We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs serious refurb”
Review of Monterey Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Marriott
Ranked #17 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Needs serious refurb”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

By Marriott standards this hotel needs a serious renovation - very tired and dated lobby and rooms.

We had a room over-looking the street - big mistake - it felt like we were sleeping on the street. Also a group of guys decided to have a full blown shouting match in the corridor at 2 am- I complained to front desk and thankfully they went away. Also sound proofing between rooms is very poor.

On the plus side staff were very pleasant and as other users have noted a great location - easy walk to fishermans wharf.

Room Tip: Don't get a room overlooking the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Altobelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for the noise you experienced from the other hotel guests, and I'm happy to hear that you notified us immediately so we could stop any further disturbances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    527
    227
    72
    28
See reviews for
384
399
34
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Excellent stay for our family of four. Even our room with a window facing the road was still quiet and e road was barely noticeable. Exceptionally clean as we expected as we love the Marriott Chain. Pool area was clean. Gym had a good selection with private televisions.

Complaint. No free wifi?? And there is no free parking option near by. I have not encountered this with other Marriotts I have visited. We decided to just valet even though it was $24 a day plus tip. With out two kids we need access to our vehicle so we seem to be coming and going a lot. So tips rack up for us which is why we rather park ourselves. However, The gentlemen were super friendly and fast!

Will be staying here for all our Monterey trips!

Room Tip: We had no problems with a road facing window. No rooms on the ground level and windows seem well ins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeb518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thanks for staying with us in Monterey. I'm glad that you could experience our caring service and great hotel amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiawassee, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We did hit Monterrey in the middle of the heat wave, but we had a miserable night. The air in our room got continuously warmer and we had a pair of screaming children in the next room. It is completely our fault that we did not complain earlier, but by the time we realized the problem it was late at night and we really didn't feel like changing rooms. If you check in and the room feels warm, don't assume that the air just needs to be turned down. Unfortunately the unruly kids were not the hotels fault, but it still amazes me that some parents are inconsiderate to other hotel guests. The hotel does have a great location. It's an easy walk to the wharf and cannery row. However I was unimpressed with either - next time I think I'll stay in Carmel!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShelleyCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location, but I am sorry to hear about the problems you encountered with the air conditioner in your room. I appreciate you letting me know so that we can fix the issue. I will be sending you a private message to follow up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Really marvellous staff make this hotel a very pleasant place to stay. Nothing is too much trouble, service is always with a smile and everything is upbeat.
Rooms are a little "80s", but they are bright, clean and have wonderfully comfortable beds, ensuring a great night's sleep.
Location is perfect and the valet parking very convenient. Breakfast is delicious, being varied and interesting with lots of choice.
Niggles? Yes a couple, e.g No free wifi. Lots of tipping necessary, but this is a very good hotel and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tessie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. I'm so glad you were able to experience our authentic Marriott hospitality along with our convenient location in Monterey. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brnj
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My mom and I stayed here for a friends wedding. Staff went out of their way to make you feel pampered. There was always someone to get our car, park our car and open doors for us. Starbucks in the lobby was great (The girl working there was very nice). The sports bar down the hall in the lobby had great food. It is about a mile walk to cannery row. We walked it with ease using the bike trail. Very short walk to fisherman's Warf (great shops and food). Within walking distance to lots of good eats and little shops.

Room Tip: We had a basic double bed room on 2nd floor. It was quiet and very close to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
I just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at Monterey Marriott. So glad you were able to experience our authentic Marriott hospitality during a wedding celebration. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful location as well, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

When we travel on vacation, we usually stay at small hotels and inns. However, we often use Marriott hotels for one night stays while we are traveling from spot to spot. They generally provide acceptable, clean and comfortable accomodations. This particular Marriott exceeded our expectations. The location is ideal for exploring all parts of Monterey. The lobby and rooms were well decorated and welcoming and the staff were uniformly helpful. Although our room did not have a balcony, we had a great view of the bay from our picture window. There are several good restaurants withing easy walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequenttraveler195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write your heartfelt review. Service and convenience are of the utmost importance to us, and I'm delighted to hear that our location and staff could provide both. I hope to see you return to us soon for another great Marriott experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shorewood, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The downtown location is great and is near the trolley stop, which connects to the aquarium and Cannery Row. We had a room with a beautiful view of the Monterey Bay. The room was a good size with plenty of storage, and there was a spacious bathroom arrangement with abundant countertop. I liked the reading lights by the bed. We purchased their Monterey Bay Aquarium package which included an excellent breakfast buffet and some tickets to the aquarium. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the bay. We had a good one from the 3rd floor; an higher level might be even bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorCalifMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thanks for your kind comments about your recent stay with us. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed our Aquarium package and the amenities of your room. We look forward to hosting you again on your next "staycation" in Monterey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,611 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#9 of 56 in Monterey
585 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Marriott

Property: Monterey Marriott
Address: 350 Calle Principal, Monterey, CA 93940-2416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Monterey
#12 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#14 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monterey Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Marriott Hotel Monterey
Marriott Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing