We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable location near everything”
Review of Monterey Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monterey Marriott
Ranked #15 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This hotel is a solid standby, with a superb location, walking distance to the wharf, marina, restaurants, shops. You self-park or valet the car and you're off on foot. The rooms are good, many with views of Monterey Bay (ask for one of those). A comfortable sports bar with more than adequate food or other more upscale restaurants in the hotel are available if you want to stay put. Good front desk staff, valets and housekeeping. You won't go wrong here, assuming you can find a decent rate.

Room Tip: Try for an upper floor with a bay view.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank FlyingHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Great to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us! We're very happy that you enjoyed the best that Monterey has to offer from the convenience of our hotel. Thank you for the fantastic review, and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Northern California!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

858 - 864 of 1,347 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

Thanks, Marriott, for making our little Father's Day weekend getaway such a success. We were upgraded to an executive suite, which was so spacious that our three small children walked in and went "oh. My goodness!" Plenty of room for them to play. Great, huge patio with beautiful vistas of the bay. The sunset was gorgeous. The kids were also greeted with little stuffed animals (fish, whales, etc) at check-in, and then when we left, they got another round. Great, comfy beds. Even the pak n play and rollaway were comfy! Only downside to this room (432) was that there wasn't a tub, and the kids love their bath. However, we made it work, and of course that is no fault of the hotel's. we should know to ask by now if there's a tub! But really, super nice room, super nice people from check-in, to room-service, to valet. Superior customer service! Breakfast downstairs was awesome. Biscuits n gravy was the highlight, followed by the omelet station with all the fresh veggies you could imagine. Even asparagus!! Got room service for the kids one dinner, and the pizza and Mac n chz were a hit, perfect for the kids. They even ate an order of fish n chips- some of the best I've had. You can walk to every major attraction from here, too. I strolled our baby from the to Cannery Row using the great walking/bike path along the bay. If you don't want to walk, a block away there is a trolley stop for the free Monterey/Salinas trolley that runs every 10 minutes and stops at all the points of interest. Everything was great here, and it really helped make our weekend special. Thanks, Marriott! Would never even think of staying elsewhere in Monterey.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heatherdj22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Wow, thank you so much for the absolutely wonderful review! We're so happy that we could make your Father's Day weekend perfect for your entire family. We really appreciate your recommendation, and we hope to see you again soon for another relaxing stay in Monterey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Nice hotel with large rooms and very friendly, helpful staff. It has a good restaurant in the lobby. Beds are comfortable and the rooms are clean. The valet service is excellent and efficient. The men remember your name and are very honest. Breakfast has a good buffet or regular menu.

Room Tip: Instead of paying for the excellent valet service, you can park at public garages within a block of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelWell040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thanks for the wonderful review and guest tips! We're happy that you had a comfortable and convenient stay with us, and we really appreciate your compliments for our staff. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Monterey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was very close to the wharf and shops and restaurants. Nice outdoor pool (although very shallow) area and hot tub. The room was very clean with nice city views. The bed was comfortable and there were plenty of pillows.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulieBrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thanks for the wonderful review! We're happy to hear that you had a great time with us in Monterey, and we hope to see you again on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

I just spent a week at the Monterey Marriott and I couldn't be happier I chose that hotel. I was taking a course at the Monterey International Institute. The hotel is centraly located, close to restaurants, the trolley, fisherman's wharf, and school. Everyone was very helpful and nice. Room was very clean and the hotel was quiet even though it was full. The front desk staff was very helpfull (information, taxi at 4 am).
Will definitely be back. Ah and best omelets ever!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Febco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you for choosing us as your temporary home in Monterey, and thanks for the great review! We're delighted to hear you enjoyed the best that our beautiful city has to offer, and we hope you will come back for a vacation next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We just got back from a fun Memorial Day long week end at Monterey, Ca. We stayed at the Monterey Marriott. This was the perfect hotel, being very close to Fisherman's wharf. The hotel was very clean and wonderful service. We had a rental car and the valet guys were very helpful. There is an outside pool which was heated, unfortunately, the outside temp was a bit to cool for us to want to use it. There is a trolley that runs right out front of the hotel to Cannery Row. This was awesome! The front desk also sells tickets to the aquarium so that you don't have to stand in the long lines to obtain your tickets. All in all, this hotel was very convenient, modern, clean and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heyitsjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for spending Memorial Day weekend with us in Monterey! We really appreciate your wonderful review, and we're delighted to hear that you had a great time. Don't wait too long for your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had the opportunity to stay at the Monterey Marriott in the middle of May and found the hotel to be a really nice place to rest. Seems like they recently renovated the lobby area and the food at the restaurant was good. Hotel is in a great location and close to the piers. Only downside was they do not have a concierge lounge for frequent Marriott travelers (although they did provide a coupon for a free breakfast). They are still renovating parts of the hotel so keep that in mind when booking but at no point did the construction prove bothersome.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank creece007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thank you for the great review, and thanks for sharing your pictures! We really appreciate your feedback, and we're glad that you enjoyed the beautiful surrounding area in Monterey. We hope to see you again on your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,662 reviews
2 mi away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#8 of 56 in Monterey
343 reviews
1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Marriott

Address: 350 Calle Principal, Monterey, CA 93940-2416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Monterey
#12 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#13 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $200 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a memorable setting at Monterey Marriott. Our hotel in Monterey, California offers guestrooms that feel like a retreat, with perfect views of charming downtown Monterey or the beautiful Bay. We sit in an ideal location, next to the Monterey Conference Center and close to shops and golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Monterey Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Marriott Hotel Monterey
Marriott Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing