughout the suite ... also a very large balcony overlooking the bay.

We ordered room service the next morning for breakfast mainly to enjoy the view - breakfast was just OK.

By observing other rooms that were being cleaned as we walked thru the hallway, I don't think the average room had necessarily been renovated recently. However, it is a property I would recommend since the staff seemed well trained and very friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogerslb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2009

customer service at this hotel is amazing professional genuine yet casual for all types of travellers having stayed at luxurious hotels world wide this hotel was beyond service merriting their 4 star category, location was an added bonus, will definitely return!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank netani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2009

This hotel is located right downtown. Although valet parking is available for a price, we used the city parking lot two blocks away for a lot less money. The bus to cannery row, fishermans wharf, and farmers market are with a block or two. The hotel was clean, comfortable and the staff were excellent. Nice touchs like ice water with lemon in the lobby, wine tasting in the lobby on Friday nights and an excellent brunch.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heidi84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2009

We stayed at the Marriott in Monterey for two nights. The rooms were just okay. There was no Concierge floor in this full-scale hotel. This was very disappointing for travelers who expect this level of service. The towels were thin and need to be replaced. The bathroom is outdated and the shower head does not function properly. I was very disappointed in this Marriott property.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baywaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,662 reviews
2 mi away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#8 of 56 in Monterey
346 reviews
1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Marriott

Address: 350 Calle Principal, Monterey, CA 93940-2416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Monterey
#12 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#13 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $213 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a memorable setting at Monterey Marriott. Our hotel in Monterey, California offers guestrooms that feel like a retreat, with perfect views of charming downtown Monterey or the beautiful Bay. We sit in an ideal location, next to the Monterey Conference Center and close to shops and golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Monterey Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Marriott Hotel Monterey
Marriott Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing