We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service”
Review of Monterey Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Marriott
Ranked #17 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Service”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed with our Marriott points.

The staff were excellent and looked after us very well. We got upgraded to a great suite with our own balcony / patio area complete with table and chairs. We had a lovely view of the bay.

The hotel is perhaps a little tired

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DT64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Thank you for being a loyal Rewards member. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.
Best regards,
~ Rene B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    527
    227
    72
    28
See reviews for
384
399
34
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

I liked being in a huge hotel once again. I was fun to stay on a high floor and look down once again. I found the hotel attractive overall and service was friendly. Has indoor glass elevators. Very cool. Also if an event at Laguna is going on, don't be surprised to see some great vehicles parked out front.

Room Tip: I like high rooms, many of which have a great view. You can see the coast from this location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColbyButler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Thank you for your review, I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Best regards,
~ Rene B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel multiple times on my travels and never had a bad experience. The location by the waterfront and Monterey pier is top notch with many things to do. I definatly recommend the old fishermans grotto on the pier for amazing food in a very nice atmosphere. The valets and doormen were very professional and knowledgable on the area and were able to ask the right questions to determine what exactly I was looking for.

I have found over the last few years that the Marriott brand has been a very dependable group of hotels if you are looking for a good nights sleep, reasonable rates and clean, comfortable rooms. Amenities at each location vary and this hotel has done very well providing great service and comfortable living when travelling.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason_B_604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
I really appreciate you being a repeat guest, thank you for your loyalty.
Best regards,
~ Rene B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We spent one night during memorial weekend, first we got 4th floor then we asked for higher floor and got 7th floor city view, room was clean and spacy. There was a big crack in the sink other than that no complaints. Location is the beast advantage we walked for restaurant and in the morning there was a coffee and crepe shop close by which we went and they had a delicious crepes.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gagouli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Thank you, I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Best regards,
~Rene B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The hotel was a typical Marriott. The staff was friendly and helpful. The bellman Jamie was super knowledgeable of the area and have us good direction on places to eat...Dominicos was his first recommendation.

Parking there is $24 per nite buy for $7, you can park across the street at a garage.

Breakfast was average and expensive.

Overall nice place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWfromNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your review.
Best regards,
~Rene B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We recently (early May) spent four nights at the Monterey Marriott, and enjoyed our visit. We were there as part of a conference, but booked directly for the room rather than through the conference link. We were provided a nice, spacious ocean view room at a discount from the full rate. We had asked for a refrigerator, and were told one was in the room, but when we discovered there was none, a phone call brought one in about 10 minutes. We had a few other requests for staff during our stay, and all were satisfied cheerfully, efficiently, and accurately, even including a late check-out on our departure day.

The bathrooms have been remodeled with marble shower and glass doors (with a curious 6-inch diameter hole in the glass about chest level that allows a bit of the shower spray to reach the toilet seat). There is plenty of counter space and lighting is very good. A wall-mounted magnifying mirror would be a good addition.

The bed was comfortable, climate control unobtrusive and effective, closet space ample, and the conference center just across the street. Oh, and when will Marriott begin to add in-room safes in their USA hotels? And when will Marriott provide free Internet, instead of $8 per day?

We used the city parking lot up the hill at Franklin and Van Buren, $4.00 per day, enforced from 9:00 am to 6:00 pm. You buy a ticket for the day, place it on the dash. The system effectively allows in-and-out privileges. You just have to be sure to buy the current day’s ticket in the machine by 9:00 every morning and put it on the dash. The lot was less than half full every time I was there.

Our favorite restaurants for dinner are Passionfish in Pacific Grove and Bistro Moulin near the Aquarium. For a quiet and reasonably-priced lunch with a view, we like the Pacific Grove Municipal Golf Course restaurant.

This was our first time at this Marriott hotel since spring 2012, and the stay was most pleasant, highlighted by excellent accommodations and service. I’d stay here again unless I wanted to splurge on an oceanfront hotel around Cannery Row.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WaterEngineer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Thank you, it's great to hear you had such a nice stay. Other travelers will appreciate your detailed account of your stay and tips. I hope you'll return and stay with us again.
Best regards,
~Rene B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We are doing a 10 day trip from LAX TO SFO. We have stayed at 9 different properties ranging from 3 star to 6 star. The full service Marriott in monterey was the only property we were disappointed in. We payed extra for a view that we didn't receive. We were never given any information about the internet that cost 14 dollars a day. The parking was an extra charge of 24 dollars and we had to call and wait 30 minutes to get cups to make coffee in the morning. This was the worst full service Marriott that we have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: There are many properties in this area, choose a different location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank masonkeane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
I'm sorry to hear about your experience and am sending you a private message now.
Thank you,
~Rene B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,611 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#9 of 56 in Monterey
585 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Marriott

Property: Monterey Marriott
Address: 350 Calle Principal, Monterey, CA 93940-2416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Monterey
#12 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#14 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monterey Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Marriott Hotel Monterey
Marriott Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing