We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”
Review of Monterey Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Marriott
Ranked #15 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was very close to the wharf and shops and restaurants. Nice outdoor pool (although very shallow) area and hot tub. The room was very clean with nice city views. The bed was comfortable and there were plenty of pillows.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieBrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thanks for the wonderful review! We're happy to hear that you had a great time with us in Monterey, and we hope to see you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    534
    232
    72
    28
See reviews for
397
405
34
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

I just spent a week at the Monterey Marriott and I couldn't be happier I chose that hotel. I was taking a course at the Monterey International Institute. The hotel is centraly located, close to restaurants, the trolley, fisherman's wharf, and school. Everyone was very helpful and nice. Room was very clean and the hotel was quiet even though it was full. The front desk staff was very helpfull (information, taxi at 4 am).
Will definitely be back. Ah and best omelets ever!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Febco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for choosing us as your temporary home in Monterey, and thanks for the great review! We're delighted to hear you enjoyed the best that our beautiful city has to offer, and we hope you will come back for a vacation next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We just got back from a fun Memorial Day long week end at Monterey, Ca. We stayed at the Monterey Marriott. This was the perfect hotel, being very close to Fisherman's wharf. The hotel was very clean and wonderful service. We had a rental car and the valet guys were very helpful. There is an outside pool which was heated, unfortunately, the outside temp was a bit to cool for us to want to use it. There is a trolley that runs right out front of the hotel to Cannery Row. This was awesome! The front desk also sells tickets to the aquarium so that you don't have to stand in the long lines to obtain your tickets. All in all, this hotel was very convenient, modern, clean and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heyitsjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for spending Memorial Day weekend with us in Monterey! We really appreciate your wonderful review, and we're delighted to hear that you had a great time. Don't wait too long for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had the opportunity to stay at the Monterey Marriott in the middle of May and found the hotel to be a really nice place to rest. Seems like they recently renovated the lobby area and the food at the restaurant was good. Hotel is in a great location and close to the piers. Only downside was they do not have a concierge lounge for frequent Marriott travelers (although they did provide a coupon for a free breakfast). They are still renovating parts of the hotel so keep that in mind when booking but at no point did the construction prove bothersome.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank creece007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for the great review, and thanks for sharing your pictures! We really appreciate your feedback, and we're glad that you enjoyed the beautiful surrounding area in Monterey. We hope to see you again on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stay with Marriott frequently, and this hotel explains why. A more than helpful [friendly and fun] staff, nice and comfortable rooms, and a great location make this a great value. We'll return here happily.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenH_CAZC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thanks for the great recommendation and review! We look forward to your happy return to Monterey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I love this hotel. All you have to do is cross the street and you are at the Wharf where all the restaurants and shops are. They have valet parking for $20, worth the money because otherwise you have to park 2 blocks away, not an easy task with little children in tow. They are fast and helpful. Our room was beautifully decorated and very clean. The view of the bay was amazing and room service was so yummy and fast. They even have a Starbucks in the lobby and two restaurants. This will now be my go to hotel whenever I stay in Monterey.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebabaganoush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review, and thank you for making us your home in Monterey! We really appreciate your recommendation, and we're so happy that we could make your stay comfortable and convenient. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I stayed here one night for business last week and wished I didn't have to leave. One of the nicer Marriott hotels in the system. Only missing was a concierge level, but they gave me a free breakfast in the restaurant, so all was good. Will be back to explore the sights which are all in walking distance.

Room Tip: Face the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manzanitabay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
We wish you had more time in Monterey as well! There is so much to explore, and one night does not do it justice. Thank you for the great review and room tip though (we like to face the ocean as often as possible). Glad you enjoyed your breakfast, and we can't wait to have you back for vacation instead of business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,398 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#10 of 56 in Monterey
626 reviews
1.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Marriott

Property: Monterey Marriott
Address: 350 Calle Principal, Monterey, CA 93940-2416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Monterey
#12 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#14 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monterey Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Marriott Hotel Monterey
Marriott Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing