We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worthy of a Marriott”
Review of Monterey Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Marriott
Ranked #17 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
La Verne, California
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Not worthy of a Marriott”
Reviewed November 23, 2009

I expect more from a Marriott and did not receive it here. Rooms need a facelift, thin towels, inconsistent hot water. Check in was terrible - we arrived late for the start of my conference so I went directly to the meeting room, leaving my husband to check in. I had no sooner found a seat then my husband called on my cell phone: "You have to come down here." They would not let my husband check in because the reservation was in my name - though we have the same last name, and he had his driver's license with the same address. Why couldn't he check in? "Security" What, someone with the same name and address as me is going to steal my hotel reservation? This makes absolutely no sense.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanbunny_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    527
    227
    72
    28
See reviews for
384
399
34
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newnan, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2009

My wife, 4 year old daughter, and I stayed at this hotel for a night - we flew in late and didn't get to the property until 9:00 Pacific from the east coast so we're tired when we arrived.

Was very pleased that as a Platinum using points, we were upgraded to the Presidential suite. The suite was 2 floor and probably 1600 to 1800 square feet. It had been renovated recently with a huge bathroom, large jacuzzi tub and a shower with three different shower heads. 3 large LCD TVs throughout the suite ... also a very large balcony overlooking the bay.

We ordered room service the next morning for breakfast mainly to enjoy the view - breakfast was just OK.

By observing other rooms that were being cleaned as we walked thru the hallway, I don't think the average room had necessarily been renovated recently. However, it is a property I would recommend since the staff seemed well trained and very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogerslb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa cruz, california
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2009

customer service at this hotel is amazing professional genuine yet casual for all types of travellers having stayed at luxurious hotels world wide this hotel was beyond service merriting their 4 star category, location was an added bonus, will definitely return!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank netani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2009

This hotel is located right downtown. Although valet parking is available for a price, we used the city parking lot two blocks away for a lot less money. The bus to cannery row, fishermans wharf, and farmers market are with a block or two. The hotel was clean, comfortable and the staff were excellent. Nice touchs like ice water with lemon in the lobby, wine tasting in the lobby on Friday nights and an excellent brunch.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heidi84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2009

We stayed at the Marriott in Monterey for two nights. The rooms were just okay. There was no Concierge floor in this full-scale hotel. This was very disappointing for travelers who expect this level of service. The towels were thin and need to be replaced. The bathroom is outdated and the shower head does not function properly. I was very disappointed in this Marriott property.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baywaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2009

I had read a lot of reviews online that said that the staff was rude so I was really afraid of what would happen when I got there. I found that the staff was very friendly and very helpful. Remember you get what you give

Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank nitengiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2009

Pro: location (in downtown Monterey, next to many restaurants, Wharf, 0.8 miles from Cannery Row and 1.2 miles from Del Monte Shopping Mall), room (big and nice inside, air circulation is quite and can be controlled easily, separate vanity), breakfast (full american buffet is good and can be included in the room rate), exercise room.

Con: parking (valet $20/day, off site public parking is $7/hour or $7/day but no in and out privilege), beds (too soft, the whole bed shakes when one rolls over), no complimentary water bottles ($3.50/bottle if consumed), no safe inside the room, no refrigerator, no microwave.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian5900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,611 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#9 of 56 in Monterey
585 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Marriott

Property: Monterey Marriott
Address: 350 Calle Principal, Monterey, CA 93940-2416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Monterey
#12 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#14 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monterey Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Marriott Hotel Monterey
Marriott Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing