We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased!”
Review of Monterey Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Marriott
Ranked #17 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Southwest Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very pleased!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel. Very comfortable and clean. To those who complain about the 'hidden fees', do your research first! I was expecting the 24$ valet fee and knew about the wireless charge in advance -- although it is pricey, if u kno about it in advance its much easier to swallow. I would have a less than favorable comment about the dated bathrooms, but I know they are in the process of remodeling ALL the bathrooms, so i was not bothered by this at all. Overall, very happy with my stay at this Marriott

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NicoleR1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, Director of Sales at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your review. Other travelers will certainly benefit from your honest assessment. I hope you'll be able to stay with us again after all of our bathrooms have been remodeled. Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    527
    227
    72
    28
See reviews for
384
399
34
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The staff was very nice upon arrival. They ensured all of my needs were met and I was able to find somewhere to adventure for that night. The room was very clean and the view was great. My only complain would be that the bed was a little harder than I would prefer at night. Would definitely stay here again given the opportunity.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
I really appreciate your review and am glad you enjoyed your stay. I wish you would have found the bed more comfortable but am happy that it did not detract from your experience. Thank you very much and I hope you'll stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed over a weekend as part of our week vacation. Though we partially chose the property due to the fact I was using Marriott points for one of the nights, we were very happy with the choice. Upon check-in we were upgraded to a water view with small balcony. Our room had a renovated bathroom (they a working to renovate all the bathrooms currently) and nice views of the Monterey Bay.

The bed was very comfortable, there was complimentary water in the room, and a refrigerator that we used to store some beverages. The shower is nice, though the hot water was noticeable "cooler" if you showered late afternoon. The staff was very pleasant and helpful, starting with the valet and bellman teams.

The location is excellent to see Monterey, with only a short walk to Fisherman's Wharf or a nice one mile stroll down the greenway along the water to Cannery Row. Around the hotel you'll find a Starbucks, several bars, a French bakery 4 blocks away, and a Walgreens (in case you forget any toiletries). You are also minutes from Hwy 1 to visit Carmel-By-The-Sea for dinner, etc., or the many other beautiful sights the Monterey Peninsula has to offer.

There is a charge for WiFi, but unfortunately that seems to have become the norm at hotels these days.

Overall, a nice hotel that I can recommend to those looking to stay in Monterey.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SRHGreenville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
I'm very happy that we could be a part of your California vacation. I'm also very glad that we could give you one of our recently renovated rooms with a beautiful view of Monterey Bay. I hope you were able to explore the best attractions of our wonderful city and the surrounding area while you were here. Thank you for your great review and recommendation. - Rene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Room on the 10th floor is great for any dinner or cocktail party. Beautiful view. Pool was beautiful. Great soup and service at characters. Ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant buffet and loved it. Meeting space was very nicely laid out. Staff was great.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
I'm delighted that everything met your highest expectations during your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback, and I will certainly pass your compliments on to Michelle. I hope we can welcome you back soon for more delicious meals and stellar service. - Rene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Chose to spend one night here because of its convenient location. Love Marriott, but the more expensive the property, the fewer the amenities . Why is that, J.W.? Wi-fi comes with a charge here, as does breakfast and coffee. So, we ate at a cafe down the street with free wi-fi. The points do add up, and the room was nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
I'm happy that you enjoyed our well-appointed rooms and convenient location during your stay with us. Thank you for sharing your review, and I hope we can welcome you back for another great stay in Monterey. - Rene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for three nights October 3rd, 4th and 5th, and it was okay. We aren't usually the type to complain, but we will share the good and not-so-good just for your information. The location is good, about a 10 minute walk to Fishermen's Wharf, but FYI too far from Cannery Row to walk. The lobby and public areas are lovely, but our room was a little tired (the bathroom looked like it needed a reno). The room, however, was exceptionally large, with a open entrance way and large bathroom area to the right, and a separate large bedroom to the left. The room was bright, with a number of windows, but we found the neighborhood quite noisy, with car alarms frequently going off a night. The hotel parking attendants and bellmen were friendly and helpful, but two of the three front desk staff were grumpy/argumentative and completely uninformed (one confidently telling us over and over that internet would be $15.95 per day per device, per calendar day, until she was corrected by co-worker - it's actually $7.95 per day for up to 4 devices, noon to noon). FYI, room service charges an automatic 18% gratuity, something that we (seasoned travellers) don't usually see and thought was a little presumptuous. As frequent Marriott "Elite" rewards customers we weren't as satisfied with this Marriott as we are with most.

Room Tip: To avoid the street noise, ask for a higher room and perhaps one not facing the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review. I'm happy that you enjoyed our spacious rooms and convenient proximity to the best in Monterey. I'm dismayed to hear about the confusion over the internet fees, but I'm glad that it was properly sorted out. I will bring this up at the next management meeting to make sure that all our employees are completely clear about this. We have many rooms with amazing views of the ocean, so I hope we can welcome you back to experience these on your next trip. - Rene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

All the other reviews have said it. Smallish but nice rooms, great location for downtown Monterey. Friendly staff. As reward members we scored free internet so that's good. Parking pricey. Surprised to find no room safe?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripper43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for adding your voice to our TripAdvisor reviews. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay like the vast majority of our other guests, and I hope you were able to make the most of our beautiful location in downtown Monterey. We do have safes available upon request, so please do not hesitate to ask if you need your valuables secured on a future visit. - Rene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#9 of 56 in Monterey
592 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Marriott

Property: Monterey Marriott
Address: 350 Calle Principal, Monterey, CA 93940-2416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Monterey
#12 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#14 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monterey Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Marriott Hotel Monterey
Marriott Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing