We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucked Out in Monterey”
Review of Monterey Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Monterey Marriott
Ranked #15 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lucked Out in Monterey”
Reviewed February 24, 2006

Monterey Marriott - Monterey CA - OUTSTANDING
Feb. 13/14 2006
After reading some of the reviews in TripAdvisor, we were a little hesitant about staying here but we had Marriott Points to burn and thought we couldn't be disappointed with a free room. I supposed we must have lucked out, as it was an exceptionally pleasant experience. Upon check-in the front desk person saw that we were using points for our accommodations and thanked us for our patronage of Marriott and for coming to the Monterey Marriott. We asked for a corner room as had been mentioned in this forum. We were informed there were not any available, so we were upgraded to a junior suite at no additional cost. The suite was very nice and truly comfortable, also tastefully decorated and furnished, with a private balcony. The room was very quiet and the bed very comfortable. The weather was shirtsleeve warm for Feb. so went spent our two days in Monterey exploring and did not utilize any of the hotel's restaurants or facilities except the fitness center which was very good.

The staff at the hotel truly made the experience for us. Everyone was very friendly and helpful from the front desk to the concierge to the parking attendants. Everything was smooth and effortless from check-in to check-out. Some of this may have been due to February being a slow period in Monterey so the hotels and attractions in the area were not crowded. I paid $17 a day for valet parking which I wouldn't do normally. There are multiple parking lots in the area that charge $5 a day for overnight parking. Overall it was a very pleasant experience for myself and my wife celebrating our wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clan4irish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    511
    216
    72
    23
See reviews for
364
384
34
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2006

location perfect. requested and received quiet,view rm.the staff was very nice,rooms(small for the price) need a makeover,but they were clean.heating wasnt working,after 2 requests,finally was done right.room service excellent, food good.5pm free fruit and coffee,tea,water offered in lobby.for the price could have a little more, maybe a con.breakfast or popcorn in the evening! parking 17.00 per day.we parked 3 blocks away for 5.00 a day.starbucks located in lobby hours 6am to 11am. I walked across the street to a nice coffee bar that is open all day and evening.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank socalsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2006

We stayed at this hotel for a few days over New Year's Eve. The town of Monterey was hosting a "First Night Monterey" and this hotel was directly in the middle of all of the activities. We could not have asked for a better location. Even with the enormous crowds in Monterey on New Year's Eve, and despite an obviously full hotel, our room was very quiet. There is a trolley stop nearby that takes you to the Monterey Aquarium for no charge (at least while we were there, it was free), although you could walk the approx 1.5 miles to Cannery Row and the aquarium quite easily. We much preferred the "downtown Monterey" location to a Cannery Row location. Our room was very nice, obviously recently remodeled very tastefully, and had lush, comfortable beds. The room was large enough for us (and our two children, 9 and 12) to stay comfortably. Despite some inclement weather, the pretty outdoor pool was heated and occupied by some braver souls, and the jacuzzi was popular as well. The workout room was well-equipped. Breakfast was the best we had on our entire trip (including spots in San Francisco). One complaint: a large storm knocked out the satellite and few channels were available on 12/31/05, but we had other things to do anyway. Friendly and accomodating staff. Bottom line: this is not a luxury hotel by any means, but it is very good value for the price.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDTripper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2005

Nice Hotel very clean , close to everything nice place to stay while going down Rte 1 ....

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aegis261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.4 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Marriott

Property: Monterey Marriott
Address: 350 Calle Principal, Monterey, CA 93940-2416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Monterey
#12 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#14 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Monterey Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Marriott Hotel Monterey
Marriott Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing