We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome staff n location”
Review of Monterey Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Monterey Marriott
Ranked #15 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
santa cruz, california
1 review
“awesome staff n location”
Reviewed November 16, 2009

customer service at this hotel is amazing professional genuine yet casual for all types of travellers having stayed at luxurious hotels world wide this hotel was beyond service merriting their 4 star category, location was an added bonus, will definitely return!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank netani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    511
    216
    72
    23
See reviews for
364
384
34
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
washington
Level Contributor
117 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2009

This hotel is located right downtown. Although valet parking is available for a price, we used the city parking lot two blocks away for a lot less money. The bus to cannery row, fishermans wharf, and farmers market are with a block or two. The hotel was clean, comfortable and the staff were excellent. Nice touchs like ice water with lemon in the lobby, wine tasting in the lobby on Friday nights and an excellent brunch.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heidi84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
109 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2009

We stayed at the Marriott in Monterey for two nights. The rooms were just okay. There was no Concierge floor in this full-scale hotel. This was very disappointing for travelers who expect this level of service. The towels were thin and need to be replaced. The bathroom is outdated and the shower head does not function properly. I was very disappointed in this Marriott property.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baywaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2009

I had read a lot of reviews online that said that the staff was rude so I was really afraid of what would happen when I got there. I found that the staff was very friendly and very helpful. Remember you get what you give

Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank nitengiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2009

Pro: location (in downtown Monterey, next to many restaurants, Wharf, 0.8 miles from Cannery Row and 1.2 miles from Del Monte Shopping Mall), room (big and nice inside, air circulation is quite and can be controlled easily, separate vanity), breakfast (full american buffet is good and can be included in the room rate), exercise room.

Con: parking (valet $20/day, off site public parking is $7/hour or $7/day but no in and out privilege), beds (too soft, the whole bed shakes when one rolls over), no complimentary water bottles ($3.50/bottle if consumed), no safe inside the room, no refrigerator, no microwave.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian5900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We stayed at the Monterey Marriott, which is nestled in the Downtown area of Monterey, not exactly walking distance really to all of the Monterey attractions you'd like to see (like the Aquarium or shops), and had a pretty nice time. The main draw was the lavish room! We checked into a 1-bedroom king and was surprised by the spaciousness of the unit. We also requested a mini-fridge for our wine/cheese that we collected earlier in the day, and they helped us out with no problem at all. The room was larger than my whole 700 sq ft apartment. Everything was clean and service was great. Front desk/concierge was as nice/friendly could be. The elevators took a little longer than I'm used to, but everything else was good.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2009

I stayed here as the first stop on my way to San Francisco. Great location! We walked to Fisherman's Wharf from the hotel in less than 10 minutes. Rooms were large, quiet and comfortable, room service for breakfast was also great. We also took the 17-mile drive and visited the Aquarium which are worth seeing!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matcham16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.4 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Marriott

Property: Monterey Marriott
Address: 350 Calle Principal, Monterey, CA 93940-2416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Monterey
#12 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#14 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Monterey Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Marriott Hotel Monterey
Marriott Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing