We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location & service but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Monterey Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monterey Marriott
Ranked #16 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
143 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Great location & service but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We spent two nights at the Monterey Marriott and the good news is the support staff there were wonderful and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Everyone from start (Gillian) to finish (Lancio?) were top notch. We're Marriott Platinum and must admit we were a bit disappointed in the "elite" room upgrade but since the hotel is older and somewhat constrained by their available space/rooms we tried not to take it personally! We did have a nice sliver of a bay view and a "balcony" although not one you could actually stand or sit on to enjoy the view of the courtyard.

The concierge was happy to arrange tickets to the Monterey Bay Aquarium and a cab. Good restaurant recommendations as well. The in-house restaurant's breakfast was typical, hearty, well-prepared and presented with options from fruit & yogurt to full fledged, cooked to order, breakfasts.

No club room or floor here, which we also missed but did without since there are a ton of restaurants and bars very nearby.

Overall, we'd recommend this Marriott to those loyal to the brand and spoiled by the comfortable beds and great service the chain typically offers. Our room was certainly clean and comfy, if a bit cramped and dated in decor. The hotel itself could use with a serious expansion or makeover to ensure larger rooms are available for those who so desire.

Would we return, certainly. Would we prefer a larger space when traveling? Undoubtedly. The proximity to all the touristy attractions in Monterey and the high-quality of service offered by the staff makes a bit less space tolerable.

Room Tip: If you want a real view of the Bay be sure you request bay facing rooms, which are very limited. Oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolJL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We love to hear from our Platinum members, so thank you for your feedback! We're delighted to hear that you took advantage of the great restaurants and attractions that Monterey has to offer. Thanks for the room tip, and we hope to see you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    505
    211
    71
    23
See reviews for
357
379
34
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We were upgraded to an Elite room which was lovely, large and with an excellent kingsize bed. The room was well furnished, clean and comfortable. The staff were the friendliest we met on our US trip. There is a nice restaurant we we used it for breakfast. it was great value with a super buffet breakfast. The Sports bar had nice food and friendly staff and was open late some nights. Only complaint with the bar was it did not have its own restrooms and the hotel restrooms were a long way to travel from the bar. The other issue for us was the when in the restaurant at some of the tables you could almost see into the mens rest room which was almost in the restaurant it was so close. Also there was no safe in the room and the safety deposit box system that Marriott are using at this hotel is so inefficient and antiquated. Marriott need to upgrade this policy and practice. The bathroom design is poor as there is no place to wash your hands inside the toilet area which is separated from the room by a sliding door. The sliding door is impossible to close for a small person when it is fully open. The Valet parking was expensive but very good. It's cheaper to park one block away for a fraction of the cost but since our stay was short we opted for Valet parking. We definitely would stay again at this hotel

Room Tip: Park at the nearby pay park for $7 a day versus $20 for Valet parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for writing us a review. We delighted to hear that our staff made a great impression on you! Thanks for your feedback on the safety deposit boxes as well. We will review our system and make changes accordingly. We're in the midst of renovating our bathrooms, so hopefully you can experience the redesign some day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 weekday nights, 5 th floor king with a bay view. Beautiful room and bed, and the bed was Really Comfortable. We opted for Starbucks room service coffee instead of the little complementary coffee pouches, for only $7/ pot. Delicious. Every employee we encountered embodied the highest level of customer service. Their 3 Flags (?) Cafe with omelette station had good food, and that great customer service. We'll go back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We appreciate that you chose Monterey Marriott for your stay and hope you return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balboa Island, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Small noise problem the first night. Mr. Justin Kenny, Assit. Mgr., Rooms, over heard my request to the desk clerk to move to a quieter room, stepped in and resolved the problem. Followed up the next day to insure all was good.... It was!!
Great service.
As a Gold level Rewards member, I know what to expect and Mr. Kenny any this hotel delivered.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BalJosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We're so glad that you had a great extended stay with your wife! Please come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
335 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We spent two nights here during the middle of the week and were very happy with the hotel and its location. The staff and service were first rate. Valet parking is $20.00 per day but it is in and out so you can easily get your car. As a Marriott rewards gold we recieved free buffet breakfast everyday which was outstanding. This will be my first choice the next time I visit Monterey.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to an Ocean view on the 4th floor and it was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sail2fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thanks for staying with us on your trip, we really appreciate it and are grateful for your kind words! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

The excellent service at this hotel is the only thing keeping it from being 3 stars in my book. The location is pretty good, too, within walking distance of many of Monterey's attractions.

My bone to pick is over the rooms. For the price we paid, I expected more. I've stayed at Marriott hotels before, and this one doesn't measure up. We requested extra pillows but only got the standard three for a king-size bed. And what's with the tiny pillows these days? Seems like more and more hotels have them. These were not only small but lumpy and uncomfortable. The mattress was okay, but not great.

Also, the bathroom was showing its age a bit, especially the shower head. It desperately needed a cleaning to get the mineral deposits off, so it did that annoying thing where the spray isn't concentrated but mists all over and gets in your face. The one armchair in the room wasn't fit for anyone but skinny supermodels either. I'm an average-size woman, and I just barely squeezed into it.

Even more annoying, I don't believe they had the air conditioning turned on at the property yet. Either that, or it wasn't working in our room. I don't care how eco-friendly you want to be, your guests' comfort is your number one priority. If I want an ice-cold room and I can't get it by opening the window, then I want the AC.

Maybe this all sounds a bit picky, but I've stayed in lots of hotels, from low-end to high-end, and I have pretty high standards. There are a lot of lower-end hotels (Hampton Inn, for example) that generally offer better rooms than this Marriott at lower prices. Also, no free wifi? Please. I'm tired of all the mid-tier hotels charging for it. If Hampton Inn can afford not to charge, you can too.

Bottom line, if you're not as picky as me, you'll probably like it here. If you are as picky as me, be prepared to be a little disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigerlily11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Hi, thanks for sharing your thoughts. We definitely appreciate it. We will share your comments about the shower head with our housekeeping manager so that they may follow up with the housekeeping staff. You should have been able to control your air conditioner to be as cold as you like, next time let us know and we will see if your unit is not working and assist you to get the temperature you desire. You can also ask for the non-allergenic pillows next time, they're a bit larger. We also offer free wifi in all of the public areas - restaurant, bar, and lobby. You'll also be happy to know that we're also in the process of remodeling our bathrooms which will be completed in Q4 of this year.

Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Enjoyed a night at the Monterey Marriott. Excellent guest service from bell staff, front desk and wait staff. This hotel was well maintained and clean. They have an excellent breakfast buffet with a wide range of food choices. The only thing that was a little off was the bathroom while very clean really needed an update as far as wall paper goes but honestly not that big of a deal. Within walking distance of lots of restaurants, the wharf, buses.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We really appreciate your review and are so glad you stayed with us! It's great that you got to enjoy so much of what's walking distance from us. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.4 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Marriott

Property: Monterey Marriott
Address: 350 Calle Principal, Monterey, CA 93940-2416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Monterey
#12 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#14 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Marriott, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monterey Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Marriott Hotel Monterey
Marriott Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing